Scotty Watters Collingwood traits

Hate to bring up the filth, but I have noticed some of Their gameplan traits being adapted into Saints footy

Most noticeable against the Suns was the occasional attacking down the wing from the kick out almost the entire lenghth of the ground spotting up a lead up target I think it was six accurate lead ups and marks before spotting up the forward.

Our press has definitely moved further up the ground and is more flexible ( I always thought RL kept our press to far in the backline this meant too pressure closer to goal

More blocking for the guy with the ball particularly kicking out of the backline (it used to annoy when the filth took out the man standing the mark)

When we have a ruckman there is a bit more shepperding and creating him a good space to tap to.

Better spread of leg speed( but everyone knew this was a problem)

Playing young players for an extended stint even though they may not be ready. I also expect him to blood some young players in big matches like The filth and bummers do.

That's just a few for starters

I really like the fact he has kept full faith in the playing group whilst maintaining our strong defensive gameplan but bringing in attacking flair and a fair bit of unpredictability. IMO this was malthouses weakness he only had plan A,
Methinks Scotty as plan A B and C

encouraged them to use their natural flair

I like everything I see , players and fans are enjoying their footy again

Re: Scotty Watters Collingwood traits

yeah good post. well written and nice observations.
i reckon u are spot on.

What really stands out to me is the manic spread of our players at stoppages instead of getting numbers over the ball to create more stoppages.

elizabethr

Some valid points but why the sensationalist OP re Collingwood.
just some common sense changes to get away from the previous coach's ''one trick pony"'style of grind em out game plan.
Quite refreshing and invigorating to witness....Mind you i can't wait to see what happens when we do play the FILTH!

nothing to say

Attacking down the wing from the kick out almost the entire length of the ground
As a young player...our home ground always had a strong crosswind. We had firm instructions to kick out to the left, so the ball would tend to drift towards the line for a throw-in.
But if we were lucky, we could go right into the forward zone along that wing.
Re-inventing the wheel ?

Didn't cost a million.
Doesn't say PLEASING.
Doesn't walk funny.
Doesn't wear purple ties.
GAME PLAN IS JUST A BONUS!

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

Good post and +1 for Old Mate.

Superstar

Reckon malthouse used to make a lot of late changes as well.

The pies like to kick it long and deep to Dawes and Cloke, so no surprise Roo and Kosi are kicking goals this year.

Winmar

He's been good so far. Just needs to get us defending again to go with all that attacking. Having said that, Fisher being out hasn't helped.

malthouse was a great manager of the coaches but he needed strong tactical and technical coaches to get him there. his game day coaching wasnt the greatest, hence why his plan b and c were very weak.

not sold on neeld, i think watters is the better of the two

defacto wrote:malthouse was a great manager of the coaches but he needed strong tactical and technical coaches to get him there. his game day coaching wasnt the greatest, hence why his plan b and c were very weak.

not sold on neeld, i think watters is the better of the two
To be fair to Neeld he inherited a pretty inexperienced list that have been on the canvas for sometime. Scotty got a good list with a balance of experience and youth.

whiskers3614 wrote:Didn't cost a million.
Doesn't say PLEASING.
Doesn't walk funny.
Doesn't wear purple ties.
GAME PLAN IS JUST A BONUS!

love your post.....

Very good analysis supersaint. You should post more often

I thought SuperSaints was implying Watters doesn't use toilet paper.

He also brings a much better approach to the media and performs well in the media. The players attend more post match pressers and in general are out their promoting the club. Something that other mob does well.

Stillwaiting wrote:He also brings a much better approach to the media and performs well in the media. The players attend more post match pressers and in general are out their promoting the club. Something that other mob does well.

I think you will find the players attending the pressers is new to the AFL this year. They also have a player only one on Mondays I beleive.

Stillwaiting wrote:He also brings a much better approach to the media and performs well in the media. The players attend more post match pressers and in general are out their promoting the club. Something that other mob does well.

its mandatory that a player also attends the post match conference.

but he does have a better approach to the media (in his first year as coach) unl=ike ro$$ where he had to be tsught how to perfrom for the media.

Majority

Scott has multi media experience.
This includes a stint as a radio commentator at 6pr, and a journalist at the Sydney Morning Herald.

Here is an article that Scotty wrote back in 2006.

http://www.smh.com.au/news/afl/the-day- ... 68464.html