Father / Son

Junior

Think Pekin might have a couple of boys down Colac way.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.

lurker#134 wrote:Heh... imagine that. Peckett handballs to Peckett who kicks it to Peckett who kicks to Peckett who bombs it into to the 50......PEEEECKETTTTT! WHAT A MARK!

This weeks team: Out Peckett, Peckett in Peckett, Peckett and Peckett.

One vote Peckett

Two votes Peckett

Three votes Peckett

Someone get on this.
love that.

does anyone know if any of the peckett boys are interested in footy

Junior wrote:Think Pekin might have a couple of boys down Colac way.
did pekin play 100 games for us?

Roo and Lenny need to get cracking, twin boys would be good :wink:

Saint Bev wrote:Roo and Lenny need to get cracking, twin boys would be good :wink:
Are they a couple?

dcstkfc wrote:One is 'in the oven' as we speak.
Yes, but will their old man actually get to 100 games for the club?

I love the F/S rule, well I do now its been sorted out. If only it could be extended to cousins/nephews -

saintly wrote:
Junior wrote:Think Pekin might have a couple of boys down Colac way.
did pekin play 100 games for us?
one of few players to play 100 games for two teams
Tim Pekin (born 22 January 1965) is a former Australian rules footballer in the VFL/AFL.

Recruited from Colac-Coragulac, Pekin debuted with the Fitzroy Football Club in 1984 and was a solid contributor in many positions on the ground. His consistency meant he played 107 games for the club (for 15 goals).

Pekin was delisted from the cash-strapped Lions at the end of 1989 due to his refusal of a lower salary, so went to the St Kilda Football Club where he was also a noted performer. He also went on to make a name for himself at the Saints, passing the 100-game barrier at a second club to end up with 112 games at the Saints (37 goals)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Pekin

saintly wrote:
lurker#134 wrote:Heh... imagine that. Peckett handballs to Peckett who kicks it to Peckett who kicks to Peckett who bombs it into to the 50......PEEEECKETTTTT! WHAT A MARK!

This weeks team: Out Peckett, Peckett in Peckett, Peckett and Peckett.

One vote Peckett

Two votes Peckett

Three votes Peckett

Someone get on this.
love that.

does anyone know if any of the peckett boys are interested in footy
I think the Peckett own & operate the Karingal Footy Club so YES, they are interested !!

suss wrote:[ I was criticising the person who came up with the system, not the person who came up with the current rule.

And by the way, I'm not bitter about it, I'm thinking as much about the other clubs who would've benefitted from Ablett, Scarlett and Brown etc.

If Ablett, Scarlett and Brown had all gone into the draft, wouldn't there have been a better spread of premierships amongst the 16 teams over the last 9 years? Isn't that a good thing?
First up - I'm supporting the system and the current rule. It's a great initiative. POssibly in contrast to everything that the league has set up in terms of salary caps/ drafts etc but in my opinion - so what?

Also if we need to rip sons of legends from the club of which their old man played, and throw them into the draft, just to even it up a little more, it's a sad day I reckon. I recall when G.Ablett made his debut. He was considered promising but it wasn't forseen he would be anything like the player he is. Maybe he never would have become that player at another club - who knows? Tom hawkins was considered a gun and potential #1 pick. So far hasn't come close to those expectations. He's playing better now but he's into his 4th season. I think Rooey 4th season he was voted MVP of the league. Travis Cloke was considered a star when he debut as well. Hasn't turned out that way. Some work out some don't.

It's not like every club doesn't have the opportunity for former players to procreate. Luck of the draw. If young Harvey turns out to be a superstar imagine the excitement it would generate amongst saints fans, as we look on with pride recalling what his old man did?

Burke- girls
Lockett - 4 girls

Way to let the team down :roll:

Saint Bev wrote:Roo and Lenny need to get cracking, twin boys would be good :wink:
Are they a couple?
Would be one hell of a player if it were possible! :lol:

suss wrote:
shmic_s wrote:Yeah, they changed the rule two years ago i think.
Now, once a club selects a father/son player prior to the draft, other clubs can bid for him. The club that the father played for has first rights, they just have to give up a similar round pick.

We did it with Ayce Cordy from the Bulldogs i think. They wanted him father/son. We said we'd be prepared to give our first rounder for him. Therefore the Doddies had to give up thier first round pick to secure him.

The new system is much better. IMO, it was brought in because of Geelong's sucess.
I agree that the rule is better but I don't understand why they don't ditch it all together. It still allows a team to win a premiership and select an obivous 1# draft pick by using pick #16. It's one for the romantics only.
If the new rule had been in place in 2001, Geelong would have missed out on J Bartel to get G Ablett.
Instead they got G Ablett for pick 40 :roll: :roll: :roll:

lurker#134

Footy players usually go out with tall model types if I'm not mistaken. The future looks promising.

lurker#134 wrote:Footy players usually go out with tall model types if I'm not mistaken. The future looks promising.
not if you've seen the partners of many of the saints tall Timber currently........ beginning with the Captain.

ace wrote:
suss wrote:
shmic_s wrote:Yeah, they changed the rule two years ago i think.
Now, once a club selects a father/son player prior to the draft, other clubs can bid for him. The club that the father played for has first rights, they just have to give up a similar round pick.

We did it with Ayce Cordy from the Bulldogs i think. They wanted him father/son. We said we'd be prepared to give our first rounder for him. Therefore the Doddies had to give up thier first round pick to secure him.

The new system is much better. IMO, it was brought in because of Geelong's sucess.
I agree that the rule is better but I don't understand why they don't ditch it all together. It still allows a team to win a premiership and select an obivous 1# draft pick by using pick #16. It's one for the romantics only.
If the new rule had been in place in 2001, Geelong would have missed out on J Bartel to get G Ablett.
Instead they got G Ablett for pick 40 :roll: :roll: :roll:
How do you work that out? Most people think Ablett went at about his right pick. Hawkins would have cost them much more though.

Whatever happened to the 80s Moorabbin Social Club post match bimbo smorgasboard.
There must be a heap of 20 year olds with unknown fathers coming through :D

last time i was in melb i visited the herritage museum and in their there was a photo taken from the mid 90's of a group of 4 babys born in that year to our players .. on was Gavin mitchells one was Harves and i cant remember who the other two belonged to ....

was a really cool photo with the bubs all decked out in the saints gear

I Love Peter Kiel

First of all it's sad that "Barks: didn't leave any [legitimate] children. in another era he would have had hundreds of progeny.

Secondly, I remember in '98 a lot of the players had children...perhaps the accompanying fatigue cost us. At least two I remember...Mitchell, Sziller...Harves?
Unfortunately that 'crop' won't be up for the draft for another 6/7 years.

The only father/sons I've known at St Kilda have been
Sierakowski (son of a shark-attack victim)
and of course Michael Roberts.

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.

I Love Peter Kiel wrote:First of all it's sad that "Barks: didn't leave any [legitimate] children. in another era he would have had hundreds of progeny.

Secondly, I remember in '98 a lot of the players had children...perhaps the accompanying fatigue cost us. At least two I remember...Mitchell, Sziller...Harves?

annand, bonney, bingley, stewart and davis......all had sons who played at st kilda.....mainly reserves and under 19s

I Love Peter Kiel wrote:First of all it's sad that "Barks: didn't leave any [legitimate] children. in another era he would have had hundreds of progeny.

annand, bonney, bingley, stewart and davis......all had sons who played at st kilda.....mainly reserves and under 19s
Considering Johnny Bingley only played 8 games and John Bonney only 87 games, I don't think father/son rule came into play.

python

Cats would've also missed out on Selwood with the new rules in order to get Hawkins, who was predicted to go number one overall if i remember correctly

Enrico_Misso wrote:Whatever happened to the 80s Moorabbin Social Club post match bimbo smorgasboard.
There must be a heap of 20 year olds with unknown fathers coming through :D
Maybe Enrico.

But then again, excess alcohol consumption can adversely affect fertility.

The boys didn't score that well on the field back then and maybe they were also firing blanks at the end of the day :lol:

Considering Johnny Bingley only played 8 games and John Bonney only 87 games, I don't think father/son rule came into play.

you really are a pain......the fathers played at st kilda.....so did the sons....i didn't say we drafted them under any afl rule.....did i..????ffs :roll: :roll: :roll:

How could I be so stupid? The thread subject is Father/Son. I must have thought you were replying to the post you quoted. Silly me.

rexy

Think it used to be 50 games at one stage, I think 100 is more appropriate and I like the current rule of nominated round depending on other clubs interest.

Many people forget that ablett was neither highly touted nor an immediate success, after a couple of seasons I thought he would be a good FP player for the rest of his career, no better than a Milne or Matera.

He came good didnt he.

Father son is a unique rule and one we should maintain, I like it.

Maybe this year?