Under 18's today

Not sure if it is on TV but today there are probably 7 dragons players playing today that will be drafted this year. As I have a family friend playing for Sandy I have gone to a few games this year.
Players to watch are Liam Sumner who should go to GWS in the 10. Liam is a very good outside type small midfielder with good skills and tackles hard and also one of my Daughters best friend.
Then there is Jackson Paine. Dont know much about him as he has played only a few games due to school.
Ben Darrou is a CHB with a booming kick. Similar to Jimmy in buld and skills. An Ormond boy who will go later the draft.
Sam Frost is another who may go. Fast for a tall backman and nice skills. Another Ormond boy and a lat pick or Rookie for him.
Alex Woodward is a small onballer that should go later in the draft. In and under player and second in the MOrrish Medal this year.
Jackson Coleman, son of Glen, will go later in the draft. Overage player who is a leading forward. Also very good cricketer for Melbourne.
Then there is A gut called Beech. A tall ruckman that may be rookied.
And the kid I love but will not go because of height, Anthony Anastasio. Only 168cm but may be the fastest small forward I have ever seen. Only played footy 3 years and also 6th in the Morrish Medal.
Seb Gotch also plays for Oakleigh. Son of Brad and is another small forward. Will not go in the draft but loves footy over cricket however he also happened to captain the Australian under 19 cricket side last year. A gun crickerter for the Dees and hopefully eventually Australia.

Thanks for that plug.

Although I'd rather be playing in the GF I love this time of the year and the lead up to the Draft.

Leo.J

So Liam could end up at the Saints through the Goddard trade...

You would get some great inside news Plugger.

Re: Under 18's today

plugger66 wrote: And the kid I love but will not go because of height, Anthony Anastasio. Only 168cm but may be the fastest small forward I have ever seen. Only played footy 3 years and also 6th in the Morrish Medal.
Second time I have heard this kids name mentioned.

With he compromised draft will a small player have more of a chance, or is he just too small?

Can he play in other position where marking is not as critical? or is a crumbing small forward who can burn off an opponent on the lead?

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
howlinwolf

There is some commentary on the game on SEN now.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

which TAC team was lenny assisting at?

saintbrat wrote:which TAC team was lenny assisting at?
Not just Lenny. Milney & Kosi too. Could be others. I think a combo of Sandi & Dandy !!

The only way we would trade Goddard is for the number 1 pick to get Johnny Patton. His family are heavily involved in the saints and will have been on the radar for sometime. He is a captain and CHF in the mold of Rooey and will be an absolute gun. Has a younger brother aswell that may come through in the next couple of years.

lyonhearted

Agree with you about Anthony Anastasio Plugger; the kid is a livewire and is the logical replacement for Milney. He lights up the footy field with some of the stuff he does, he is lightning quick, knows where the goals are and is a brilliant tackler.

I know size counts against him but look at Blair at Collingwood, Dalhaus at Bulldogs..... Scary thing is that he's only been playing AFL for 3 years after making the transition from Soccer; 'Red', as he's nicknamed could be a ripper if he's given a chance.

lyonhearted wrote:Agree with you about Anthony Anastasio Plugger; the kid is a livewire and is the logical replacement for Milney. He lights up the footy field with some of the stuff he does, he is lightning quick, knows where the goals are and is a brilliant tackler.

I know size counts against him but look at Blair at Collingwood, Dalhaus at Bulldogs..... Scary thing is that he's only been playing AFL for 3 years after making the transition from Soccer; 'Red', as he's nicknamed could be a ripper if he's given a chance.
Why is he Red? Is he a ranga?

Down at etihad at the moment. Anastasio looks good. Kid can run. Good skills. Couple of others I like the look of however this is the first time I've seen any of them. Love the way Anastasio follows up. If anyone wants a view on anyone specific I'll focus on them in the last quarter.

lyonhearted

lyonhearted wrote:Agree with you about Anthony Anastasio Plugger; the kid is a livewire and is the logical replacement for Milney. He lights up the footy field with some of the stuff he does, he is lightning quick, knows where the goals are and is a brilliant tackler.

Why is he Red? Is he a ranga?
Yep, bright orange actually, that's what I meant when I said he lights up the footy field :D Bit of a Gary Moorcroft lookalike.

Must say. Kicking for goal better than most afl players.

Woodward blinder in third and fourth quarters after being quiet early. Anastasio game saving smother followed by hardball get and quick handball to give sandy the last goal and the game.

well done to the Sandy Dragons- sounded exciting via radio

saintslegendLH

I'm a bottom Ager with the dragons now and sumner jacko Paine al Woodward Benny darou Jackson Coleman and sam frost are all a good chance to be picked up. Sumners attacking game is amazing, however his work rate and run down tackles are what will get him drafted. Would love him at saints. Jackson Paine and Jackson Coleman could be good pickups for the saints as forward options. Both are well built already. Another option is Fletcher Roberts who may get rookied, kicked 4 today and is a mobile forward/ ruck.
But jeez anthony (red) is exciting. Brilliant game last week and another good one today. Doubt he will be picked up though.

SaintSimmo

I know a few of the boys that played today (curran, greene, frost)

I reckon toby greene is a great prospect, very tough player and is a ball magnet, however, he is a bit of a d***head. I reckon he will go first round for sure, possibly to gws or freo

Sainter for life.
goddardisgod

If we for some reason suddenly went into zones, I think we'ld have been very happy from what I saw on the stream.

Had a look at todays game. It was a fantastic game of footy. Great skills and pressure. Thought Fletcher Roberts was best for Sandy with Ben Darrou again doing a great job in the backline. Sam Frost was ordinary but changed the game when he went into the ruck in the last quarter. Sumner was OK and Jackson paine was great especially early. Red was again incredible to watch, he would have laid 10 tackles and set up 2 important goals in the last quarter. Viney got BOG and had 41 possessions for Oakleigh. Geene is a good player for them as well. I would say 12 from the game will get drafted one way or another.

PLUGGER14

fingers wrote:Must say. Kicking for goal better than most afl players.
They're probably allowed to practice it at training!!

PLUGGER14 wrote:
fingers wrote:Must say. Kicking for goal better than most afl players.
They're probably allowed to practice it at training!!

Of the players mentioned here, one of the better phantom drafts on BF has them being drafted at:

Sumner 13
Greene 21
Frost 28
Paine 40
Darrou 72

Guess when your team is out of the finals - all there is to look forward to is the Trade and Nat Draft :shock:
(and the appt of a new coach)

Hold your ground :shock:
Liam_G

Greene will go 1st Round, without doubt. Would love to snare him.

saintslegendLH

Darou should go earlier. Very reliable defender + a great attacking game.