Josh Bruce

Josh Bruce

Just watched the replay and was impressed by his game. Wore his opponent tight and ran off to creat an option at times. But what I liked most was his very nice low drop punts to a leading forward...thought he picked them out a few times.

Re: Josh Bruce

Destroyed Joe Daniher. I was very impressed with the offensive side of his game.

citywest

I agree, he was really good. I hope he doesn't lose his spot to Fisher. Yes, Fisher is a great player but I feel that we need to play Bruce ahead of him. Maybe Fisher and Gwilt should alternate but definitely not at the expence of Bruce.

citywest wrote:I agree, he was really good. I hope he doesn't lose his spot to Fisher. Yes, Fisher is a great player but I feel that we need to play Bruce ahead of him. Maybe Fisher and Gwilt should alternate but definitely not at the expence of Bruce.
How do you reckon he went against your mob?!

That was some haircut Josh the Bruce was sporting in that game. :lol: :lol:

Wayne42 wrote:That was some haircut Josh the Bruce was sporting in that game. :lol: :lol:
Is that you Bristle?

Wayne42 wrote:That was some haircut Josh the Bruce was sporting in that game. :lol: :lol:
Is that you Bristle?
Yes

BT called him The Do (Maybe spelt Du?) which I quite liked.
Maybe saints fans could yell out Do when he kicks the ball.

More like half a haircut

Someone in the commentary team said - if you've got a haircut like that then you better play the house down, or something like that.

What has your haircut got to do with expectations on your playing ability? If he likes his hair like that what the fork does it matter? Why can't you cut your hair how you like without being labelled by a bunch overrated media (lack of) personalities as being somehow arrogant/egotistical/show-off?

Brian Taylor looks like he's out of 70's porno flick FFS.

PJ wrote:Someone in the commentary team said - if you've got a haircut like that then you better play the house down, or something like that.

What has your haircut got to do with expectations on your playing ability? If he likes his hair like that what the fork does it matter? Why can't you cut your hair how you like without being labelled by a bunch overrated media (lack of) personalities as being somehow arrogant/egotistical/show-off?

Brian Taylor looks like he's out of 70's porno flick FFS.

I must say i agree with them and said it early in a thread i started. hacks didnt start the idea of wearing coloured boots, it was the stars because they were going to stand out. Bruce having that hair cut means he stands out so every bad thing he does will really be noticed compared to a player with a normal hair cut, what ever is normal. What i do know though is that is abnormal in AFL footy.

If you took a cross section of all young guys hair around his age you'd find he looks pretty normal. Media dud just trying to be witty if you ask me.

quite a normal hair do these days...

Bruce was great didn't think he would play as well as he did. was very nice to see a no body as commented by a dope lover on big footy towel up the great white hope of Dopetown.

PJ wrote:If you took a cross section of all young guys hair around his age you'd find he looks pretty normal. Media dud just trying to be witty if you ask me.

i cant remember seeing hair like that in the AFL. And the comment didnt worry me in the slightestotherwise i would a hypocrite as i said the same. By the way im involved in local footy club and we would have about 3 players that age and not one haircut similar to that.

Sorry p66 if you think that haircut is not usual for young guys anywhere today you don't get out much. The beard, longish on top and short sides is everywhere - perhaps not at your club.

When you make that kind of crack you're saying to the kid pull your head in. That old school crap is just that...crap.

PJ wrote:Sorry p66 if you think that haircut is not usual for young guys anywhere today you don't get out much. The beard, longish on top and short sides is everywhere - perhaps not at your club.

When you make that kind of crack you're saying to the kid pull your head in. That old school crap is just that...crap.

Well if its normal then who in the AFL has one similar. There should be many names as there would be about 100 players close to bruce age. And you are right i dont get out much to where young people go except my footy club.
Last edited by plugger66 on Mon 21 Apr 2014 10:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

Beards are in vogue. His hair style / beard combo is extremely common in Canberra, where Bruce is from.

Old Mate wrote:Beards are in vogue. His hair style / beard combo is extremely common in Canberra, where Bruce is from.
I thought he looked like Mark Latham

wotever1

I couldn't care what his hair looks like as long as he brings his A game each week.

PJ wrote:Sorry p66 if you think that haircut is not usual for young guys anywhere today you don't get out much. The beard, longish on top and short sides is everywhere - perhaps not at your club.

Well if its normal then who in the AFL has one similar. There should be many names as there would be about 100 players close to bruce age. And you are right i dont get out much to where you people go except my footy club.
If you read my post I said across young kids his age not the AFL - you said AFL. Interestingly no one has a problem with Templeton's do - why do think that is? Perhaps they should point him out and say you'd better play the house down son. I think some people don't like people to look different - they love to put them down. and really who gives a flying what his hair looks like - why don't you just judge him by his play? why does his difference bother you? why would you bother commenting unless you've got the problem?

And if you don't get out except to your footy club how would you know?

PJ wrote:If you took a cross section of all young guys hair around his age you'd find he looks pretty normal. Media dud just trying to be witty if you ask me.

i cant remember seeing hair like that in the AFL. And the comment didnt worry me in the slightestotherwise i would a hypocrite as i said the same. By the way im involved in local footy club and we would have about 3 players that age and not one haircut similar to that.
He'll fit in at the Junction. Probably make some extra cash serving soy lattes in Acland St.

PJ wrote:

Well if its normal then who in the AFL has one similar. There should be many names as there would be about 100 players close to bruce age. And you are right i dont get out much to where you people go except my footy club.
If you read my post I said across young kids his age not the AFL - you said AFL. Interestingly no one has a problem with Templeton's do - why do think that is? Perhaps they should point him out and say you'd better play the house down son. I think some people don't like people to look different - they love to put them down. and really who gives a flying what his hair looks like - why don't you just judge him by his play? why does his difference bother you? why would you bother commenting unless you've got the problem?

And if you don't get out except to your footy club how would you know?

Yes and that was the point of the commentators. if you are wearing that hair in the AFL then you are going to be noticed and under more pressure that a person with normal hair in the AFL. Again why didnt hacks start with the coloured boots. because they were smart enough to realise the pressure on them because they would be noticed.

If the hair cut is so common outside the AFL then why isnt it common in the AFL. my best guess is the players dont want the pressure on them.

Why dont you think that haircut isnt common in the AFL but it is outside the AFL?

avid

Played well -- very pleasantly surprised. Perfectly happy for him to sport an unusual/inexplicable cut.

But if he's determined to run around looking like a half-plucked rooster, I say let's call him

The BROOSTER !!

Who cares a haircut is haircut - up to the individual. So you think if you have that short hair through the sides you'll be noticed and under more pressure than someone with less shorter hair through the sides - for real? the rest is stock standard for plenty of players today - do you think Bruce looked under pressure? It's not even a really unusual haircut. Thought he just played his game. I'm sure none of the players on the field gave a sh#t. Players don't cut their hair to fit in or go unnoticed. It's not even a really unusual haircut.

But hey whatever if you think that then good luck to you.

PJ wrote:Who cares a haircut is haircut - up to the individual. So you think if you have that short hair through the sides you'll be noticed and under more pressure than someone with less shorter hair through the sides - for real? the rest is stock standard for plenty of players today - do you think Bruce looked under pressure? It's not even a really unusual haircut. Thought he just played his game. I'm sure none of the players on the field gave a sh#t. Players don't cut their hair to fit in or go unnoticed. It's not even a really unusual haircut.

But hey whatever if you think that then good luck to you.

I havent mentioned anything like that. you had a go at the commentators for their comments. i had already said it previously. it puts extra pressure on him. Doesnt mean he cant handle it. if he has some bad games though he will be noticed more. For what is considered a normal haircut by you its strange why many others havent got it. there must be a simple reason for that.

Anyway he played well on saturday and I hope he continues to improve. We need a tall CHB who can play the game.