Scotty on the couch tonight

Scotty on the couch tonight on foxtel

Re: Scotty on the couch tonight

on now

first question- age of leaders ......

Hole in list
from 2008 --- 2010 - 23 recruited and only 5 left on the list

Hickey- why not in NZ_ he's managing an condition when playing well consistently he will play
kosi had been playing well at Sandy

Sipposs--/......................... sorry now I can't type as fast as Scott is speaking......
between Arryn and Scott what he needs to work on and not elaborating- he's working hard...

Other topics covered

will fill in later or others can

Blocking of the ball

Ahmeds run up

Milney

Tom Lee. ( was one of triplicate) power needs to build up 18 mth off, Good footy head- 21 But needs to build up

Spencer's run - as good was Jimmy's double dummy- Spencer is good But needs to continue to work

and all lasted less than 15 minutes- struth short changed..... Cotch got longer last week.

Scott the media performer...

I just don't see it and never have unfortunately. I don't see how some on here think he is so good in terms of media...

I feel he twists answers, and lacks a bit of substance in his responses.

Not a knock on his coaching - which is obviously still a debate in my eyes... But focusing on his media performances since he started.

Spinner wrote:Scott the media performer...

II feel he twists answers, and lacks a bit of substance in his responses.

don't they all? Protect their own and give the spin--

some speak of aliens and others of philosphers....

Doesn't inspire confidence - he is full of fluff in my view...

I saw hickey and siposs at airport so they still travelled

Carn Saints

WinnersOnly wrote:Doesn't inspire confidence - he is full of fluff in my view...
Hopefully it's too early to tell. There may be more substance than meets the eye. One thing is for certain, though. He's going to be thoroughly tested before the season's out.

I can understand why people think that about Watters but it's a bit harsh and who gives a sh!t what he sounds like. As long as he is getting through to the players on what needs to be done. I've heard him speak quite well at times.

Who are we comparing him to? Thomo was considerd a smarmy smart arse.

I remember a mate a mine saying that Rosco sounded like he was on rohypnol very early on in his career. By the time he left the Saints, his media was a strength.

What about Mick Malthouse? Is he any better? He sounds like a cantankerous old codger with a bad case of hemorrhoids but the players love him.

Spinner wrote:Scott the media performer...

II feel he twists answers, and lacks a bit of substance in his responses.

don't they all? Protect their own and give the spin--

some speak of aliens and others of philosphers....

They all do to a degree just when he does it comes across as lacking something.

Not sure what that something is, what whatever it is its not impressive to me.

WinnersOnly wrote:Doesn't inspire confidence - he is full of fluff in my view...

Yeah. Just some of his logic. Goes on and attempts to install a bit of explanation, but seems to go in circles and leaves me a bit worried.

SaintPav wrote:I can understand why people think that about Watters but it's a bit harsh and who gives a sh!t what he sounds like. As long as he is getting through to the players on what needs to be done. I've heard him speak quite well at times.

I remember a mate a mine saying that Rosco sounded like he was on rohypnol very early on in his career. By the time he left the Saints, his media was a strength.

What about Mick Malthouse? Is he any better? He sounds like a cantankerous old codger with a bad case of hemorrhoids but the players love him.

So you agree as you can understand what I see.

Exactly not a knock on coaching ability, but lets be honest, that's still a very debatable topic.

Skildir

Terry Wallace was considered a consummate media performer as a coach and we know how that ended.

SaintPav wrote:I can understand why people think that about Watters but it's a bit harsh and who gives a sh!t what he sounds like. As long as he is getting through to the players on what needs to be done. I've heard him speak quite well at times.

So you agree as you can understand what I see.

Exactly not a knock on coaching ability, but lets be honest, that's still a very debatable topic.
To a point but SW is still a new coach and has a long road ahead given were we are at. Like I said, he has come across really well at times and may loosen up a bit over time but the way he speaks may reflect were we are at as a club and the really difficult road we have ahead over the next three years. He's saying all the right things and will give the young guys a chance. Jury is still out on coaching ability but it doesn't help that we are losing.

Now I'm listening to real leaders talk on Q&A. :roll:
Last edited by SaintPav on Mon 29 Apr 2013 11:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintwalsh

I was talking to the players at fan day in Wellington they all spoke with high praise about Scott Watters compared to Ross. Some of them actually had some quite negative words about Ross especially done of the younger players who he failed to play. Tom Hicky and Arryn Sipposs were both in Wellington I spoke two both of them at the Basin reserve. Arryn said he hadn't played all of April.

comes over as honest..a bit protective...doesn't give much away.....pumps up those that deserve it....doesn't talk bullsh!t.......all in all...okay by me....... :D

saintwalsh wrote:I was talking to the players at fan day in Wellington they all spoke with high praise about Scott Watters compared to Ross. Some of them actually had some quite negative words about Ross especially done of the younger players who he failed to play. Tom Hicky and Arryn Sipposs were both in Wellington I spoke two both of them at the Basin reserve. Arryn said he hadn't played all of April.
i think ross actually stuffed up a few who may have had promising careers..derailed them......but ...give a few of them a game.....and look what happens...the rest of them think they are in with a chance and you see a blinder from the guys like sandy's win at the weekend...that never happened under judas.......

I too think he talks in emotives ala Grant Thomas a bit and does seem a tad light on strategically to the point where some match day decisions and selections have left me puzzled but geesh he's got a tough gig IMO.

Try and utilise the old to best abilities and fast track the new...................tough.

i think sipposs will get a game friday night .....if i have a correct take on what scott said.....

I get the impression that SW does that by design though

he simply doesn't seem to want to give anything away. I don't like that but WTF would I know. That's his call

skeptic wrote:. I don't like that but WTF would I know.
never has a truer word been spoken on this forum....... :mrgreen:

saintwalsh wrote:I was talking to the players at fan day in Wellington they all spoke with high praise about Scott Watters compared to Ross. Some of them actually had some quite negative words about Ross especially done of the younger players who he failed to play. Tom Hicky and Arryn Sipposs were both in Wellington I spoke two both of them at the Basin reserve. Arryn said he hadn't played all of April.
due to injury or what?

stinger wrote:comes over as honest..a bit protective...doesn't give much away.....pumps up those that deserve it....doesn't talk bullsh!t.......all in all...okay by me....... :D

yep, i would agree with this.

i like the way scotty talks in the media.

70s sainter

It's about how good his game plan is and his ability to get our players to perform it. Knowing what theyre capsble of and getting every bit out of them. It has nothing to do with his media performance skills. But we all knew that already .