International Rules - 2 Saints + 1

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
The Western Bulldogs, Fremantle, Melbourne, St Kilda, Collingwood and Geelong have two representatives apiece while the Brisbane Lions, Adelaide, Essendon and Richmond each have one player.
St Kilda's Sam Gilbert and Montagna will also make the trip.
The team will gather together in Melbourne next Friday before departure.

The first Test will be played at Limerick on Saturday October 23 and the second at Croke Park in Dublin a week later
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 08 Oct 2010 9:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hope they don't get injured.

Do the players nominate themselves or are they just selected with no prior consulatation?

#1GILL

dcstkfc wrote:Hope they don't get injured.

Do the players nominate themselves or are they just selected with no prior consulatation?
It used to be pretty close to the AA side that we would send over. But nowadays it seems that they just ask around to see who's keen and then just build a side.

Joey played last time, and I'm pretty sure he was our only one. I know Roo and Dal have played in the past. Max has also.

#1GILL wrote:
dcstkfc wrote:Hope they don't get injured.

It used to be pretty close to the AA side that we would send over. But nowadays it seems that they just ask around to see who's keen and then just build a side.

Joey played last time, and I'm pretty sure he was our only one. I know Roo and Dal have played in the past. Max has also.
BJ played in 06. Milney in 02. Lenny 03.

Good to see 2 of our players selected, but Malthouse should have been stripped of his role as the international coach instead of the poultry $7000 fine for calling Milne a rapist out on the ground.

He lied and to me the $7000 fine is just not good enough

stewmac

St Fidelius wrote:Good to see 2 of our players selected, but Malthouse should have been stripped of his role as the international coach instead of the poultry $7000 fine for calling Milne a rapist out on the ground.

He lied and to me the $7000 fine is just not good enough
Chicken that cost $7000 ?

would I be correct in thinking that there will be a Third St Kilda Player playing in this game? :wink: :?:

saintbrat wrote:would I be correct in thinking that there will be a Third St Kilda Player playing in this game? :wink: :?:
And, could he be playing for the opposition? :wink: !!

he is ' being considered'
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/spo ... 70177.html
Tohill, meanwhile, will stage a final trial game in Limerick on Saturday before announcing his 30-strong squad early next week. Tohill currently has 45 players on his provisional panel, but this will be cut after Saturday.

Two former Kerry players now part of the Australian code – Tadhg Kennelly and Tommy Walsh – are in line to make the final cut, with Kennelly particularly keen to play having missed out on the 2008 series in Australia through injury.
Games are Oct 23 and 30

I'm just trying to imagine Sam Gilbert kick a round ball :!:

Furtius Quo Rdelious
Beej

More of this please:

Come on Aussies, g'wan and batter dem fookin' Oirish loike.

edit: Chris Johnson has to be one of the hardest and nastiest pieces of work I've ever seen on a footy field.

Great footballer.
Last edited by Beej on Fri 08 Oct 2010 9:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

karnak

Sam Gilbert kicking an oval one is hard enough to imagine.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

Sam23

Wish none of our players played.

It's irrelevant and would rather them not risk injury.

Goddard.
Pwoit

bigred wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=41R0Gmlj ... re=related

More moves than our forward line.
You go too much time on your hands hehe

Beej

bigred wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=41R0Gmlj ... re=related

More moves than our forward line.
She's pretty good, I enjoyed that.

More entertaining than our game plan.

Sam23 wrote:Wish none of our players played.

Totally agree.
Though would be happy for the Tomminator to play.

But Monty and Gilbert should have a rest.
Let's face it - the competition is TOTALLY MEANINGLESS !!

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Sam23 wrote:Wish none of our players played.

Totally agree.
Though would be happy for the Tomminator to play.

But Monty and Gilbert should have a rest.
Let's face it - the competition is TOTALLY MEANINGLESS !!
Yeah they should have selected the Tommynator.
He now knows how to play both codes and kick both balls.
He would have been a valuable player for the AFL in this hybrid game.

He possibly will star now he's had the year Ace- as he's likely to be selected for the Irish...

saintbrat wrote:He possibly will star now he's had the year Ace- as he's likely to be selected for the Irish...
Hope he gets a run and smashes the Aussies!!!
He's gonna be good this boy.

Iceman234 wrote:
saintbrat wrote:He possibly will star now he's had the year Ace- as he's likely to be selected for the Irish...
as long as he doesn't target his mates and only smashes others :)

Iceman234 wrote:
as long as he doesn't target his mates and only smashes others :)
Reckon Gilbo's a good enough mate of Tommy's to get out of his way and Joey won't mind the hard stuff anyway :wink:

LennyBoy

Does anyone have any interest in this series?

Poochy 1 2 3 4 and 5 should be reinstated!
Beej

LennyBoy wrote:Does anyone have any interest in this series?
It's a lot more interesting than the Commonwealth Games, that is for sure.

LennyBoy

Beej wrote:
LennyBoy wrote:Does anyone have any interest in this series?
It's a lot more interesting than the Commonwealth Games, that is for sure.
Whats the highest attendance so far at the Games that this series needs to be beat. Also remember when that dog ran on when we had Luke Ball playing for us. :lol:

Poochy 1 2 3 4 and 5 should be reinstated!