Likely Week One Schedule

DOIT4BANGER

Likely Week One Schedule

Not sure if this has been posted but does anyone know what day we're likely to play in the first week of the finals? Fri, Sat or Sun?

Moorabbin Saints

Apparently something was in the Herald Sun today.

Friday Night: Collingwood v Bulldogs
Saturday Arvo: St Kilda v Geelong
Saturday Night: Sydney v Carlton
Sunday: Fremantle v Hawthorn

Bit surprising as I thought Collingwood would get an extended break.

'Because we've got unfinished business'
....................Official Saintsational Banner Designer....................

beauty...
happy with saturday

OneEyedSainter77

Moorabbin Saints wrote:Apparently something was in the Herald Sun today.

That is ridiculous....

The tools at the Hun are clueless. Swap Friday and Sunday around I reckon.

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:

That is ridiculous....

Exactly...no way will they give the top team a 6 day break.

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:

That is ridiculous....

I reckon we will be swapping Friday and Saturday. I dont think a main final will be playing Sunday as the loser only gets a 6 day break.

OneEyedSainter77

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:

That is ridiculous....

I reckon we will be swapping Friday and Saturday. I dont think a main final will be playing Sunday as the loser only gets a 6 day break.
They did it the last three years which is why i think they are likely to do it again.

However I think your way is the second most likely.

The Herald Sun guess is way off...

You would think Ch 10 would be just mildly keen to get Collingwood onto the Sat night slot

OneEyedSainter77

saint66au wrote:You would think Ch 10 would be just mildly keen to get Collingwood onto the Sat night slot
Channel ten doesn't have a say in finals sheduling though do they?

Isn't it all up to the AFL?

Never say never lol

TV is the reason one side has 24hrs less to prepare for a GF than the other

Stranger things have happened

Gabba

Wouldn't be surprised if ratings were factored in...

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:
saint66au wrote:You would think Ch 10 would be just mildly keen to get Collingwood onto the Sat night slot

I doubt it. They would work together.

OneEyedSainter77

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:

Oh. I didn't know that. It does make sense though that they would factor ratings and what the TV stations want. Do they also ask club representatives?

SaintSimmo

If we make it to the prelim (which we will) does anyone know whether it will be on friday night or saturday night? Because i am looking at flying over to watch the saturday night prelim and the Grand Final :D :D

Sainter for life.

OneEyedSainter77 wrote:

Oh. I didn't know that. It does make sense though that they would factor ratings and what the TV stations want. Do they also ask club representatives?[/quote

I really doubt that.

in 08 1 v 4 played sunday arvo?
same with 09.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

SaintSimmo wrote:If we make it to the prelim (which we will) does anyone know whether it will be on friday night or saturday night? Because i am looking at flying over to watch the saturday night prelim and the Grand Final :D :D
It depends on what Prelim we play (1st or 2nd Prelim), and when we play in week 1 of the finals.

Scenarios:
Week 1 if we play on the Friday or Saturday
--We win: Saturday Prelim
--We lose: Week 2 play Friday and then a Friday Prelim

Week 1 if we play on the Sunday (unlikely in my opinion)
--We win: Friday Prelim
--We lose: Week 2 play Sat and then a Saturday prelim

Having said that, it also depends on what game they play on the Sunday of week 1.

Realistically, we will have a better idea on Sunday night.

Saint_Ash

I would be very surprised if this happens. The AFL have said in the past if you finish top you get at least a 7 day break and with the Colliewobbles finishing top you can guarantee Eddie will kick up a huge stink if they have to play Friday night (and the AFL won't want that going into the finals).

If a game gets played in Perth, I doubt they would play it on Sunday as the winner would have a 6 day break and a long flight over to Melbourne.

Based on the games above, I would guess the following

Friday Night: Fremantle v Hawthorn (Winner gets 7 day break)
Saturday Arvo: St Kilda v Geelong (Loser gets 6 day break but no flight)
Saturday Night: Sydney v Carlton (Winner 7 day break)
Sunday: Collingwood v Bulldogs (Loser 6 day break but no flight)

saint vince

saintdooley wrote:in 08 1 v 4 played sunday arvo?
same with 09.
They needed to do this because of round 22 schedule. Hence why they changed it this year. I think it will be us on Friday night and Collingwood saturday night and the other two will be saturday day and sunday day.

I am pretty sure they would want the two best games to be the two night games.

I hope we play Friday night or Sunday..

An exceptionally stupid mate is getting married on Saturday!

Saint_Ash

Another thing to consider:

IF Carlton were to knock off Freo on Friday night the games would be as follows:

Collingwood V Western Bulldogs (MCG)
Geelong V St Kilda (MCG)
Sydney V Hawthorn (SCG or ANZ)
Carlton V Fremantle (MCG or Etihad)

The AFL never play in Sydney on a friday night (although that week the NRL is in Brisbane and Gold Coast) and they generally like ANZ games to be played on the Sat night to maximise the crowd in that big stadium.

So i'm guessing:

Fri Night: Carl V Frem
Sat Avo: Gee V St K
Sat Night: Syd V Haw
Sun Avo: Coll V WB

saint3d

Animal Enclosure wrote:I hope we play Friday night or Sunday..

An exceptionally stupid mate is getting married on Saturday!
STBY but I think Saturday afternoon would be the best time for the team.

saint vince wrote:
saintdooley wrote:in 08 1 v 4 played sunday arvo?
same with 09.
They needed to do this because of round 22 schedule. Hence why they changed it this year. I think it will be us on Friday night and Collingwood saturday night and the other two will be saturday day and sunday day.

I am pretty sure they would want the two best games to be the two night games.
All about TV ratings - if 2 interstate games then they will be Saturday night and Sunday Cannot play Sat day in WA ( WAFL) or NSW( Rugby League starts early game at 5 andbeing at ANZ also.

Carlton winning could be the curve ball

Tom_Aus

I think we will get the saturday arvo game, and Pies v bulldogs will be on the sunday. Same schedule to last year