Team against Carlton

sendmehomehappy

These changes will both improve the team and clarify issues for the 2nd half of the season

1. Gardiner in for King(susp) 1st ruck in for 2nd....improvement

2. Gilbert in for Blake. Gilbert more mobile, attacking .....improvement but I acknowledge Blake would be a tad unlucky.

3. Milne in for Raph Clarke.....need Milney's goals and attack...give Raph more time in 2's to get up form.....improvement

and the last change that no one seems to have considered

4. Miles for Baker......first gamer, recent emergency, speed to burn...line him up on Betts...give Baker a longer rest...sure to need him later in season and we can see what Miles is about

Overall,,,3 distinct improvements in the team and one experiment

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:It seems like treason to drop Bakes, but the game seems like it might have passed him by. In the modern game he's probably only suited to the on-ball tagging role and Jones is doing that brilliantly now, so there's not much of a role for him (unless he's tagging guys out of the game down back, that we're not aware of). Ideally you want the smaller guys down back to be running the lines and attacking heaps and delivering well and long, though, which he isn't doing. It's hard to see them dropping him, though. It would take some guts.

Gilbo in for Raph
Gardi in for King (if suspended, otherwise for Big Mac)
Milne (if fit) in for Blake, Baker, or Schneider

It will hopefully be our best team of the year!
Honestly, try watching the game Schneider was very good!!!

Could Geary be used on Betts as a backpocket capable of attacking as well?

He has pace, tenacity and a fierce attack on the ball.
He actually reminds me a bit of a young Steven Baker.

Mr Magic wrote:Could Geary be used on Betts as a backpocket capable of attacking as well?

Bakes may well be omitted...and if so Geary may be given his role in the backline.

Mr Magic wrote:Could Geary be used on Betts as a backpocket capable of attacking as well?

Is he tight enough to play a purely defensive role on a very clever small forward?To me Betts and Fev are the 2 keys to their forward line,just dont know whether Geary has the experience to cut it IMO

bergsone wrote:

Is he tight enough to play a purely defensive role on a very clever small forward?To me Betts and Fev are the 2 keys to their forward line,just don't know whether Geary has the experience to cut it IMO

Ahhhh...well that is our dilemma with Bakes out of form. Also with Bakes even when in form he has at times struggled against really quick small forwards.

CJ is another option...but he is now our midfield tagger.

Miles..might be worth a go. But 4 changes in one week is a lot.

Raph?? I shudder given Raph's current form. In last years finals form =maybe.

Gilbert? A possibility...but I like Gilbert across HB rather than in a BP.

Whatever team we field their is a huge responsibility on all the players.
This is all about Good V's Evil..Good must prevail, the cheats must be vanquished. :)

nathan000

You can't possibly drop Baker, he is needed for Betts and is one of those players that mean so much to a team without being so damaging in a game. Raph for Gilbert, Gardiner for King and possibly Milne for Geary imo.

Out: King, McEvoy, Geary
In: Gardiner, Gilbert, Milne

Blake to second ruck. Kreuzer is good around the ground but not an accomplished tap ruckman. I can see Blake having a role against him.

Raph can play back, but had a few stints through the middle last week. I can see this trend continuing.

Dawson to Fev. Max to their 2nd Tall. Baker to Betts.

Gilbert, Chips rebounding half backs. Raph/Goddard/Gram rotating as other half back.

Someone has to make way for Milne, and it has to be Geary. Unlucky but McQ is really shining - Gwilt was better and needed for the structure - and CJ is a vital cog these days.

Re: Team against Carlton

James wrote:They'll be primed to knock off coming off a win.

B: Dawson - Hudghton - Blake
HB: Gilbert - Fisher - Goddard
C: Gram - Ball - Montagna
HF: Dal Santo - Riewoldt - Gwilt
F: Milne - Koschitzke - Schneider
R: Gardiner - Hayes - Jones
INT: McEvoy - Ray - Geary - McQualter

IN: Gilbert, Milne, Gardiner
OUT: King, R. Clarke, Baker

Hayes one on one with Judd, Hudghton gets Fevola, and god help Carlton's backline.
James! James! you've held the ladder steady !
Few weeks back I'm pretty sure you were plugging for new, young, practically untried blood to be brought in
Great selection my boy!

(You Beauty we got one convert here Iceman/ Joffa!)

Hayes one on one with Judd, Hudghton gets Fevola, and god help Carlton's backline.
I agree on side. Only difference is id have CJ on judd.

who plays on betts?

People just go by stats

JABBER

team against Carlton

In Gilbert,Gardiner
Out King, R Clarke
Ill play Milney for Sandi first

trevor barker

Re: team against Carlton

JABBER wrote:In Gilbert,Gardiner
Out King, R Clarke
Ill play Milney for Sandi first
Why would you even think of doing that?

milney044

I know Mini has been great up forward for us this year with his pressure and goal assists, but what about playing him on Betts? He came into the team last year as a tagger and did a fine job. Maybe dont start him on Betts, but he's always an option. If Milne comes in Mini isn't required so much in the fwd line and i reckon he would love the challenge of playing on the in form Betts. Just a suggestion, could be worth considering.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

milney044 wrote:I know Mini has been great up forward for us this year with his pressure and goal assists, but what about playing him on Betts? He came into the team last year as a tagger and did a fine job. Maybe dont start him on Betts, but he's always an option. If Milne comes in Mini isn't required so much in the fwd line and i reckon he would love the challenge of playing on the in form Betts. Just a suggestion, could be worth considering.
not the worst idea.

milney044 wrote:I know Mini has been great up forward for us this year with his pressure and goal assists, but what about playing him on Betts? He came into the team last year as a tagger and did a fine job. Maybe dont start him on Betts, but he's always an option. If Milne comes in Mini isn't required so much in the fwd line and i reckon he would love the challenge of playing on the in form Betts. Just a suggestion, could be worth considering.
not the worst idea.
Yeh sounds allright

realdeal

Richter wrote:Out: King, McEvoy, Geary
In: Gardiner, Gilbert, Milne

I agree.

I know Lyon likes having 2 big rucks but I wouldn't be surprised with these moves for this weeks game.

I thought we were one runner short lastweek and Carlton don't really have any big forwards besides Fev.

Like they say, having lots of people deserving a game is a good problem to have.

Mr X from the West

Out King, Clarke, McQualter

In: Gardiner, Milne, Gilbert

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"

Mr X from the West wrote:Out King, Clarke, McQualter

Almost thought you were serious there for a second 8-) nice lil gag....McQualter dropped...heheh thats gold..

Mr X from the West wrote:Out King, Clarke, McQualter

No way.

Edited for clarity.
Last edited by vacuous space on Tue 09 Jun 2009 8:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

vacuous space wrote:
saint66au wrote:McQualter dropped...heheh thats gold..
Almost as funny as McEvoy being dropped IMO

Ins
Gardiner
Gilbert
Milne

Out
King
Raph
Geary/Blake

Loyal

milne no certainty is the mail :wink:

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?