The boy from Lorne

"I had a good pre-season. It's probably the first full pre-season I've ever had, so it's really improved my fitness. That's helped me get more time in the midfield and I'm loving that. Just loving being at the club, really." :)

http://heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-news/i ... 6370429056

Re: The boy from Lorne

Did I hear correctly in the video that Ahmed Saad lives with Grant Thomas and family?

kosifantutti wrote:Did I hear correctly in the video that Ahmed Saad lives with Grant Thomas and family?
Yep :D

Ross who?

For those who don't have the Herald Sun digital pass try this link:
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/if ... 6370429056

Loving Jack's work ATM. He really is developing into one of my favorite players. He has explosive pace, is hard, kicks goals, wins his own ball inside and outside. His kicking is improving with every game and I think is definitely going to be an A grade elite AFL mid before much longer.
I know he has had OP(which may have affected his kicking IMO) and been restricted in past seasons.Hopefully that is all behind him and he can really kick on.
Really happy with the comment that Jack made about loving being at the club. I had heard around the traps that Jack was contemplating leaving at the end of last year. Now that RL is gone it seems Jack is free and loving it! Hmmm.... :roll:

Go Jack!

Blake Acres fan club VIP

If my memory serves me correctly the cats were planning on drafting him but we jumped in before they got to their pick. Glad he's a saint going to be a very, very good center man. Would have hated to seeing him next to Selwood

kosifantutti wrote:Did I hear correctly in the video that Ahmed Saad lives with Grant Thomas and family?
Yep :D
Ahmed is best mates with one of Grant's sons. They played together at Northern Bullants last year !!

oh when the

Grant loves saints, just needs to shut up sometimes

He comes from Lorne?

SainterK wrote:He comes from Lorne?
I'm just waiting for SportsNewsFirst's Kim Hogwart to reveal that Jack's actually a NSW boy :P

Is he really from Lorne?

SainterK wrote:He comes from Lorne?
I'm just waiting for SportsNewsFirst's Kim Hogwart to reveal that Jack's actually a NSW boy :P

and that he is going to GWS

But seriously he is really playing some good footy and seems to have improved his disposal. He along with all the new blokes that we have improved under Watters mean we have a very good core group in their early 20's
Thankfully Watters came along when he did

elizabethr

What pray tell is the significance of Lorne?

nothing to say

No, he lives' with grant thomas's son.

elizabethr wrote:What pray tell is the significance of Lorne?
You obviously don't listen to this bloke :P

i love jack steven a LOT
but what is the obsession with F_HEAD commentators that he is from Lorne. BT is a very very very ordinary bloke.

saintly wrote:

Who lives at home.

noddy04

I truly try not to. I used to think he was ok as a commentator but no he is just another self indulging ex footballer who thinks his s hit doesnt stink.

noddy04 wrote:

I truly try not to. I used to think he was ok as a commentator but no he is just another self indulging ex footballer who thinks his s hit doesnt stink.
Gotta agree with that. Taylor and his commentary make me want to throw a brick through my own TV.

The guy is a massive twat

SAN KILDA

Grrrr!

What makes it all the better is that Collingwood wanted him, but we snuck in and pinched him from under their noses. He dominated local footy with Jaxon (yes, that's the correct spelling) Barham, son of Ricky. Pies got Jaxon, we got Jack, who by the way hails from Lorne, for those who didn't know.

Interesting to look back at this old story from the local rag down this way :D

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/art ... ports.html

LORNE midfielder Jack Steven has won the Geelong Falcons' best and fairest award for 2007.

The 17-year-old finished ahead of Andrew Scott and Jaxson Barham, who will be drafted by Collingwood under the father-son rule at next month's national draft.

Steven played 15 games for the Falcons this season, averaging 20 possessions a game and kicking 17 goals.

He played for Vic Country in the Under-18 national championships in July and when the Falcons' season ended in the first week of the TAC Cup finals, went back to the Colac league and kicked four goals in Lorne's grand final win.

Falcons' regional manager Michael Turner said Steven had given himself every chance of being drafted this season, despite being bottom-aged and able to play in TAC Cup again next season.

``He had a great year. All AFL clubs would be aware he won our best and fairest, so interest is growing,'' Turner said.

``Our boys going to the draft are pretty strong chances. We're hoping Jack gets drafted, he's not a certainty, I'd say he'd be about a 60-40 chance.'

I reckon he's a season away from being elite....About where Dangerfield was last year before he went absolutely nuts this season.

Old Mate wrote:I reckon he's a season away from being elite....About where Dangerfield was last year before he went absolutely nuts this season.
Jack's coming along well, though I don't think he'll get to a Dangerfield level… We can live in hope though!

Old Mate wrote:I reckon he's a season away from being elite....About where Dangerfield was last year before he went absolutely nuts this season.
Jack's coming along well, though I don't think he'll get to a Dangerfield level… We can live in hope though!
If Jack keeps improving then I think that's the next step for him. Right now he's getting around the 20-25 disposals....I think he'll be consistently getting 30 touches plus next year. He's still only 22. An interesting comparison might be D Swan at the same age.....It's all about building a tank over a number of pre-seasons.

saintly wrote:
He lives in Grant's garage actually.