Timmy Watson on our culture of defeat.

Re: Timmy Watson on our culture of defeat.

So.......forumites, support your club instead of endlessly sh#tcanning it..

Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 4:54pm
Vortex wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 4:24pm He's probably baiting the Saints supporters who have been sooking it up since the GF over Petracca.

How easy is footy journalism in the internet age.
There’s a BIG difference between sooking it up by calling the 2021 Premiership a Dud…and Saints supporters pointing out a glaringly obvious ballsup by the knobs entrusted to get the St Kilda FC closer to winning one

Anyway…Tim isn’t a journalist, so wtf are you on about?
Agree Scollop..don’t be baited…speaking of bait.. (it’s my middle name sometimes)

TImmy doesn’t give a toss about St Kilda supporters.

But he is a thoughtful person with his own agenda etc., Fair enough. More power to him.

I think Kosi’s post is most telling here..’ What did he (TW) do to change the culture/mind set’.

I know the GT / RL thing is done to death, but I do think GT was a force for powerful change here. What a change.. Fair enough, he got all those great young players, but he set expectations high, (some of the terms he used seemed ridiculous of course)

Saints58

Maybe we should Call SEN talkback and put the saints in a positive light .I always here every team a lot but not that much about the saints. If more saints called up we would be seen in a better light as the opinions about the club

Saints58 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 5:04pm We are no longer like that thanks to levers gags and co
I think we should get max to talk to his brother about the club and how our facility are now fantastic and so is the club
Forgot Captain Jack - I dare any of our players to look for excuses next year

cwrcyn wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 5:07pm So.......forumites, support your club instead of endlessly sh#tcanning it..
Plus one.

Saints58 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 5:04pm We are no longer like that thanks to levers gags and co
I think we should get max to talk to his brother about the club and how our facility are now fantastic and so is the club
I would be willing to bet he already is.

cwrcyn wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 5:07pm So.......forumites, support your club instead of endlessly sh#tcanning it..
Sometimes they need sh#tcanning especially when they make horrendous mistakes . I love the Saints like my family but like my family if you f--k up you will know about it :wink: .

Just because he couldn't coach does not mean he's wrong about our poor-me mentality!

Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:21pm
asiu wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:13pm ... and supporters !!

oooooh we are cursed
ooooooh the umps are against us
ooooooooh the afl is against us
oooooooooh sunday twilight is against us

marshmellows on parade
Love it

I’ve come up with a few (no prize for guessing that this is aimed at The Loser and perennial excuse maker Ross Lyon)

oooooh the weather didn’t help me on 26th of September 2009, nor did that Scarlett toe poke

oooooh the goal ump and all 3 field umps blindsided when Hawkins hit the post

oooooh if only we kicked straight in the first half

oooooh if only they blew the whistle at 3 quarter time in 2009 GF

If only premierships were won in Round 19
Have never heard Ross say those things?
Your obsession and hatred is starting to be unnerving and simply bizarre behaviour..
Thought Tim nailed it actually and attitudes like yours is why we are constantly victims....looking to hang blame on individuals when everybody knows it’s a team/entire club effort to win flags
Oh well.....haters gotta hate I guess..

So Melbourne wins a flag and it's a reason to bag out St Kilda.

How does that work exactly?

Bizarre.

Teflon wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 9:05pm
Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:21pm
asiu wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:13pm ... and supporters !!

oooooh we are cursed
ooooooh the umps are against us
ooooooooh the afl is against us
oooooooooh sunday twilight is against us

marshmellows on parade
Love it

I’ve come up with a few (no prize for guessing that this is aimed at The Loser and perennial excuse maker Ross Lyon)

oooooh the weather didn’t help me on 26th of September 2009, nor did that Scarlett toe poke

oooooh the goal ump and all 3 field umps blindsided when Hawkins hit the post

oooooh if only we kicked straight in the first half

oooooh if only they blew the whistle at 3 quarter time in 2009 GF

If only premierships were won in Round 19
Have never heard Ross say those things?
Your obsession and hatred is starting to be unnerving and simply bizarre behaviour..
Thought Tim nailed it actually and attitudes like yours is why we are constantly victims....looking to hang blame on individuals when everybody knows it’s a team/entire club effort to win flags
Oh well.....haters gotta hate I guess..
Bulldust. My attitude is irrelevant and I'm not a club official and I was never part of the club. Maybe you might think that somehow an anonymous nobody like yourself is important and your opinion is important but it isn't. It is insignificant what your attitude is or what my atitude is and you know it.

The attitude of the head coach and the leader of the footy club blamed the loss in the Grand Final on bad kicking in the first two quarters of a game. He's the guy that simply bizarrely forgot there was a game to be won in the second half. He's the one who scarred his troops and deserted them and called them all washed up

Lyon also forgot what made the club strong. He wasn't interested in spirit and passion and selflessness ( if that is not the essence of culture, I don't know what is!) He didn't respect the bonds that were laid before he got there. He started tearing down the foundations that made us a respected and a strong club PRIOR to his arrival. The snake oil salesman wasn't fair or impartial with the squad and it came to bite the club in the short term in 2010/2011.... and beyond....His negativity hung around like a dark cloud long after he dumped on and departed his poor lost disciples.

Lyon promoted a culture of excuses, blaming individuals, victim mentality and selfishness. They pined for him and they couldn't be arsed going to work because there weren't any trendy coffee shops close by
Last edited by Scollop on Tue 28 Sep 2021 9:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

saynta wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:34pm
Winmar7 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:07pm Watson can GGS and EAD. Took a finals team and drove us to the bottom of the ladder. I blame him for Winmar leaving too... hopeless coach who did nothing to turn around supposed culture
You know you are a failure when you leave a side worse off than when you started. Watson did that and you are right. He did nothing for us.

He should learn to keep mum on his time with the saints.

Took him less than a season to realise he wasn't a coach's asshole.

Winmar leaving left a bad taste in my mouth. Should never have been allowed to happen.
I was at that final at Waverley when Elvis flew high for a mark. I was sitting amongst Doggy members on the HF flank, got a great view of the mark.
He busted his collarbone- the club support staff were focussed on the game and apparently his wife had to drive him to hospital.
So the following year, that ignorance by the club combined with other things he was unhappy with, so he took time out to stay in Ballarat with friends or family for a coupla weeks.
I went to the Tigers game at the MCG and a game we shoulda won, well, we got towelled up.
I was sitting behind the goals but high up.
Funniest thing I saw at a footy game was Plugger and a Tiger chasing a loose ball towards the goal square, goal ump ran sideways without keeping his eye on the contest, to avoid getting crunched by 2 huge water buffalo.
Plugger kicked it into the post from 10 out, on the run.
Ump called a goal. Cos he assumed it went thru. :mrgreen: :lol:
All the Tiger fans were screaming for ages after

Hang on, I have my years mixed up.
That final was 93 I think. Geez a long time ago.
Winmar took leave, came back.
Winmar left club in about...1998? Can't recall.

ROLS-LEE

asiu wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:37pm TW stepped down (resigned) did he not ?

ie ... wasn't sacked

Correct. That same defeatist mentality that he talks of. He has it too. I will never trust anyone associated with essendope.

Vortex wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 4:24pm He's probably baiting the Saints supporters who have been sooking it up since the GF over Petracca.

There’s a BIG difference between sooking it up by calling the 2021 Premiership a Dud…and Saints supporters pointing out a glaringly obvious ballsup by the knobs entrusted to get the St Kilda FC closer to winning one

Absolutely couldn't agree more, it's a fine line between being a sook and and being paranoid.

Vortex wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 10:21pm

Absolutely couldn't agree more, it's a fine line between being a sook and and being paranoid.
Your mind works a little different to others doesn’t it?

Never heard of that one. Have you got any scientific research on it?

I’ve heard that there’s a fine line between genius and madness and there’s evidence to show it’s not just myth

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=fine ... nt=gws-wiz

Personally

If I ever met Tim Watson

I would shake his hand and thank him

Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 10:34pm

I’ve heard that there’s a fine line between genius and madness and there’s evidence to show it’s not just myth

You got me....I got nuttin

54 years.

Easy target. Easiest of targets.

In those 54 years, most of that, off field has been full of self important flogs using the club as a vehicle for their own agenda's.

Watson is right. 100% right.

We have, more often than not, had the wrong people in charge of the place.

Vortex wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 10:50pm
Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 10:34pm

You got me....I got nuttin
You've got integrity when you can be honest

You mean we should just pay our memberships...put on a costume and a Saints scarf and beenie and then just be cheerleaders whenever something good happens

B.M wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 10:37pm Personally

If I ever met Tim Watson

I would shake his hand and thank him
For taking us to the bottom?

And Tim warmed to his theme:
Essendon has a drug culture;
Geelong a choke in finals culture;
Carlton an entitlement culture;
Collingwood mismanagement culture;
Suns a what's it all about culture;
Crows our poo don't stink culture;
Freo poor cousin culture;
Lions a them and us culture;
Hawthorn a smug as culture;
Sydney how can we game the system culture;
North struggle town culture; etc etc

whiskers3614 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 9:02pm Just because he couldn't coach does not mean he's wrong about our poor-me mentality!
Well. the first part of your sentence is 100% correct.

He should still be too embarrassed to talk about his time at Moorabbin.

He may not be a fan of St Kilda but I certainly am no fan of him.
Last edited by saynta on Wed 29 Sep 2021 11:28am, edited 1 time in total.