Mav Weller

CeilidhSaint

Mav Weller

Apart from obvious issues with a hokey name, should we have some interest in delisted Sun Maverick Weller?
Midfield depth is needed with Hayes and Jones not going to be around much longer.

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
rexy

Re: Mav Weller

Thought he looked good in their first year, more of a HBF type from memory? Obviously hasn't come on, is aTassie boy from memory, long way from home on he GC!

Maybe this year?
sax

He had 27 disposals and got fourth best against GWS yesterday.

He played 13 games last year and only went under 90% efficiency twice.

Over his career has averaged just over 14 possessions a game at about 85% efficiency.

Probably needs to get a bit more of it, but hasn't played in the middle a lot, mainly down back.

He can definitely win his own footy. Might be worth a look.

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296
rexy

Would have thought they could package him in a trade rather than delist?

Maybe this year?
Hemi Baxter

To me Joel Wilkinson is a better player. Dashing and creative at his best.

At worst hopeless.... Wilkinson

The Weller boys are from my neck of the woods.... Great football family, great servants of the Burnie Hawks/Dockers... He'd definitely be tough coming from west park!

Mav was Top Ten rated as a 17yo... Not sure what the issue was... Perhaps he didn't have a great deal of development left...

Middo

BigMart wrote:At worst hopeless.... Wilkinson

The Weller boys are from my neck of the woods.... Great football family, great servants of the Burnie Hawks/Dockers... He'd definitely be tough coming from west park!

Mav was Top Ten rated as a 17yo... Not sure what the issue was... Perhaps he didn't have a great deal of development left...
Please now you're saying your from Tassie ...Don't tell me you know Darren Weller ...?

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

I've always said I'm from Tassie?! Well known on SS never kept that a secret, why would I??

Darren, I think is the one who played CHB for the Burnie Hawks, early/mid 90's

I actually think I met him, or another Weller.. In fact I think it was another brother or Cousin on WA

Middo

BigMart wrote:I've always said I'm from Tassie?! Well known on SS never kept that a secret, why would I??

Darren, I think is the one who played CHB for the Burnie Hawks, early/mid 90's

I actually think I met him, or another Weller.. In fact I think it was another brother or Cousin on WA
Yeah joking about Tassie as that's where I'm from ...Played against Darren when I was playing with Hobart in the Statewide league ..went to Darwin with him as a kid in under 16s...

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

Yes to Mav... has been played out of position- a victim of having too many other kids who play a similar spot in front of him.

Was played as a back flanker or defensive forward too often. Could thrive as a inside mid who loves a goal.

Get him...

When can delisted blokes be signed as a 'delisted free agent'?

Animal Enclosure wrote:Yes to Mav... has been played out of position- a victim of having too many other kids who play a similar spot in front of him.

Was played as a back flanker or defensive forward too often. Could thrive as a inside mid who loves a goal.

Get him...

When can delisted blokes be signed as a 'delisted free agent'?
'

Friday 1 November - Gillette AFL delisted player free agency period (1) begins.

eppo67

Guys l am a Suns member and have been to every game. Animal is spot on he will be a very handy midfield inclusion for Saints l can't believe we delisted him in fact. Will be a gun in a short time at Saints l reckon. As Animal said played out of position because of all the top 10 draft picks in front of him. Get him Saints!

Talking about a player from Burnie on today of all days. :roll:

No to all of them. if the GC thought they could play then they would have tried to trade them and yes i know some delisted players make it back into the AFL but 99% dont.

Normally delisted are worth nothing, but GC need to get their list down, so they have to make harder than normal calls...one of the reasons we got Hickey....

Are they actually delisted or can they still trade them and will be delisted after the trade period?
Could be nothing but they may do a Steven King type trade to help him to the club of his choice....

maverick wrote:Normally delisted are worth nothing, but GC need to get their list down, so they have to make harder than normal calls...one of the reasons we got Hickey....

Are they actually delisted or can they still trade them and will be delisted after the trade period?
Could be nothing but they may do a Steven King type trade to help him to the club of his choice....

No these guys are delisted. They have no hold over them at all now.

Worth consideration, like 150 others..... Is he the next best player available? He's better than his time at GC I know that...

BigMart wrote:He's better than his time at GC I know that...
Why is that?

Mav Weller could be worth a look, strong player. In Watters first year, leading up to the drafts, he had some interest in G Coast other delisting Kyal Horsley originally from WA.

Not sure how good they are, but both these guys had limited opportunity behind onballers like Ablett, Swallow, O'Meara and Prestia +

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

Why is that?

You would have to look at him or you would be crazy. i just don't under stand why they delisted instead of trading. Must be so gorged on picks they can't be bothered.

Why is that?

You would have to look at him or you would be crazy. i just don't under stand why they delisted instead of trading. Must be so gorged on picks they can't be bothered.
Maybe they knew clubs wouldnt rate them. 130 players will be delisted this year with probably 5 at the most picked up.

Why is that?

Totally, we should definitely look at him and everyone available…

Just wondering why Marto thinks he's better than his last 3 years at GCS.

If he was worth trading, they would have definitely tried. They drove pretty hard bargains on Caddy & Hickey.

Maybe they knew clubs wouldnt rate them. 130 players will be delisted this year with probably 5 at the most picked up.
He was one of the highly rated 17 yo and was being talked up, his numbers are as good as plenty of others. Caddy hadn't done much more and was sold on potential and still won them a first rounder.

All I'm saying is you understand some of the others but Weller was a potential superstar a year ago.

My take on this is that they have to shrink their list. If they think they are only going to get a second rounder for him, do they really need a late second round pick? They'll probably only use three picks anyway and may have plans to get a late first rounder from someone else on another trade.

True Believer wrote:My take on this is that they have to shrink their list. If they think they are only going to get a second rounder for him, do they really need a late second round pick? They'll probably only use three picks anyway and may have plans to get a late first rounder from someone else on another trade.
Yes but they could on-trade or downgrade any picks they receive…

They could sweeten a deal for someone like Gilbert with their second round and maybe throw in a fourth rounder from a trade of a young fringe player like Weller?

It's all currency.