Roo and Bruce..................

15 frees between them for the season. Roo has the grand amount of 5. :roll: :roll: :roll: Bruce is third in the Coleman yet has received 10. Far less than all other permanent key forwards.

Yep we really do get screwed.

Re: Roo and Bruce..................

These threads are great. You should do one in the other forum on your FF at Warburton. Im unsure what is the point even except to get people angry and then say stupid things like the umpires are cheating which in turn means the AFL is cheating. The question is why would they even bother to cheat against us. Curls you and Bomber are the unluckiest supporters in Australia. He is our local Curly at my local club. He says Ormond gets screwed as well as his AFL team the Swans. He even says his local cricket club get a raw deal. I feel sorry that he follows such unlucky sides.

plugger66 wrote:These threads are great. You should do one in the other forum on your FF at Warburton. Im unsure what is the point even except to get people angry and then say stupid things like the umpires are cheating which in turn means the AFL is cheating. The question is why would they even bother to cheat against us. Curls you and Bomber are the unluckiest supporters in Australia. He is our local Curly at my local club. He says Ormond gets screwed as well as his AFL team the Swans. He even says his local cricket club get a raw deal. I feel sorry that he follows such unlucky sides.

So its just luck that Bruce and Roo receive poor treatment.

Roo gets blocked a ridiculous amount.

The blocking rule needs to be seriously looked at.

We do it as much as anyone, and not playing the victim card here, we don't necessarily get a raw deal, although I do imagine the umpires are harder on the permanent/star forwards, expecting them to do more to influence or win a contest than anywhere else on the field.

Roo seems to get unpaid the most, but I would guess that's because he makes it to more contests than just about anyone, hence the higher instance.

Absolutely hate that part of the game.

CURLY wrote:
plugger66 wrote:These threads are great. You should do one in the other forum on your FF at Warburton. Im unsure what is the point even except to get people angry and then say stupid things like the umpires are cheating which in turn means the AFL is cheating. The question is why would they even bother to cheat against us. Curls you and Bomber are the unluckiest supporters in Australia. He is our local Curly at my local club. He says Ormond gets screwed as well as his AFL team the Swans. He even says his local cricket club get a raw deal. I feel sorry that he follows such unlucky sides.

Id say bad luck but if you thinks its lucky go with it. I get confused. Do you think they are now cheating with only Bruce and Roo or at they collateral damage for the umpires wanting to cheat against the club as a whole.

CURLY wrote:

Id say bad luck but if you thinks its lucky go with it. I get confused. Do you think they are now cheating with only Bruce and Roo or at they collateral damage for the umpires wanting to cheat against the club as a whole.

Yeah your right 15 times in 24 games between them theyve been infringed.

CURLY wrote:

Did I say that? You sound like some other posters who wont debate what I actually said. Please let me know your reasons you think those 2 forwards haven't got a lot of frees this year. Then we can hopefully debate on what you say because you have debated anything I said.

CURLY wrote:

Did I say that? You sound like some other posters who wont debate what I actually said. Please let me know your reasons you think those 2 forwards haven't got a lot of frees this year. Then we can hopefully debate on what you say because you have debated anything I said.
Your tiresome though its just denial after denial. We are getting screwed over and the stats back it up.

CURLY wrote:
Your tiresome though its just denial after denial. We are getting screwed over and the stats back it up.

And to think you started these stupid threads. Well we know you didn't debate anything at school. And yep im denying cheating. All logic says to many people would have to be involved. And if it was cheating why the hell would you watch the game if you thought the umpires were cheating against us. Do you like pain? And where is all the paper talk about the AFL cheating against the Saints?

CURLY wrote:

And to think you started these stupid threads. Well we know you didn't debate anything at school. And yep im denying cheating. All logic says to many people would have to be involved. And if it was cheating why the hell would you watch the game if you thought the umpires were cheating against us. Do you like pain? And where is all the paper talk about the AFL cheating against the Saints?

Why is the thread stupid P66.

I think it is a valid topic. One of the greatest forwards and the other second in the Coleman and they are getting less than one a game each????????

Why are the umpires not paying free kicks to these two forwards when it is obvious to even the casual observer that they are being infringed upon again and again.

Why are the umpires not umpiring to the rules of the game? Why are our forwards fair game? Why are they not being rewarded for effort?

If you cant answer the question perhaps it is better if you don't post to just attack the OP. I know you don't like his umpire threads, however in this case it is a valid thread.

Good thread CYRLY.

CURLY wrote:

What is it then? We lose we get nailed in the free kick count apparently its because we are second to the ball we win by 110 points and still we are well behind. Umpires cannot so poor at their job to miss as many as they do our way to be all luck.

CURLY wrote:

What is it then? We lose we get nailed in the free kick count apparently its because we are second to the ball we win by 110 points and still we are well behind. Umpires cannot so poor at their job to miss as many as they do our way to be all luck.

Like I said I think bad luck pays a part. You are the one thinking its actually luck. I have no idea what the issue is because Roo has got many frees in the past so they certainly haven't cheated against him previously. Funny that you obviously think they are this year. I think that 110 point victory actually proves it isn't cheating because can you explain why they would cheat when the side we were playing was getting smashed. Even less logical.

And I will say this about every side. There would be a curly on every footy fan forum even WCE because many people do watch games through one eye and that is fine because we love our club and most of us want to win every week. I actually used to think all of us wanted to win every week but the last 4 weeks has taught me that isn't true.

there are quite a few threads on this.

One gives the no of frees that buddy and tippet get and the number against. They get more against so im not sure that its an advantage.

mullet wrote:there are quite a few threads on this.

One gives the no of frees that buddy and tippet get and the number against. They get more against so im not sure that its an advantage.

I tell you what if Bruce got those extra 20 frees in front of goal he'd have over 50 goals for the year.

What annoyed me in the telecast was time after time Dermott and/or Dwayne would say how Roo was a "bit stiff there" or "GWS got away with that arm chop" or "Cameron got a lucky call there" and had a bit of a chuckle.

At no time did they piece it all together and say "hey that's yet another dodgy free to GWS / missed free to StKilda which by my reckoning has now widened the margin by six goals in a disgraceful one-sided umpiring performance".
Call it as it is!

Enrico_Misso wrote:What annoyed me in the telecast was time after time Dermott and/or Dwayne would say how Roo was a "bit stiff there" or "GWS got away with that arm chop" or "Cameron got a lucky call there" and had a bit of a chuckle.

At no time did they piece it all together and say "hey that's yet another dodgy free to GWS / missed free to StKilda which by my reckoning has now widened the margin by six goals in a disgraceful one-sided umpiring performance".
Call it as it is!
Like players and coaches, the commentators are not allowed publicly to criticise umpires.

mullet wrote:there are quite a few threads on this.

It's an advantage because any free kick to Buddy or Tippett is generally a shot on goal, whilst a free kick against is generally a clearing kick out of defence.

I suspect in many instance the Swans pair are prepared to roll the dice with aggression because of that factor.

In other words if they get a free kick against so be it and if they don't there is a chance of a turnover back to them

My point is Buddy and Roo play a similar attacking game so it is difficult to understand that discrepency

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Interesting that Collingwood went to the AFL umpires to whinge about Cloke yet he has three times as many frees for than Riewoldt.

Enrico_Misso wrote:What annoyed me in the telecast was time after time Dermott and/or Dwayne would say how Roo was a "bit stiff there" or "GWS got away with that arm chop" or "Cameron got a lucky call there" and had a bit of a chuckle.

Call it as it is!

This. It was interesting to note that the commentary team observed that we "were a bit stiff", or that the GWS "were a bit lucky" on multiple occasions, yet not once has anyone got the stones to turn around and state that a team is getting a very rough deal from the umpires.

p66 has repeatedly claimed that if the umpires are cheating it means the AFL is also. I am not sure the first implies the latter. now I do not think the umpires cheat, but it is always possible an individual umpire has become mixed up in all sorts of nonsense and had the hard word put on them to favour one outcome over another. why would this require the AFL to be in on it?
many precedents in soccer suggest the officials are targeted by crooks.
that said, there must be a reason we always seem to be on the wrong end of the free kick tally. Are our tackling coaches not up to the task? It doesn't explain why Bruce gets such a hard run does it.
maybe some jumpers make it more obvious when holding occurs, eg the vertical narrow stripes? Do we get more frees when wearing our away kit?
There will be an explanation other than AFL inspired preferential treatment and we need to figure out what it is! before we get into another Grand Final!!!!

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

6621104 wrote:p66 has repeatedly claimed that if the umpires are cheating it means the AFL is also. I am not sure the first implies the latter. now I do not think the umpires cheat, but it is always possible an individual umpire has become mixed up in all sorts of nonsense and had the hard word put on them to favour one outcome over another. why would this require the AFL to be in on it?
that said, there must be a reason we always seem to be on the wrong end of the free kick tally. Are our tackling coaches not up to the task? It doesn't explain why Bruce gets such a hard run does it.
maybe some jumpers make it more obvious when holding occurs, eg the vertical narrow stripes? Do we get more frees when wearing our away kit?
There will be an explanation other than AFL inspired preferential treatment and we need to figure out what it is! before we get into another Grand Final!!!!
One way to influence decisions is to create public opinion to your advantage. This is something Eddiewood does exceptionally well by generating discussion via the media and the community on talk back radio about Cloke being hard done by (just one example). It's human nature for umpires to implement change that's advantageous to Cloke and the Pies once those opinions are made public and regarded the 'norm'. I don't believe St Kilda as a club do this.....at all. Small club syndrome - we know our place.

Playon

CURLY wrote:

Question for you. Do you think we were screwed over by the umpires when GT was coach? And what do you think GT would say in reply to this?

6621104 wrote:p66 has repeatedly claimed that if the umpires are cheating it means the AFL is also. I am not sure the first implies the latter. now I do not think the umpires cheat, but it is always possible an individual umpire has become mixed up in all sorts of nonsense and had the hard word put on them to favour one outcome over another. why would this require the AFL to be in on it?

Yes it would require some part in the AFL to be in it because the umpire is reviewed and would be dropped if he continued to make poor decisions. Also there is 3 umpires it seems this thread is on Bruce and Rooy and this year they aren't getting many frees. Do we have the same umpire up our forward line most weeks? The answer is obviously no. I would be looking at other options rather than cheating and I would also be suggesting that if it is as obvious as everyone makes out that they are being duded, where is the complaints from the club? Maybe it isn't as bad as some think afterall Rooy has previously had as many frees as maost forwards and certainly the least against.

Has anyone read or heard anyone from our club in the media complain? Umpires don't fear the backlash of s*** treatment towards us.

CURLY wrote:Interesting that Collingwood went to the AFL umpires to whinge about Cloke yet he has three times as many frees for than Riewoldt.
"whinge"? Not sure you can say "whinge" mate given that's what you've done nonstop for years now.

Who knows, there might be something in what you say? But it's impossible to hear it because you're the boy who cried wolf, constantly sooking about a single decision here or a free kick count there.