We need to have more input into our fixture

howlinwolf

We need to have more input into our fixture

The crowd tonight was very disappointing.
I actually thought it was around the low 20k but 14k ????

Sunday 4.40 vs GC with not a lot on for the weekend is a hiding to nothing.
Although we must have a good dose of bandwagoners as the club website lists us as having 29k members yet we can only muster up around 12k.

Last week vs Carlton on a Monday night was another flop.
26K for two Melb based sides is a disaster. Especially Carltank
Saturday arvo and it would have been 36k and a profit.

Hopefully with Summers and Finnis we can start calling the shots and get the best for this club.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Re: We need to have more input into our fixture

Today was a ridiculous fixture.

It's all about being competitve, really. You can't blame anyone for not going see their side get thumped every week - particularly now that every match is live on Fox Footy.

If we were flying we'd get a good crowd regardless of the timeslot.

With only one match on a Sunday why couldn't they start it at the old fashioned retro time of 2pm?

The umps could wear white, the goal umpires could don their white lab coats and moustaches.

Being a Sunday (and with the small crowd) they could even call it the Army Reserve Cup.

bigcarl wrote:It's all about being competitve, really. You can't blame anyone for not going see their side get thumped every week - particularly now that every match is live on Fox Footy.

Gee that's a poor mentality.

Beno88 wrote:
bigcarl wrote:It's all about being competitve, really. You can't blame anyone for not going see their side get thumped every week - particularly now that every match is live on Fox Footy.

It's a realistic mentality.

If we aren't competitive the crowds will drop off. There is nothing more certain. A fact of life unfortunately.

I think it's a mental timeslot

magnifisaint wrote:I think it's a mental timeslot

Yes i do admt it doesn't help. Families with young kids are sort of ruled out.

With no other games on 2pm sounds like a logical time

Saintlester

Very true, let's also add the fact that our home games so far have been against the interstate clubs and the lowest drawing Melbourne club(Dees) whose supporters don't go to Etihad in any case. Only decent chance for a good crowd was Carlscum and Monday night needs to be in school holidays or not at all.

Add to this playing a team coming off a bye when we had a 6 day break. The team we played had a BYE this week. How is this fair and equitable. Almost like the AFL is setting St Kilda up to fail so they have an excuse to put their people in and say "Well you can't run the place so we'll run it for you".

Coming from a 30something male, going to the footy has lost 80% of its appeal. No passion, if you show it theatre goers turn around and look, surrounded by families. They need to introduce a rowdy area, I'm serious. I have friends who don't go anymore because of it. Saturday arvo friendly banter is dead.

Then you have ticketing costs, you either pay premium or you sit up the top with more theatre goers. Then when your side plays unattractive frustrating football you need to remortgage the house if you want to go to the bar. Then the coaches have dulled the game into a rolling maul midfield flogfest, with dominating forwards virtually non exsistence. In a bygone era when we were sh*t you could get enjoyment out of watching your power forward, not now, just tripled teamed athletes who take one contested mark a month.

In this modern era, the games farked!

Beno88 wrote:

It's a realistic mentality.

If we aren't competitive the crowds will drop off. There is nothing more certain. A fact of life unfortunately.
I think the Hawthorn game killed a lot of the hope that might have kept the non-hardcore supporters turning up which was why I was so disappointed in such a thrashing. Quite a few supporters left at half time thinking it was going to be another over-100 point humiliation. And cruelly we didn't get that flag that tides you over during the tough times and keeps your head held high. If we can keep being competitive for a few weeks they might come back a bit.

paulski

Agree 100% with jonesy, we really need a rowdy area, or 'active' area, for supporters who have a bit of passion for our club.
You show a bit of passion in reserved seat areas and you get stared down by 20 grannies!
If not, just a special standing area where we could gather together and pretend we're back at Moorabbin.
Would make footy fun again, for me anyway!

We should be able to draw 17K so it's 3K below a barely acceptable figure.

2pm slot would be better but not rate as well.

paulski wrote:Agree 100% with jonesy, we really need a rowdy area, or 'active' area, for supporters who have a bit of passion for our club.
You show a bit of passion in reserved seat areas and you get stared down by 20 grannies!
If not, just a special standing area where we could gather together and pretend we're back at Moorabbin.
The MW is our active area. It's certainly not the CS.

GoSaintersGo

paulski wrote:Agree 100% with jonesy, we really need a rowdy area, or 'active' area, for supporters who have a bit of passion for our club.
Bring back the "Animal Enclosure" with cans of VB.
Now that Dimwit is about to go, there maybe a chance for the fixture to be made fair for all Clubs.
Get a bit sick of Collingwood hogging all the Channel 7 games (this year, they have 7 out of the first 10 inc their Bye) and still getting 16 / 22 home games in Melb. That's why we don't get a go. The Injectors are on a similar programme as well.

I'm getting off topic i know,probably worthy of a thread of it's own, but what happened to the colourful footy characters at the game ?! Demetrio killed them off, can we get them back somehow? I doubt it now,mid strength beer and sanitised people has scared them away sadly. Footy was once a cultural experience, now it's like going to the tennis

It was spooky at the ground you could hear all the players voices echoing. There were more ground staff than fans. You didn't want to cheer because it felt like a library.people would have turned around and glared. I met up with a mate who's auskick kid was playing and they were about 100 people with no interest other than their children.

aaron82

jonesy wrote:Coming from a 30something male, going to the footy has lost 80% of its appeal. No passion, if you show it theatre goers turn around and look, surrounded by families. They need to introduce a rowdy area, I'm serious. I have friends who don't go anymore because of it. Saturday arvo friendly banter is dead.

Then you have ticketing costs, you either pay premium or you sit up the top with more theatre goers. Then when your side plays unattractive frustrating football you need to remortgage the house if you want to go to the bar. Then the coaches have dulled the game into a rolling maul midfield flogfest, with dominating forwards virtually non exsistence. In a bygone era when we were sh*t you could get enjoyment out of watching your power forward, not now, just tripled teamed athletes who take one contested mark a month.

In this modern era, the games farked!

Absolutely agree with Jonesy' post. I loved watching footy in the 80's and 90's despite us getting flogged more often than not. The game still had character. I went yesterday, but with the 4:40pm timeslot on a Sunday I could have just as easy gone to the local and drink full strength beer, have a cheap feed and barrack as loud as I want within reason

and that's the bottom line

jonesy wrote:I'm getting off topic i know,probably worthy of a thread of it's own, but what happened to the colourful footy characters at the game ?! Demetrio killed them off, can we get them back somehow? I doubt it now,mid strength beer and sanitised people has scared them away sadly. Footy was once a cultural experience, now it's like going to the tennis

You do realise it aint just footy who have done that. its just the way of the world now and you either accept it or you dont go because it has little to do with AD. A new CEO isnt going to change how people watch footy.

saintspremiers wrote:We should be able to draw 17K so it's 3K below a barely acceptable figure.

What do ratings matter? It's on foxtel.

Rosco wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:We should be able to draw 17K so it's 3K below a barely acceptable figure.

What do ratings matter? It's on foxtel.

They have ads but more importantly they may sell more packages.

Didn't know they have ads, but is a 440 slot over a 210 slot going to make a difference with nothing else on that day?

Rosco wrote:Didn't know they have ads, but is a 440 slot over a 210 slot going to make a difference with nothing else on that day?
Clearly they do think that

jonesy wrote:I'm getting off topic i know,probably worthy of a thread of it's own, but what happened to the colourful footy characters at the game ?! Demetrio killed them off, can we get them back somehow? I doubt it now,mid strength beer and sanitised people has scared them away sadly. Footy was once a cultural experience, now it's like going to the tennis
A day in the Animal Pit was always entertaining with some wonderful invective and banter.
Now any "out there" comment will have someone dialling the offensive behaviour hotline.