Koch seems miffed

Re: Koch seems miffed

As a club you'd love to have a senior employee there whose coaching career you just stalled.

St.Carl

"Koch has said his club will match any monies offered to Richardson by St Kilda."

So, Port is prepared to pay a Senior Coach salary to keep him as an Assistant. That sounds like a good enough job reference for me. I hope that we are able to get him.

:D :D :D

St Carl
martymcfly_86

Bloody grandstanding twat. The whole notion of forcing a natural person to fulfill contractual obligations, i.e. seeking a court order for the equitable remedy of specific performance, has been ruled for hundreds of years to be akin to slavery. He is an idiot. 'Releasing' Richardson doesn't make any sense. At best Port can match our offer or rely on whatever break fee they are entitled to under the contract.

"Whoa Doc, this is heavy." - Marty McFly following Ross Lyon's departure

St.Carl wrote:"Koch has said his club will match any monies offered to Richardson by St Kilda."

So, Port is prepared to pay a Senior Coach salary to keep him as an Assistant. That sounds like a good enough job reference for me. I hope that we are able to get him.

The prez cannot make the call on $.
The CEO does that, he signs off on most stuff. And if Keith Thomas is the CEO...
(Not sure what his role is) he said "we're not happy, but the Saints have got a good man and we'll move on"
i.e. Richo goes east.
Done deal.

doggerel

short memory Koch head

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

I think that Richardson still has his family in Melbourne, which means that he is less likely to take a "pay incentive" to stay at Port. Also, in all likelihood, a Contract has already been signed with the Saints.

Wow.

Knew he was a goose, didn't know he was an a-hole too.

WellardSaint wrote:
St.Carl wrote:"Koch has said his club will match any monies offered to Richardson by St Kilda."

The prez cannot make the call on $.
The CEO does that, he signs off on most stuff. And if Keith Thomas is the CEO...
(Not sure what his role is) he said "we're not happy, but the Saints have got a good man and we'll move on"
i.e. Richo goes east.
Done deal.
Yeah he has to discuss it with his Finance bloke first :P

Kernal75

I'm pretty sure Port poached Hinkely from the GC last year after a "drawn out process". He's a flog Kochie, trying to use his media influence to scare us off.

Kernal75 wrote:I'm pretty sure Port poached Hinkely from the GC last year after a "drawn out process". He's a flog Kochie, trying to use his media influence to scare us off.
Hinkley was appointed on Oct 5th, 2012.

martymcfly_86 wrote:Bloody grandstanding twat. The whole notion of forcing a natural person to fulfill contractual obligations, i.e. seeking a court order for the equitable remedy of specific performance, has been ruled for hundreds of years to be akin to slavery. He is an idiot. 'Releasing' Richardson doesn't make any sense. At best Port can match our offer or rely on whatever break fee they are entitled to under the contract.
I agree with all of this. But if there is actually a 6 mth non compete clause we are in murkier waters.

I am assuming we looked at his contract before we made any offers, but this could be an unwelcome wrinkle if Kochie wants to grandstand about it (presumably to extract a bigger break fee).

It's not as if we are flush with either cash or time ...

Koch the flog!
I hope they try to do it as it will show Port to to be the club which stands in the way of its assistants achieving their dream of a head coaching spot! That strategy is sure to attract future coaches going forward!

CEO on AW last night had the right attitude - they are offering him something we cannot , we aren't happy but that is the reality.

Koch go back to hosting an ordinary morning show and insider trading

Kochie obviously grandstanding because Port will end up letting him go becuase they don't want an unhappy employee.

But he does have a point. If it was the other way around, I wouldn't be happy about it.

DK would do well to remember it was all other clubs who allowed the AFL to bail Port out last year

This guy is all about himself...and ratings on his irrelevant show...
Remember this???
This trend of parachuting glamorous breakfast-show hosts into hot spots and making them part of the unfolding narrative dates back to coverage of the Beaconsfield mine collapse, where Koch performed the ultimate ''reporter becomes the story'' stunt by hopping into the ambulance taking rescued miner Todd Russell to hospital.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv- ... z2kZUknCfD

This is clearly a man that doesn't know when to shut up and let things be!

His outburst this morning has ensured that the entire footy world will be reporting about what happened on Sunrise! If he was really concerned and really adamant then he'd have called Summers and talked it out on the phone.

It will all amount to nothing and we will announce the coach this week!

Very Tacky Kochie.
As I said in another thread, he wouldnt be saying anything if it was collingwood, or carlton.
Just a poor excuse to throw his "weight" around.
He would have gained a bit more respect if he had of said "we were where stkilda are not that long ago. We are devo to loose Richo, but he is a great man and will be a great
asset for the STKFC. We wish him well for his senior coaching appointment, except ofcourse when we play the saints. While the timing is not great, the club is always bigger than the individual and we will seek out the best available applicant to support Ken"

Dont be a friggin sook kochie, and dont undo all the good work you have done by being a loud mouth twat

This is from a president of a club that can barely get 20,000 people to a home final!!!! He is a grandstanding flog of the highest order.

Kochie is a good bloke just wet behind the ears regarding footie admin stuff

magnifisaint wrote:Kochie is a good bloke just wet behind the ears regarding footie admin stuff
Nope! My opinion of him has not changed one iota from yesterday.
He is a grandstanding, ambulance chasing big mouth who is in danger of becoming irrelevant very quickly.
But you're entitled to your view, of course.

martymcfly_86

SemperFidelis wrote:
martymcfly_86 wrote:Bloody grandstanding twat. The whole notion of forcing a natural person to fulfill contractual obligations, i.e. seeking a court order for the equitable remedy of specific performance, has been ruled for hundreds of years to be akin to slavery. He is an idiot. 'Releasing' Richardson doesn't make any sense. At best Port can match our offer or rely on whatever break fee they are entitled to under the contract.
I agree with all of this. But if there is actually a 6 mth non compete clause we are in murkier waters.

I am assuming we looked at his contract before we made any offers, but this could be an unwelcome wrinkle if Kochie wants to grandstand about it (presumably to extract a bigger break fee).

It's not as if we are flush with either cash or time ...
Wish I could see the contract!

Very interesting scenario - Port will damage its reputation by refusing to terminate the contract and forcing Allan into a 6 month non-compete period. St Kilda will damage its reputation by refusing to engage with Port and poaching a senior executive member in November.

Either way, Allan Richardon's employment at PAFC is over.

"Whoa Doc, this is heavy." - Marty McFly following Ross Lyon's departure

saintbrat wrote:DK would do well to remember it was all other clubs who allowed the AFL to bail Port out last year

That is completley irrelevant.

It's an unwritten code between clubs to release assistants when they secure a senior coaching position. A club might stop a move one day.

It's the timing that is inconvenient for them, especailly after he told Port that he was not interested.

Fair enough too.

He apparently told the Power he was not interested
but left out the bit about his manager speaking with us for 2 weeks prior.
Not lying, just not telling em the entire story.

Kochie trying to be ed...

SainterK wrote:Kochie trying to be ed...
Koch ed?