conspiracy theories ruined!

shmic_s

conspiracy theories ruined!

Ross Lyon:
``We love Andrew (Demetriou) helping us because Andrew really discriminates and supports St Kilda more than any other club.
Loving Ross The Boss lately!

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/l ... public_rss

He'd wanna be careful with those tongue in cheek comments, we're playing Fremantle in WA FFS!

degruch wrote:He'd wanna be careful with those tongue in cheek comments, we're playing Fremantle in WA FFS!
Apparently the umpires have already awarded 3 free kicks to Freo.

I particularly liked Ross's comments - "is he ever happy Harvs?" :)

fingers wrote:
degruch wrote:He'd wanna be careful with those tongue in cheek comments, we're playing Fremantle in WA FFS!
Apparently the umpires have already awarded 3 free kicks to Freo.

I particularly liked Ross's comments - "is he ever happy Harvs?" :)
They're a soft target that lot. I still love GT's 'Sirengate' comment when asked where he was when the incident occurred, in response to Connelly waving his hands around like a goose on the field: "In the coaches box, where I belonged".

I always fear the home crowd support effect on the umpires in WA, it's like a very strong wind advantage to our opponents for 4 quarters. Having said that, I was surprised at how well the Saints/Eagles game was umpired, considering some of their past efforts.

rossy was on fire today! How much of a bleater is harvey! How day stkilda decide how to spend their money!!!!

I've said before, I'm just not sure why Ross doesn't endear himself to many Saints supporters, I find him quite amusing.

He came across as a man who is very confident and pleased with the way things are going... what odds are we for Sunday??

Sainterman

Classic RL...enjoyed the read.

Wasn't Harvey the one who didn't want to be in interviewed by St Kilda when the coaching job was on the line? Didn't like the club enough to be interested...? Or am I remembering it wrong?

super dooper

The AFL gave reasons why we had a chartered flight to perth last time, this time we're paying our own way, whats Harvey's issue?

Mark Harvey = Muppet.

Some of Ross' best work today in front of the cameras, had a little chuckle at the dinner table listening to him on ten news!

For some reason i am pretty confident about this weekend coming up.
Freo's younger brigade will be itching for a break - Hill, Morabito, Fyfe etc, along with the likes of Sandi who has played something like 91% time on ground this year which in the long run cannot be good especially heading into September.

I just think we're starting to get our structures right defensively and more importantly, offensively!

I hope we go over there and tear them a brand new one!

Sainterman wrote:Classic RL...enjoyed the read.

Wasn't Harvey the one who didn't want to be in interviewed by St Kilda when the coaching job was on the line? Didn't like the club enough to be interested...? Or am I remembering it wrong?

no you are right...said we were a crap club with crap footballers......he , sheedy and that fish faced girlong coach all hate the saints......sheedy actually told me that he had no respect for the saints at a dinner.....he thought i was a dons supporter.....flowering insult....i don't look anything like a bogan.... :evil:

No but you may have looked like a loser.

I have a pair of duelling swords for hire :roll: :wink: !!

here's a photo of mark harvey as a young man discovering that one day he'll be coach of fremantle

you can't avoid destiny.

Why would they hate us and have no respect?, did something happen years ago

shmic_s

clarky449 wrote:Why would they hate us and have no respect?, did something happen years ago
Could be why we got good character references on a certain 2010 recruit...

Must say isn't it great that Lyon can make a jibe about Dimwit helping us and not get canned like Thomas did......expect we still get screwed by the FIXture, so it's not all quite kosher yet

saintnick12

SainterK wrote:I've said before, I'm just not sure why Ross doesn't endear himself to many Saints supporters, I find him quite amusing.
I am certainly enjoying him too and find him quite amusing at times. He has certainly grown into the role over the years. He had a bit of a siege mentality the first year or so. He was measured and not too over the top last year when things were going great, and the same this year when things have been difficult at times. He has become a real "saints man", something I think it took him a while to embrace fully.

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

shmic_s wrote:
clarky449 wrote:Why would they hate us and have no respect?, did something happen years ago
Could be why we got good character references on a certain 2010 recruit...
stretching the old brain on this one !
their Messiah Carmen headbutting Boundary Ump Carmody in sheer frustration then getting 10 weeks or so at Moorabbin comes to mind , Was Sheedy coach then perhaps!

I know we absolutely flogged them (Dons) in a final at Waverley once and it was all over at half time with the stadiun half empty half way through the 3rd quarter

and Sheeds was always at his prickly best when playing for the Tigers against us, the mongrel!

but it's a hard one to pinpoint and perhaps some other old farts can throw some further light on it!

I know we always had spiteful games against them pre-Sheedy around "Mr Perfectionists" Jack Clarks era (hope he's no relation Clarky!!)
we used to target him often as he was a very cunning and a spiteful "scraper" who often would scrape his stops down our blokes shins in packs etc

Our senior players always were after him when we played the Dons!
We had quite a few blokes rubbed out for wacking him in those days including the Shaddow for memory, but it was very much pre-Sheedy in those days

noblejohn

Round 7 1978. Moorabbin bloodbath.Terry Cahill and MervNeagle knock out by Sidebottom and Ditterich. Stubbs the Essendon president calling the saints players "animals". Talk of court action. Poor baby bombers

Never forgiven us

The light that burns twice as bright, burns half as long

noblejohn wrote:
Round 7 1978. Moorabbin bloodbath.Terry Cahill and MervNeagle knock out by Sidebottom and Ditterich. Stubbs the Essendon president calling the saints players "animals". Talk of court action. Poor baby bombers

Never forgiven us
And I've never forgiven them :evil: Hate Essendon.

Hmm interesting.
BTW No relation :wink:

Beej

I don't think there's anyone better at using footy vernacular.
He's hitting up short breaks, what else is he hitting up? He's hitting up a few things isn't he, drafting, injuries?’’ Lyon joked.
He would speak to his wife and kids like that, I have no doubt.

There's no other person in football I would rather listen to.

Beej wrote:I don't think there's anyone better at using footy vernacular.
He's hitting up short breaks, what else is he hitting up? He's hitting up a few things isn't he, drafting, injuries?’’ Lyon joked.
He would speak to his wife and kids like that, I have no doubt.

There's no other person in football I would rather listen to.
RL: "Have you got your lunch kids?"

Kids: "Yes!"

RL: "Pleasing" * ticks box *

ralphsmith

Ross Lyon is a legend.

He's ahead of his time. Nobody appreciates it.

Keep it up mate!

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.