Dougal Howard has requested a trade to St Kilda

The 199cm swingman is contracted at Alberton until the end of 2022, but appears to want to continue his career at Moorabbin. The Saints have won out over North and Essendon after all three clubs met with the 23-year-old.

Provided a deal gets done this is a seriously good get for the struggling Saints who are lacking in quality key position players. They might just win the Trade Period if Brad Hill, Paddy Ryder and Zak Jones all join Howard in the red, white and black.

according to AFL.com.au's Marc McGowan.

Re: Dougal Howard has requested a trade to St Kilda

Wowza!

Probably bad news for Brown.

What’s he worth?

Spinner wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:16pm Wowza!

What’s he worth?
Yep. Bad news for Brown who has been a warrior for the Saints.

At the moment, we have nothing to trade except a player.

Maybe the club will more than likely see how the Bruce and Steven trades play out hoping to get a pick they can on pass to Port.

He's a good get for us.

Wowee!

This makes things very interesting and we suddenly look like a destination club! Not sure if we should offload Brown just yet but Howard and BKing (if he comes) could be our pillars for the next 10 years.

Does this mean Carlise is now trade bait?

We may use Howard forward for a year until King comes.

Saint 58

Fxxxing A !!

I was very confident he would choose us but said nothing in case I jinxed it.
That’s pathetically negative but such is life as a Saints supporter :?

We are a destination club, of sorts.
Still can’t attract the big names, but once Bing comes ... look out baby !!

Anyway that’s great news :D

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

He still has 3 years on contract to run.....

(Jason Cripps, Port Adelaide list manager), he said: ‘Look, we think it’s in Dougs’ best interest if he wants to go and have a look elsewhere. We’d be open if the deal was good enough for the club we would look at it.

from fox footy article

WHY are they happy for him to move on.......

Is he any good......

stkfc1 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:33pm Wowee!

This makes things very interesting and we suddenly look like a destination club! Not sure if we should offload Brown just yet but Howard and BKing (if he comes) could be our pillars for the next 10 years.

We may use Howard forward for a year until King comes.
Part of the issue I think at Port is......they want to play him forward but in his end of season review he stated he preference was back..... they were strong on him being a forward only....hence he may then want to look around

stkfc1 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:33pm
Wondered this myself. Worth considering whilst he has currency. Can’t see him being part of us being in contention.

We could possibly be moving a lot of players on this off season.

Bruce, Steven, Acres, Carlisle, Mackenzie. Am okay with all of it if it means refreshing and reshaping the list looking to build a team for the long term.

In theory, our spine by 2021 could include both King brothers and Howard.

he best part of this news is that Essendon wanted him.

silverhalo

What a sensational pick up Howard would be .....he's got all of the attributes (including leadership qualities) and is only 23. Blessing in disguise that Alex Keath chose Bulldogs ahead of us! Now how do we squeeze him in with all of others that want to come here, looks like we'll be intending to let a few go as we don't have the picks......how quickly the wheel turns.

Happy with all of the guys that want to come to us but my order of preference is:-

Hill
Howard
Jones
Ryder
Butler
Gray

New coach, state of the art facilities, new era......destination club.

he was dropped for the last 4 rounds of 2019

Is he a GOP

chook23 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 7:28pm he was dropped for the last 4 rounds of 2019

Is he a GOP
No Way. This guy can seriously play. Four clubs chasing him including us.

He was a stand in captain for Port.

Can't understand why they would let him go to be honest.

Port appointed a new defensive coach who didn't like Howard for some reason.

Their loss is our gain.

Spinner wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:16pm Wowza!

What’s he worth?
Not necessarily if we off load Carlisle I reckon Browny gets another year, which I hope he does as he has been very good since coming to us.

footynut

So we trade 6 for Hill & 25

25 to Port for Dougal

And keep Brown as back up / experience if able

We have the following nominate us to come to us:

Brad Hill- Pick #6 required.
Zak Jones- 2nd rounder
Paddy Ryder- 3rd/4th
Dougal Howard- apparently Portw ant a 1st rounder
Dan Butler very close.

Likely /Expected /Rumored exits:

Jack Steven
Josh Bruce
Jack Newnes
Daniel Mc Kenzie
Blake Acres

Can Gubby get it done?!
Industry people i know are telling me they cant see where we will find the picks for Dougal Howard.
What a huge week and half we have in store.

Vazelos wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 8:29pm We have the following nominate us to come to us:

Brad Hill- Pick #6 required.
Zak Jones- 2nd rounder
Paddy Ryder- 3rd/4th
Dougal Howard- apparently Portw ant a 1st rounder
Dan Butler very close.

Likely /Expected /Rumored exits:

Jack Steven
Josh Bruce
Jack Newnes
Daniel Mc Kenzie
Blake Acres

Can Gubby get it done?!
Industry people i know are telling me they cant see where we will find the picks for Dougal Howard.
What a huge week and half we have in store.
I reckon he can. If we do indeed shift all of the above and potentially another one or two, we will be able to generate enough picks to make it all happen. Key to it could be the deal for Bruce to the Dogs. If he is going, and we can deal our way into a low 20's pick in return for him, then we may be able to use that for Howard.

Hill for pick 6 and a later pick back to us
Jones for whatever we get for Stuv
Ryder - fourth round at the most
Butler - also a late pick
Howard - whatever we can get for Josh Bruce packaged up with what we get for trades for Acres, Mackenzie or even Lonie. My logic on that is : If we're chasing Butler and we already have Lonie, Kent, Long, Parker, Young - (Gresham also but he's more destined to be a mid I reckon) is there anyone I've missed? - then it's entirely possible we'll be willing to trade one or more of them. Lonie of all of them would have the most currency.

However it pans out, our footy dept team must be doing something right for all these players to nominate us.

Brown is a required player 100% imo

Peanut Farm

bigred wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 8:44pm Brown is a required player 100% imo
Absolutely required. Had a really good year, is fit and a gorilla.

Yep agree. If Howard comes, I'd keep Brown and ship out Carlisle whilst he has some value.

chook23 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 7:04pm He still has 3 years on contract to run.....

(Jason Cripps, Port Adelaide list manager), he said: ‘Look, we think it’s in Dougs’ best interest if he wants to go and have a look elsewhere. We’d be open if the deal was good enough for the club we would look at it.

from fox footy article

WHY are they happy for him to move on.......

Is he any good......
Crippa will look after us! :)

st.byron wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:16pm
Yep agree. If Howard comes, I'd keep Brown and ship out Carlisle whilst he has some value.
No way - I'm not judging Big Jake on the basis of a year coming off no preseason and a major, major back operation, in which he should never have played at all.
Brown will have (maybe) one more season in him.

samuraisaint wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:31pm
st.byron wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:16pm
No way - I'm not judging Big Jake on the basis of a year coming off no preseason and a major, major back operation, in which he should never have played at all.
Brown will have (maybe) one more season in him.
You could be right. Hope he’s awesome if he stays. I don’t much like his ‘tude though.

I think Jake has a Spider Eviritt type attitude. Can play, huge natural talent, but has some character flaws, is a bit lazy, and is a bit selfish.

B.M wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:40pm I think Jake has a Spider Eviritt type attitude. Can play, huge natural talent, but has some character flaws, is a bit lazy, and is a bit selfish.
Yep he also gives me that impression.

Hill is class

Ryder addresses an immediate problem

Howard addresses an immediate problem recalling how the Carlton tall forwards exploited Brown in our narrow loss to Carlton

IF we lose Steven we lose pace and daring from our midfield - so Jones compensates

Past that media has us losing Bruce - putting pressure on King unless Ryder sees Marshall playing forward with occasional forays into the ruck

So the pant wetting on here is not supported in my view - plus these same pant wetters are salivating at losing Acres and Carlisle, two players who in my experience watching St Kilda we just cannot afford to lose and desperately need on the park and fully fit

Others such as Webster, McKenzie and our other non KPP defenders apart from Clark, Coffield and Roberton (with Wilkie as cover) plus our plethora of small forwards we can afford to lose

I just do not see why we are chasing small forwards

In terms of “small forwards” I would be going with Billings, Gresham and Long