Do you remember when..

Footy was played on surburban footy grounds

Grounds got muddy in the middle of winter

There were no interstate interlopers

Full strength beer in large cans was sold at the ground

Kids stood on those beer cans in the outer so the could see the footy

The home team wore black shorts and the visitors white shorts.

There was no advertiing on jumpers

Umpires wore white and there was only one per game to abuse

Goal umpires wore hats and white dust coats.

There was no interchange bench.

Kicking the ball out on the full didn't attract a penalty free.

The 19th and 20th man wore bath robes /dressing gowns to keep warm.

Footy wasn't televised except for the last quarter on the ABC.

Those robes /gowns would have come in handy last night at Manuka Oval

Ahh, the good old days.

Re: Do you remember when..

Not sure what is so great about a lot of those things. Just shows footy has come a long way.

B.M wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 3:44pm Not sure what is so great about a lot of those things. Just shows footy has come a long way.
I was kidding ffs.

I remember when I had an avatar!

Crossy66

saynta wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 3:40pm Footy was played on surburban footy grounds

Ahh, the good old days.
It's interesting comparing now and then. I reckon footy has lost a bit of that tribal feel and the connection to a club. Also think that results these days are manipulated for the sake of a dollar I.e compromised drafts, compromised fixtures, the afl manipulating player movement and compensatory draft picks.
Just seems like a less than authentic competition.

You have a valid point crossy 66

It’s just a more professional competition. Game was always going to evolve and move with the times.

Would kids rather a seat at Marvel under the roof watching elite professional sportsmen... or standing on cans in the outer on a cold afternoon watching a semi professional sport?

Romanticism over time about the good old days is a strange phenomenon imo

Saint 58

+1 saynta
Except for the out on the full rule 😊

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Gee whiz how old are ya Saynta! :wink:

saynta wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 3:40pm Footy was played on surburban footy grounds

Ahh, the good old days.
Yep. But you forgot a couple of things. It was a fully day of footy entertainment starting with the Under 19s, then the reserves followed by the seniors. Those were the days.

damienc wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 6:32pm

Ahh, the good old days.
Yep. But you forgot a couple of things. It was a fully day of footy entertainment starting with the Under 19s, then the reserves followed by the seniors. Those were the days.
Yes.Good one. Posters, feel free to add our own. Loved watching the up and comers.

The_Dud wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 6:17pm Gee whiz how old are ya Saynta! :wink:
An age where I have gained an insight into corruption, and feel free enough to express my views.

B.M wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 4:56pm It’s just a more professional competition. Game was always going to evolve and move with the times.

Would kids rather a seat at Marvel under the roof watching elite professional sportsmen... or standing on cans in the outer on a cold afternoon watching a semi professional sport?

A lot of us were kids then, I know I had a great time. It was because of how much fun & how much the game was enjoyed then that enabled today's AFL to make an industry of it. Forget romanticism, understand what a monopoly can ruin.

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 6:38pm
B.M wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 4:56pm It’s just a more professional competition. Game was always going to evolve and move with the times.

A lot of us were kids then, I know I had a great time. It was because of how much fun & how much the game was enjoyed then that enabled today's AFL to make an industry of it. Forget romanticism, understand what a monopoly can ruin.
Well said. True too.

Ahh, the good old days.
Great post Saynta.

Those days are gone unfortunately. Even local footy is going backwards.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 6:57pm

Ahh, the good old days.
Great post Saynta.

You would both have loved our local footy today! I had not been all season, so I thought I had better get down and see the last game of the season.

After 50mm of rain, it was always going to be a "special" game; reminiscent of Moorabbin. Our locals wearing Saints jumpers, the opposition in navy blue and white. Having arrived at half-time , black shorts vs filthy grey shorts was the only way to delineate between the two as the rain squalls kept rolling in. The crowd was minuscule, even by bush footy standards. The opposition booted three goals clear in the last quarter before the locals dragged a couple back before 3/4 time.

The last quarter was a wet weather classic. Entering time on, the opposition led by 2 points but the locals hang tough and scrambled 3 rushed behinds to win by a point! Skills and umpires amounted to nil, it was won on pure heart.

I hope another team in Saints jumpers can give a similar display of old time footy tomorrow!

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 7:35pm

Ahh, the good old days.
Great post Saynta.

You would both have loved our local footy today! I had not been all season, so I thought I had better get down and see the last game of the season.

After 50mm of rain, it was always going to be a "special" game; reminiscent of Moorabbin. Our locals wearing Saints jumpers, the opposition in navy blue and white. Having arrived at half-time , black shorts vs filthy grey shorts was the only way to delineate between the two as the rain squalls kept rolling in. The crowd was minuscule, even by bush footy standards. The opposition booted three goals clear in the last quarter before the locals dragged a couple back before 3/4 time.

The last quarter was a wet weather classic. Entering time on, the opposition led by 2 points but the locals hang tough and scrambled 3 rushed behinds to win by a point! Skills and umpires amounted to nil, it was won on pure heart.

I hope another team in Saints jumpers can give a similar display of old time footy tomorrow!
Brilliant post mate, absolutely brilliant. Made my night actually. :D :) :wink:

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 7:35pm

Ahh, the good old days.
Great post Saynta.

Love it! Rather a game like that than the sanitized cr@p today. I remember more games from the yesteryear than I do or will from the current. A Premiership being the exception or a prelim circa 97.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 3:57pm I remember when I had an avatar!
When did we lose our avatars ?

Why did we lose our avatars ?

Is this some form of punishment ? Like not being nice to cheating umpires.

How can I be the best card in the pack without an avatar ?

I shall contact the expert in the States and get the Avatars back up and running and the videos ... anything else gone missing in the site upgrade last week?

Generally sanity and time diminish after an upgrade

BackFromUSA wrote: Sat 10 Aug 2019 9:28pm I shall contact the expert in the States and get the Avatars back up and running and the videos ... anything else gone missing in the site upgrade last week?
Thanks

Oh, I think there is a mistake on the AFL ladder.
Seems about 40 points from 10 games our team was supposed to win have gone missing.

i remember when most afl games were eminently watchable. happily watching the wallabies taking it up to the allblacks in a far better spectacle than the one on C7 right now.

portosaint

Interestingly, the fact that those "semi professionals" were arguably more skillful (goal kicking springs to mind) and, IMO, far more entertaining sportsmen than these "elite" fellas is a strange phenomenon.

The good 'ol days were great. Especially at Moorabbin.
The seconds playing already when you come into the stadium and a chance you could spot a fringe player or former star to admire or a fallen opposition player dropped and ripe for abuse.
Urinate in beer can while standing in crowd, shouting obscenities. Farting, saying Geezz...was that you..?
Toilets were very clean and gently scented with those "lemons" to satiate and calm the mind.
Food was probably healthier than now if not burnt.
Cut fingers from beer can openers which you had to suck on after handling hot chips and wiping tomato sauce stains off jeans.
Some possibility of seeing a fight in the crowd or on the field. (Some chance of actually being involved in violence...)
Rain and grey skies. The concrete bits on the edge of the gravelly bits you stood on as you balanced and strained to see.

The scent of success...there was always an insane chance that we might win. That is what gets me. I always thought we might have a chance, if...if... if...