FUN FACT: The Year 2000

Was the last season Brisbane beat us in Melbourne. :shock:

Re: FUN FACT: The Year 2000

In 19 years, there's a good chance the team is different these days :shock:

As Mick Molloy would say if you're planning on backing the Saints:

"Go cocobananas. We can't lose"

... Put your house on it! and gamble responsibly

The other day I was watching a bit of the 2005 game where Milne kicked 11 (what a team) and Hamill lined up Aker in the first and hit him with the perfect bump, was beautiful to see.

I went up to Brisbane in 2004 to see our beloved Saints. We were SMASHED.... GOD they were a GOOD side!!! It was painful to watch, but man they were GOOD and plenty of mongrel too! I would dearly LOVE to see a Saints side as effective and ruthless as the Brisbane Lions were 2000-2005.

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 18 Jun 2019 9:01pm I went up to Brisbane in 2004 to see our beloved Saints. We were SMASHED.... GOD they were a GOOD side!!! It was painful to watch, but man they were GOOD and plenty of mongrel too! I would dearly LOVE to see a Saints side as effective and ruthless as the Brisbane Lions were 2000-2005.
Agree. They may well have been the best team ever, in my opinion. They had class on every line and their midfield was ridiculous. My grandmother could have taken that team to a premiership. LM would have just sat back, watched the carnage and thought "How good is this?"

Whenever I hear a fun fact like this it nearly always ends badly for the saints.
Early in the year the scribes on the radio were talking about how poor WC contested ball was this year .
As soon as I heard this I knew they would beat us in that stat . They did and won the game .

samuraisaint wrote: Tue 18 Jun 2019 7:47pm
WOW!!! Frankie Peckett!!!!! Spida Everitt!!! Buckets!!! Just HOW the bloody hell did THAT side end up with the wooden spoon that season??? :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Brisbane did beat us at Fortress Wellington.

kosifantutti wrote: Wed 19 Jun 2019 11:24am Brisbane did beat us at Fortress Wellington.
:lol: :lol: :lol: is that a "NOT-so fun fact" colleague?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Brunswicksainter

sus how bad the clash in strips is ahahaha.

Brunswicksainter wrote: Wed 19 Jun 2019 3:44pm
That statement actually reveals quite a bit. It wasn't a clash strip . It was our normal jumper at the time. Called the "hot cross bun".

You are either very young or not really a dyed in the wool saints supporter.

I really loved that jumper. :cry:

saynta wrote: Wed 19 Jun 2019 5:04pm
That statement actually reveals quite a bit. It wasn't a clash strip . It was our normal jumper at the time. Called the "hot cross bun".

Some people call that our 1997 Grand Final Jumper.

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 19 Jun 2019 11:19am
WOW!!! Frankie Peckett!!!!! Spida Everitt!!! Buckets!!! Just HOW the bloody hell did THAT side end up with the wooden spoon that season??? :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
We finished on top of the ladder and played in a Grand Final 2 and a half years before this match.

“Clash in strips” not “clash strips”

Brunswicksainter

That statement reveals quite a bit... that being the fact you either can’t read or are incapable of comprehending basic English.

Special

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 18 Jun 2019 9:01pm I went up to Brisbane in 2004 to see our beloved Saints. We were SMASHED.... GOD they were a GOOD side!!! It was painful to watch, but man they were GOOD and plenty of mongrel too! I would dearly LOVE to see a Saints side as effective and ruthless as the Brisbane Lions were 2000-2005.
Guess what??
I lived in Brisvegas in 2002 and 2003 - Brisbane’s premiership years!
I lived 10 minutes drive from the Gabba, what bad luck timing - even saw a Bears final at the Gabba!

Brunswicksainter wrote: Thu 20 Jun 2019 1:29am

That statement reveals quite a bit... that being the fact you either can’t read or are incapable of comprehending basic English.
I hope you're not suggesting our Saynta might be one of those pesky foreigners, coming over here, telling us what we can and can't say about the footy!

Brunswicksainter

freely wrote: Thu 20 Jun 2019 10:52am
Brunswicksainter wrote: Thu 20 Jun 2019 1:29am

I hope you're not suggesting our Saynta might be one of those pesky foreigners, coming over here, telling us what we can and can't say about the footy!
Hahahaha well played

HighettMan

I was at that game too, 80 point loss. That team is the greatest of the modern era...by a long stretch too.

Have the courage to call out r ACE ism

mr six o'clock wrote: Wed 19 Jun 2019 8:59am Whenever I hear a fun fact like this it nearly always ends badly for the saints.
Early in the year the scribes on the radio were talking about how poor WC contested ball was this year .
As soon as I heard this I knew they would beat us in that stat . They did and won the game .
And the biggest joke of the year
Flogs like Carey saying Richo is coach of the year