Team v Cats

Team v Cats

Breaking news from Dublin:
In Lonie, Brown
Out Battle Parker

Re: Team v Cats

Parker is an emergency.
And have you seen where they put DMac.
Next to Membrey.
For an anxious few moments, I thought they'd put Skunk down at Full Back on Tomahawk :shock:

Hawkings will be shitting himself right now. Go get him Browny.

saintadamski

Newnes on the wing.

I give up....f#$k this club

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 7:28pm Breaking news from Dublin:
In Lonie, Brown
Out Battle Parker
That's beyond the pale!

saintadamski

Newnes on the wing.

saintadamski wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 8:56pm Newnes on the wing.

Did you even watch last week. Newnes easily in the best 8 players

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Thats what I will be saying if they appoint that prick Scott as coach.

Also that's what the f****** poms are currently doing to the Aussies.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 12 Jul 2019 6:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

samuraisaint wrote:
In Lonie, Brown
Out Battle Parker
That's beyond the pale!
How did you know that I’m actually 75km from Dublin?

saintadamski

terry smith rules wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 8:59pm

You're so right....Newnes is elite and should be all Australian.

...now name a single club that would take him

Anyway this isn't a Newnes thread... but what choices does this team really have anymore.

StPeter

Brandon White is really out of favour.

Fourteen of the list out injured or unavailable and still can't make the 25 two weeks in a row.

He is one player who will be glad to see the back of Richardson.

Special

StPeter wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 10:06pm Brandon White is really out of favour.

Fourteen of this list out injured or unavailable and still can't make the 25 two weeks in a row.

He is one player who will be glad to see the back of Richardson.
If we get flogged and Richo can’t come to the table and come to an agreement and leave I reckon blokes like White will be fuming. Could make for a ice cold week at Moorabbin

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 9:14pm
samuraisaint wrote:
In Lonie, Brown
Out Battle Parker
That's beyond the pale!
How did you know that I’m actually 75km from Dublin?
Practically a culchie mate.

Brandon White is overrated because he’s not playing. At this stage he is not a league footballer.
Not for enough, not strong enough, not smart enough.

Can kick, can take a mark, is pretty courageous.

What a will say is he is naturally a far better player than McKenzie, but McKenzie works twice as hard on the track and in games. Combine the two and you have a decent player, separately they are both average.
I have liked McKenzie in the past, but he is just not comfortable with the ball.
White, lacks discipline.

Oh, and McKenzie should have been dropped this week, and they try him forward, I will f***ing lose it.
Parker and Young were recruited as forwards, give one of them a shot, let them develop.

B.M wrote: Fri 12 Jul 2019 1:10am Oh, and McKenzie should have been dropped this week, and they try him forward, I will f***ing lose it.
Parker and Young were recruited as forwards, give one of them a shot, let them develop.
McKenzie should've been dropped 3wks ago

B.M wrote: Fri 12 Jul 2019 1:08am Brandon White is overrated because he’s not playing. At this stage he is not a league footballer.
Not for enough, not strong enough, not smart enough.

Can kick, can take a mark, is pretty courageous.

What a will say is he is naturally a far better player than McKenzie, but McKenzie works twice as hard on the track and in games. Combine the two and you have a decent player, separately they are both average.
I have liked McKenzie in the past, but he is just not comfortable with the ball.
White, lacks discipline.
Saying that White lacks discipline implies that goals had been set for him and he didn't achieve them.
Are you aware of Brandon not meeting his goals? Or are you commenting based on your observations at training and from afar on game day at TBBO

Has Brandon been asked to put on weight or muscle mass or achieve a certain level of fitness and has he failed in these areas

Discipline has to be a two way street when it comes to footy players, especially the young ones. Most of them need strong coaching staff and strong incentives to get off their Playstations and Xboxes

saintadamski wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 9:30pm
terry smith rules wrote: Thu 11 Jul 2019 8:59pm

You're so right....Newnes is elite and should be all Australian.

...now name a single club that would take him

Anyway this isn't a Newnes thread... but what choices does this team really have anymore.
That's one of the strawiest strawmen I've seen in a while. No one is suggesting that Newnes having a good game last week means he is elite, should be AA or that another club would take him.

He responded well after being dropped, and deserves his spot in the team this week.

If you put your personal feelings on a player aside and look objectively at their performances you will be able to form a more logical and coherent argument.

Newnes played well enough last week to retain his spot. He will while we are so inexperienced.

How many 100 gamers, 150 gamers, 200 gamers do we have compared to Geelong?!

What is said about McKenzie is true enough, no one can question his endeavour or his courage. He has been exposed recently in one on one situations and has lacked surety with the ball.

What I've seen of White I like, unfortunately he's not in favour with the coach / selection committee for reasons only known by them. Just as Parker and Young deserve an opportunity to develop so does White, so does Langlands.

How can we truly judge our list if all players aren't given the same opportunities or held to the same standards?

Look we could've brought White in, and given Rice a run off the bench, to be fair.

But, we are playing a team who could really smack us around and who will absolutely annihilate us anyway, without our help. Having 14 players unavailable through injury on a reduced list of 38 has decimated the team and made it very difficult for us to remain competitive.

I think Brown should've played last week considering the side we played, and with Hawkins and their other talls in the forward line Brown coming back in is a no brainer.

Lonie will at least apply some forward pressure because we sure as hell haven't had any since he got injured against the Crows.

I would've dropped Ross myself. I think he's been very disappointing and needs a spell in the magoos to get his mojo back and to find his timing. He is rushing too much and his disposal efficiency is poor.

Yes, I think DMac could come out for White, but White did miss two absolute gimmees against the Suns in the last quarter. He had an injury and was played out of position, but it is what it is. To be fair to DMac, I also believe he is suffering because of the lack of pressure upfield. I certainly wouldn't want to be in his position most weeks. No Geary, no Dylan, no Webster. Pretty fair outs there.

Regarding fairness, selection integrity and consistent application of playing standards I thought Hickey's press conference this week was a barb at the club, and I applaud him for it as he was unfairly the whipping boy for poor performances if you believe some of the posts on here.

The fact that his two ruck replacements (not Marshall) have played three games between them this year is an indictment on anybody who had their hands on that trade and those individuals need to be held accountable. It has been decisions like this that have crucified the team this year. If you add these two ruckmen to the list of Bytel, Hanners, and King coming to the club needing to do rehab, then factor in Robbo, Paddy and Big Jake, then you have to think that Hickey would have been very handy this year.

We have since lost our best player, our captain and our young key defender with a shoulder who did not play a single senior match this season. That's 11 players who basically haven't played all season so far, apart from a very few games. We then have the problem of bringing some of these players back too early and out of condition and all of the disruption this brings.

I just hope we don't have too many players on the list after the season who are unable to play at all in 2020. A new broom needs to sweep through the place, that's for sure. Ten or eleven players should be delisted/traded at the end of the season, which would be mutually beneficial for all parties, and all assistants and coaching staff who were at the club before last year need to be replaced by new faces who will bring new intel to the club.

saintbob wrote: Fri 12 Jul 2019 2:06am
B.M wrote: Fri 12 Jul 2019 1:10am Oh, and McKenzie should have been dropped this week, and they try him forward, I will f***ing lose it.
McKenzie should've been dropped 3wks ago
I agree. And remember they gave him a THREE year contract extension a few weeks ago. The idiocy continues.