WHY THE HELL...............

.....was Eddie Maguire sitting between Mike Fitzpatrick and Andrew Demetriou at the AFL season launch press conference???

Why not Westaway, why not any other club president? Why was a there a club president at all at that desk?

Too much influence....way too much influence, and a worrying sign given Maguire's recent cosy meeting with his AFL House of Lords presidents' club.

It's all leaving a bitter taste in my mouth. The AFL's wealthier clubs are developing a Wall Street attitude.

Time for us (and the Bulldogs, Kangaroos, & Demons) to be very concerned.

Re: WHY THE HELL...............

It doesn't bother me as long as being a wealthier club means you win the flag more regularly than others. At presnet the Pies are winning a flag every 20-30 years and if it stays that way then all of their money doesn't guarantee flags on a regular basis. Money and power breeds other issues and the Pies are starting to suffer from that as they have always. Be proud to be poor and hopeless!

They had McVeigh do the opening speech which he did an excellent job of.

Another link - Sydney - an AFL puppet club gifted salary cap bonuses to help them win a flag.

Maybe the poor teams need extra salary cap space to help them be more equal.

I heard he wants the AFL logo removed so he can put a pic of himself there with EddieFL under it. Did he tell you how important he is lately.

The AFL have backed themselves into a corner with the special treatment thats been given to Collingwood. Ed was spruiking that 15 years ago Collingwood was a basket case and due to good decisions made by the club Collingwood have turned it around. Who is he kidding? Fifteen years of high draws handed to Collingwood by the AFL that allow almost maximum exposure have got them to where they are now. The AFL have basically used Collingwood as its franchise and has left other clubs in its wake with rubbish draws and deals.

CURLY wrote:The AFL have backed themselves into a corner with the special treatment thats been given to Collingwood. Ed was spruiking that 15 years ago Collingwood was a basket case and due to good decisions made by the club Collingwood have turned it around. Who is he kidding? Fifteen years of high draws handed to Collingwood by the AFL that allow almost maximum exposure have got them to where they are now. The AFL have basically used Collingwood as its franchise and has left other clubs in its wake with rubbish draws and deals.
Amen.

Saints94 wrote:
CURLY wrote:The AFL have backed themselves into a corner with the special treatment thats been given to Collingwood. Ed was spruiking that 15 years ago Collingwood was a basket case and due to good decisions made by the club Collingwood have turned it around. Who is he kidding? Fifteen years of high draws handed to Collingwood by the AFL that allow almost maximum exposure have got them to where they are now. The AFL have basically used Collingwood as its franchise and has left other clubs in its wake with rubbish draws and deals.
Amen.
+2

tweedaletomanning

Saints94 wrote:
Amen.
+ 3

What Ed REALLY said was; Find ways to give a (very little) bit more to the poorer clubs, but under NO CIRCUMSTANCES will I allow you to reduce/remove any of the SPECIAL PRIVLEDGES enjoyed by Eddiewood, otherwise I will have to reduce your salary/bonuses, Mr Demetriou !!

The pies were always the biggest club and by a fair way. How do you explain the rise of the Hawks if that is what does it and how do you explain our pathetic membership after about 8 years of having one of the most Friday night games were most people watch the game. And big deal if eddie is up the front. Once Kennett went he is clearly the most high profile president and of course Eddie will look after the pies first but i can tell you one thing after hearing him today, he at least whats all clubs to survive unlike maybe some other people.

Yes he wants all the clubs to survive so they can play in time slots and grounds Collingwood wont. He also needs someone to beat up on like the Romans.

CURLY wrote:

Yes he wants all the clubs to survive so they can play in time slots and grounds Collingwood wont. He also needs someone to beat up on like the Romans.

Who cares why he wants to survive as long as they think of ways to make them survive and hopefully get bigger.

Having all clubs "survive" helps Eddiewood THRIVE !!

Eastern wrote:Having all clubs "survive" helps Eddiewood THRIVE !!

As I said who cares as long as they all survive.

Yeah fantastic surviving on Eddies scraps letting us play when he decides its ok to.

because they couldnt find westaways' phone number

If the afl is serious about making it a fairer competition then surely they would scrap Sydney's living allowance or whatever its called, and put a salary cap on football department spending because IMO if there is a 6 million difference in total spendings between the rich and the poor it will never be an equal comp which is what we all want, but does Andrew have the balls to do so with Eddie in his ear (tounge in cheek) because as much as Eddie wants an 18 team comp we all know that he really doesnt give a stuff and its all to further advance Collingwood...

CURLY wrote:

Yeah fantastic surviving on Eddies scraps letting us play when he decides its ok to.

We have had our chance to become a bigger club in the last few years. We have blown it completely and are at the stage where we have nearly the lowest number of members in victoria and not even a major sponsor. Im more worried about our club surviving and the whatever the pies do. Dont care about them one little bit. I wish people cared more about our club than putting their energy into something that has nothing to do with us.

As I said the Hawks got bigger without the major fixtures and probably less Friday night games than us over the last 10 years. We have stuffed up for reasons I still fail to understand.

Saints94 wrote:If the afl is serious about making it a fairer competition then surely they would scrap Sydney's living allowance or whatever its called, and put a salary cap on football department spending because IMO if there is a 6 million difference in total spendings between the rich and the poor it will never be an equal comp which is what we all want, but does Andrew have the balls to do so with Eddie in his ear (tounge in cheek) because as much as Eddie wants an 18 team comp we all know that he really doesnt give a stuff and its all to further advance Collingwood...

Eddie wants the living allowance scrapped so I dont get your point. If AD does what Eddie wants then why is there a living allowance. And I disagree on a cap of footy club spending. What would be the point of trying to make your club bigger if you cant spend it anywhere.

Collingwood have the most home games EVERYYEAR why wouldnt you become a member great value for money. Knowing that your club will be playing at prime times WHY your club plays in blockbusters EVERYYEAR WHY wouldnt you become a member? Knowing your club can manipulate the draft and go unpunished knowing your club can manipulate media so you can retain criminals on your list with no scrutiny WHY wouldnt you sign up.

CURLY wrote:Collingwood have the most home games EVERYYEAR why wouldnt you become a member great value for money. Knowing that your club will be playing at prime times WHY your club plays in blockbusters EVERYYEAR WHY wouldnt you become a member? Knowing your club can manipulate the draft and go unpunished knowing your club can manipulate media so you can retain criminals on your list with no scrutiny WHY wouldnt you sign up.

And that has what to do with our club? Nothing at all. By the way every team has 11 home games. Hawthorn have the least home games in Melbourne. Still will get 25K more members than us. The chip on the shoulder and ther paranoia is worrying

CURLY wrote:Collingwood have the most home games EVERYYEAR why wouldnt you become a member great value for money. Knowing that your club will be playing at prime times WHY your club plays in blockbusters EVERYYEAR WHY wouldnt you become a member? Knowing your club can manipulate the draft and go unpunished knowing your club can manipulate media so you can retain criminals on your list with no scrutiny WHY wouldnt you sign up.

And that has what to do with our club? Nothing at all. By the way every team has 11 home games. Hawthorn have the least home games in Melbourne. Still will get 25K more members than us. The chip on the shoulder and ther paranoia is worrying

Hawthorn have two states as home bases of course there membership will be bigger. They play the most games in there home state Collingwood EVERYYEAR. No matter how s*** they are. They play at prime times EVERYYEAR no matter how s*** they are.

70s sainter

Crappy 440 Sunday games come to mind .

CURLY wrote:

Hawthorn have two states as home bases of course there membership will be bigger. They play the most games in there home state Collingwood EVERYYEAR. No matter how s*** they are. They play at prime times EVERYYEAR no matter how s*** they are.

Taking out the 10K for Tassie still leaves them with 15K more than us and they only get 7 actual home games.

GSG

The Hawks got bigger because they got an extremely lucrative compensation when they were forced from Waverley. Unlike the Saints, as with the Etihad deal, got practically nothing compared to the Hawks. To give credit to the Hawks, they used the money wisely.

I don’t think the poorer clubs want charities, just an even deal. Lousy game times/no blockbusters equals no sponsors, as they want maximum exposure. ANZAC game = good revenue – share it around. Equal deals with Etihad – not just a good deal for Essendon. And why should the poorer Melbourne clubs always have to travel more than Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond? Yep we know it – it’s all about money!

There are many ways to help the poorer clubs, but as the Supremo AD just announced yesterday ….. the bigger club will always get the prime time tv spots, that’s the deal with the tv network. This is not necessarily Eddie’s work, just the AFL wanting more and more money.

Sadly, AFL has become a theatre sport.

I’ve already dropped my social club membership and this year will be the last time I have reserved seating. I’ll always be a member, just to support the club, but I can’t see myself going to too many games.