Saints in NZ- April 2013 ( vs Swans)- Vision

Last edited by saintbrat on Thu 20 Sep 2012 7:02pm, edited 3 times in total.

Re: Saints vs Swans in NZ

1 game per year. Great news.
If I have the cash and the time Ill be going for sure! Good times I reckon.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Wed 12 Sep 2012 3:50pm, edited 2 times in total.

Could this mean that we travel interstate one game less a year? Potentially this deal could cost us 4 points a year however the financial benefit will likely outweigh the negatives.

AP Erebus

Old Mate wrote:Could this mean that we travel interstate one game less a year? Potentially this deal could cost us 4 points a year however the financial benefit will likely outweigh the negatives.
No more than Sydney could lose the points. It's not like it's their home ground or anything.

it has been around this time that "Kosi" will headbutt a fence, rip a hamstring or belt someone.
Superboot

Trying to remain open-minded about this.

Have a feeling that, a couple of years in, we'll conclude that it wasn't such a great idea. Hope I'm proven wrong.

sounds great. Easy money for the club. Makes me want to plan a short break over the ditch at that time as well.

Old Mate wrote:Could this mean that we travel interstate one game less a year? Potentially this deal could cost us 4 points a year however the financial benefit will likely outweigh the negatives.
Harden up old mate! :D Eagles/Dockers/Swans/Crows travel interstate every 2nd week. Hasn't harmed them last time I checked.

Don't buy the spin, it's Tassie all over again. That deal arguably cost us a top 2 spot in 2004 and top 4 in 2006 yet we make the same mistake 6 years down the track.

So much for 'Footy First'

dcstkfc wrote:Don't buy the spin, it's Tassie all over again. That deal arguably cost us a top 2 spot in 2004 and top 4 in 2006 yet we make the same mistake 6 years down the track.

Hawthorn are about to win their 2nd flag whilst playing home games in Tassie, not sure if it should be used as an excuse for failure.

shmic_s

Anytime anywhere...

Hopefully more members, more cash, therefor stronger St Kildare FC.

I dont think it will be a ripping success or anything. But for only 1 game per year I think its a good move.
Any more than the 1 game would end in tears. I already have some mates planning the trip.

shmic_s wrote:Anytime anywhere...

Hopefully more members, more cash, therefor stronger St Kildare FC.
Hopefully

Choice

SainterK wrote:Choice
bro

philtee

Like the graphic...
...like putting graphics up!

dcstkfc wrote:Don't buy the spin, it's Tassie all over again. That deal arguably cost us a top 2 spot in 2004 and top 4 in 2006 yet we make the same mistake 6 years down the track.

Hawthorn are about to win their 2nd flag whilst playing home games in Tassie, not sure if it should be used as an excuse for failure.
4 games a year is a legitimate home away from home.

1 is a grab for cash

dcstkfc wrote:

4 games a year is a legitimate home away from home.

1 is a grab for cash
Genuine question here, but how did the Hawks venture come about?

Did they trial a few games there first?

Was it immediately 4 games a year from it's inception?

dcstkfc wrote:4 games a year is a legitimate home away from home.

1 is a grab for cash
Agree… we need to grab anything we can at the moment. 35,000 members after a decade of sustained 'success' says it all.

It started with one game in 2001, then built to 2, 3 and now 4 since 2008.

Admittedly there was always a captive audience in the Apple Isle

Guess the worst that could happen is we get flogged and Sydney ends up getting more support over there as a result, maybe should have happened when we were on top.

Bayside Nick

Launceston is a 50 minute less than $70 flight from Melbourne. NZ is another country several hours flight.

how much $

dcstkfc wrote:

It started with one game in 2001, then built to 2, 3 and now 4 since 2008.

Admittedly there was always a captive audience in the Apple Isle
So the Saints venture could always build into something substantial like 2 games a season or similar?

The Australian economy is getting rocky generally, not just in regards to footy club, it really is the time to get clever or risk losing it all.

I'm not confident sitting pretty and waiting for another premiership will ensure our long term stability, I'm happy for the club to think outside the box and grow the brand, rather than the brand disappear all together.

Griggsy wrote:Guess the worst that could happen is we get flogged and Sydney ends up getting more support over there as a result, maybe should have happened when we were on top.
This won't necessarily happen.

The name Sydney is intrinsically associated with Australia. Supporting a club named St Kilda would be more palatable to our kiwi friends. Besides there’s a St Kilda in NZ; I doubt they’ve got a Sydney.

Both clubs have similar colours but we have the Black which is a colour all Kiwis love.

The kiwis will also be aware that this was our idea and that the Sydney chaps are only coming at our invitation.

Plus we’re great and Sydney suck :P

important to point out that we were the second team into the tassie market and thus would never get the best deal. Sydney are good enough that it does not matter where we played them. Would have rather played the WA sides as that would be a HUGE advatage but happy all the same