Voss Said " We had them on Toast"

Aussie Bears

Voss Said " We had them on Toast"

hmmmm

A year that doesn't end in frustration...please
Moorabbin Saints

We had them on toast until we had a patch where we kicked 2.9!

Yeh I heard that - I don't they had us on toast......The were close but maybe my definition of having something on toast differs from vossys.

Yet we won 8-)

Milton66

HAd we kicked better, he would have said they killed us all day.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
Sainterone

voss will find when he bites into his toast that there is no jam or vegemite (no butter even).

The 4 points is what counts - and our boys are playing the first part of the season to perfection. 9 games - 36 points.

We are setting ourselves up for a run deep into September.

GO SAINTS

NICK RIEWOLDT - 444 GOALS FROM 200 MATCHES
STEPHEN MILNE - 440 GOALS FROM 216 MATCHES

Milton66 wrote:HAd we kicked better, he would have said they killed us all day.
and they didn't kick goals out of there arse. Still,that's good footy I guess. But could of easily been 7-8 goals at half time

jackal

Vossies comment was accurate. They were up by 9 points in the last and you shouldn't drop games from there. Exactly the reason why I'm so excited about this result!

couple of things about that.

yes we were on toast...then we went into 5th gear

we won everywhere around the ground except in front of goals.

THATS what cost us the game.

the brians played their best footy and it wasn't enough.

good test for the saints, every mark was followed up by the belt to the head or chest, every tackle was followed by a push into the ground.

and the saints retaliated with harder footy, not a brawl.

we won on the scoreboard, around the ground and hte moral high ground.

it was they that got angry, we got the points.

It's hard to control the game when you're getting belted at the contests like they were. I don't think they ever had us on anything. The moment we straightened up, Brisbane were toast.

I think the live odds were always in our favour.
So the smart money was always on us scraping through.

claystreet

When Brissy went up 9points i said to a mate now we are in the championship rounds just like in boxing. We blew them away from that point the boys went up a notch and won the fight running away with it.

8-)

simply put they kicked for goal the best I have seen that kept them in the game and our poor kicking for goal.

the best side won despite bad kicking for goal and luck going the lions way

reat test but really vossy needs to learn from the other coaches who tend to underplay things....

Erm, they did have us on toast.

They were nine points up, holding momentum and looking more than capable.

Luckily, as Dan Warna said:
then we went into 5th gear
Thank goodness for that. Pleasing to get out of it with four points. It's been a tough fortnight for us; a six day week and an interstate trip won't make it much easier on the players' bodies, either.

11 more scoring shots (13 if you count a couple out on the full) ...

They kicked at 82% accuracy for goal.

We kicked at 51% accuracy for goal.

Toast yes, but soggy toast only. Nine points is not "put down the glasses" stuff. The bad kicking was our fault and teams rarely get compensation points from their opposition for it.

However, Black off for a few crucial minutes and Dal Santo lifting for the same few crucial minutes told the story. Coaching error? Just necessary rotations? Whatever, the story was told in these few minutes.

evertonfc wrote:Erm, they did have us on toast.

Thank goodness for that. Pleasing to get out of it with four points. It's been a tough fortnight for us; a six day week and an interstate trip won't make it much easier on the players' bodies, either.
how much of it was of their doing and how much was us letting ourselves down with our kicking. That third quarter was good by the lions but anytime the score is within 2 goals cannot count as "having them on toast".

Solar wrote:how much of it was of their doing and how much was us letting ourselves down with our kicking.
Exactly. We weren't kicking well enough to win the game. They were. At one point, they'd kicked something 10 goals to three after quarter time.

They had it for the taking, but they didn't put on the extra, sustained pressure required to finish the job.

evertonfc wrote:
Solar wrote:how much of it was of their doing and how much was us letting ourselves down with our kicking.
Exactly. We weren't kicking well enough to win the game. They were. At one point, they'd kicked something 10 goals to three after quarter time.

They had it for the taking, but they didn't put on the extra, sustained pressure required to finish the job.
I know this sounds pig arrogant but I always thought that we would do enough if the kicking at goal got 10% better. Anyway I guess it's the right call but it's not something you would hear from a seasoned coach like eade etc.

Spinner wrote:Yeh I heard that - I don't they had us on toast......The were close but maybe my definition of having something on toast differs from vossys.
I'm with Voss' brother on this. 9 points up half way through the last quarter. They had us on toast.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

evertonfc wrote:Erm, they did have us on toast.

Agree..

The first half we kept them at it with some very poor kicking for goal combined with their accuracy. We were the better side...just... but the $5.50 on offer for Brisbane at half time were ridicululous odds. If I'd been a neutral fan Id have had some of that in a heartbeat. Third quarter and the first 10 mins of the last we WERE outplayed, pure and simple..then the 5th gear kicked in and we, as good sides do, found a way to win.

lol - another hack team - another moral win :roll:

Fair Dinkum - last week the Bummer spuds - this week the Brion arses :roll:

I suppose anywhere withing three goals is a victory for these also rans.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:lol - another hack team - another moral win :roll:

Fair Dinkum - last week the Bummer spuds - this week the Brion arses :roll:

I suppose anywhere withing three goals is a victory for these also rans.
Isn't that a huge compliment that teams are thinking like that when they play us - lose - and are still happy?

thats the sort of thinking that used to make st kilda fans happy in the 80s.

we got within 3 goals of carlton....

the reality was they played their hardest best football and still came up short.

the reality was, they couldn't match our intensity in the 4th quarter

the reality was, we were fitter than them for 4 quarters

the reality was, that we won everywhere around the ground save in front of goals and still beat them by 3 goals...

Our defence leaked its true, but how many of there shots were from 50m? honestly if you were to say the opposition were going to hvae 10 shots at goal and all of them were from 50 or more you'd take it.

further, at least 2 of their goals came from soft soft free kicks.

so at the end of the day, the brions played out of their socks and still lost.

they will not kick 83% or whatever for the rest of the season.