Timmy Watson on our culture of defeat.

..and sense of victim hood.

Hear him on SEN? with Mr. Lyon

St Kilda
He says he found St Kilda in a victim mentally, and a 'that always happens to us' kind of narrative, that gets passed down generationally, from players, admin and staffers.

Terrible.

One thing GT wasn't a part of.

GT would have none of it.

Re: Timmy Watson on our culture of defeat.

... and supporters !!

oooooh we are cursed
ooooooh the umps are against us
ooooooooh the afl is against us
oooooooooh sunday twilight is against us

marshmellows on parade

Yep, doesn’t take long to see their are plenty of ‘victims’ floating around here!

Tim did a lot to turn that around!

Could they find anyone who was involved in the club in the last 20 years?

Guilty!

Twilighter

This thread should be a beauty.

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:18pm Tim did a lot to turn that around!

Worst coach we ever has along with Blight. Sacked coaches never have a kind word for the club(s) that sack them.

Only a loser would agree with him.

It did occur to me that what Melbourne has done , more than list building etc.. is to overthrow their culture of mediocrity.
It's actually a titanic effort.
I thought they might have another freeze in them like in the Prelim a couple of years ago
Hope Ratts and co can do the same for us.
Last edited by Banger9798 on Tue 28 Sep 2021 9:13pm, edited 1 time in total.

TW stepped down (resigned) did he not ?

ie ... wasn't sacked

Winmar7

Watson can GGS and EAD. Took a finals team and drove us to the bottom of the ladder. I blame him for Winmar leaving too... hopeless coach who did nothing to turn around supposed culture

asiu wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:13pm ... and supporters !!

oooooh we are cursed

marshmellows on parade
Love it

I’ve come up with a few (no prize for guessing that this is aimed at The Loser and perennial excuse maker Ross Lyon)

oooooh the weather didn’t help me on 26th of September 2009, nor did that Scarlett toe poke

oooooh the goal ump and all 3 field umps blindsided when Hawkins hit the post

oooooh if only we kicked straight in the first half

oooooh if only they blew the whistle at 3 quarter time in 2009 GF

If only premierships were won in Round 19

saynta wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:29pm
kosifantutti wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:18pm Tim did a lot to turn that around!

Worst coach we ever has along with Blight. Sacked coaches never have a kind word for the club(s) that sack them.

Only a loser would agree with him.
Personally I think AR was worse

Watson at least had the insight to know that he sucked and the decency to fall on his sword
AR made short term idiotic decisions with the list to save his failing career that we’re still paying for…
And he hung on until the latest possible stage even whilst knowing a replacement was in the wings

Winmar7 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:07pm Watson can GGS and EAD. Took a finals team and drove us to the bottom of the ladder. I blame him for Winmar leaving too... hopeless coach who did nothing to turn around supposed culture
Sadly for us, he was simply not up to the job, a fact realised by the saints, then in turn, by Watson

I believe he was given an ultimatum. Resign or be sacked. He wisely chose the first option.

Scollop wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:21pm
asiu wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 2:13pm ... and supporters !!

oooooh we are cursed

marshmellows on parade
Love it

I’ve come up with a few (no prize for guessing that this is aimed at The Loser and perennial excuse maker Ross Lyon)

oooooh the weather didn’t help me on 26th of September 2009, nor did that Scarlett toe poke

oooooh the goal ump and all 3 field umps blindsided when Hawkins hit the post

oooooh if only we kicked straight in the first half

oooooh if only they blew the whistle at 3 quarter time in 2009 GF

If only premierships were won in Round 19
One that’s annoyed me in recent times…

What a great guy that Hannerbery is for taking a pay cut
After playing 20 games in 3 years, he’s now willing to accept $500k a season instead on $600k a season for the 10-15 games he’ll play next season if we’re super lucky

What integrity he has… stand up guy. Would you take the pay cut

Loser mentality bordering on Stockholm Syndrome
Last edited by skeptic on Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:31pm, edited 1 time in total.

how could we not be?

what would make us think otherwise?

sure i take his point, this is probably something we should look to change within teh echelons of the club, and good on GT for for agitating in this space but as supporters i mean good grief.... I had hope for the saints until i was about 20 i reckon. used to stand strong against the knockers and talk of future successes. That was 20 odd years ago....have long given up since then. Nothing ever goes right for us

Winmar7 wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:07pm Watson can GGS and EAD. Took a finals team and drove us to the bottom of the ladder. I blame him for Winmar leaving too... hopeless coach who did nothing to turn around supposed culture
You know you are a failure when you leave a side worse off than when you started. Watson did that and you are right. He did nothing for us.

He should learn to keep mum on his time with the saints.

Took him less than a season to realise he wasn't a coach's asshole.

Winmar leaving left a bad taste in my mouth. Should never have been allowed to happen.
Last edited by saynta on Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

MC Gusto wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:31pm how could we not be?

sure i take his point, this is probably something we should look to change within teh echelons of the club, and good on GT for for agitating in this space but as supporters i mean good grief.... I had hope for the saints until i was about 20 i reckon. used to stand strong against the knockers and talk of future successes. That was 20 odd years ago....have long given up since then. Nothing ever goes right for us
Meh…
I think the thing is to accept that our failures are our own doing and within our power to change.

Many preach the conspiratorial themes that thread things are done to us.

IMO if we’d been that bit smarter and better, we could have won flags in 97, 98, 04, 05, 06, 09 and 10. Those failures are all our own and the conspiracy talk is a deterrent from owning it and getting better

Even our coach in 2010 thought that we’d lose…before the ball was even bounced!!

https://www.dicksonfilms.com.au/the-challenge

First 3 minutes of the video Lyon says he wasn’t confident of winning the GF in 2010 ‘because Collingwood were so strong’!! He says he knew the players would ‘give super effort’ but ...he ‘wasn’t sure we’d get close based on form’.

Loser

SAINT-LEE

Tim Watson on St Kilda culture....look mate I don't want to be a cúnt like Matthew Lloyd and use my media role to make St Kilda culture look fückíng shíte so Ben King goes to Essendon....but I am a cúnt, so there's that.

Easy to see through the prick isn't it.

Talk about being transparent.

skeptic wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:35pm
MC Gusto wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 3:31pm how could we not be?

Meh…
I think the thing is to accept that our failures are our own doing and within our power to change.

Many preach the conspiratorial themes that thread things are done to us.

IMO if we’d been that bit smarter and better, we could have won flags in 97, 98, 04, 05, 06, 09 and 10. Those failures are all our own and the conspiracy talk is a deterrent from owning it and getting better
yeah good point and i probably agree. i need to drop the woe is me attitude. on the flgas i also agree. in particular 04 and 05. thats when i felt we had our best team and for mine one of our best coaching teams. not the best head coach from a tactical genius perspective but geez what a motivator he was and he had great people around him. shame we didnt get it done was some of the best most exciting football we've ever played with an incredible list

He's probably baiting the Saints supporters who have been sooking it up since the GF over Petracca.

How easy is footy journalism in the internet age.

Timid Watson, crap coach that fell on his feet in the media.
Bitter because his son had his Brownlow taken off him, for cheating. :lol:

Vortex wrote: Tue 28 Sep 2021 4:24pm He's probably baiting the Saints supporters who have been sooking it up since the GF over Petracca.

How easy is footy journalism in the internet age.
There’s a BIG difference between sooking it up by calling the 2021 Premiership a Dud…and Saints supporters pointing out a glaringly obvious ballsup by the knobs entrusted to get the St Kilda FC closer to winning one

Anyway…Tim isn’t a journalist, so wtf are you on about?

Saints58

We are no longer like that thanks to levers gags and co
I think we should get max to talk to his brother about the club and how our facility are now fantastic and so is the club