Training 2.00PM today.

Go Sainters Go

Training 2.00PM today.

Open Training session at 2.00 pm today, Wednesday 27th - anyone going!
Would be very interested to know how Bally, Kosi, X, Gram, Dal, Harves, M.Gardiner, GTrain all go on the track.

Once a "Saint" always a trueblooded "Saint"
The Saintsational Man

I'm tipping Gehrig to play this week.

I think he could make an impact against Essendon.

But hasnt G retired though?

The Saintsational Man

ralphysaints35 wrote:But hasnt G retired though?
Nope.....he is still available.

The Saintsational Man wrote:I'm tipping Gehrig to play this week.

Awesome

Geez, imagine he was brought in for a cameo finals appearance to bag 5 goals a game :D

Very doubtful. The only reason he'd play is if he was part of finals plans IMO. Otherwise, you use every game as an opporutnity to settle your line up, and get the tactics right.

Besdides, it would be the height of arrogance to bring him in ahead of a long term player for a "farewell" game. If we weren't playing finals, then fair enough.

I love the guy, but sadly, I reckon we've seen the last of him... unless someone breaks down.

bigred wrote:

Awesome
Gehrig has retired quietly, according to his mate Heath Black. Couldn't see him playing anyway

Moccha wrote:
bigred wrote:

Awesome
Gehrig has retired quietly, according to his mate Heath Black. Couldn't see him playing anyway
He was certainly training last week (at the open session). Still had a 'guard' on his hand/wrist though.

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

I couldnt go this week uni beckons! I hope someone can give us insights into how the boys have pulled up after the weekend!

Go saints in '09!
Go Sainters Go

As there was no response from you guys, managed to break an appointment and got there at about 2.30.

My summary is -
X looked great and moved very well.
Jack Steven (34) moved very well.
Lenny, Harves, King and Schnieder light session
BJ worked as he does in a game.
Dal likewise.
Bally, Max, M.Gardiner and Rooey I did not see.
Raph moved well but fumbled a bit.
Armo looked good.
Howard looked good.
Kosi didn't impress greatly on the track - knee strapped!
GTrain out there = seemed to be more of a coaches assitant than anything else - looks fit though.
Milney, a good session from him
Gwilt in the forward group and looks OK
Blake works hard on the track.
All the rest - good but not outstanding.

I must say, I was impressed with the work rate of Stephen - seems may be learning from Harves.

All in all worth the three quarter hour inspection.

goodie

Okay, I went for an hour and a half, here's the skinny:

37 players, give or take, were out on the training track
No sign of Baker, Maguire, Attard or LVR
Ball was there in his tracksuit, had a bit of a kick to kick but nothing more
Michael Gardiner ran the warm-up laps, then did a bit of kick to kick with Bally before departing
Schneider, Banger, Hudghton, Lenny, Roo and King ran laps and did a little kicking.
Harvey's wrist got a tremendous work-out signing autographs, there were more people queuing for autographs than there were watching the boys train for a while!
Kosi did the warm-up laps wearing his jacket, but then proceeded to train as normal (had me worried for a second). Saw him slot through a nice goal from a set position, about 30-35 out on a 45 degree angle
Gehrig's skills looked okay, but he looked mighty slow. Might have been going light but even so
X-man looked really good, strapped around both ankles and his right shoulder, but looked quick and sharp
Eljay warmed up with the group but trained seperately, predominately movement drills with a little added ballwork.
Miles was also out there, but was kept apart for the entire session working with one of the coaches
Gram looked fine, business as usual.

Mainly skill drills, variations on running back and forth to a set of cones and passing it off, kick to kick, then some simulated play with half the boys in fluro jumpers. When I left they were still going and had just split into three, looked like one group were doing shots on goal (including Kosi, Milne, Gwilt), not sure what the others were up to.

Thanks heaps Go Sainter! appreciate your efforts.

He has retired.

no real surprizes there, and on that note you'd have to think X needs to come in for perhaps Eddy or maybe an unlucky CJ

who does everyone think will be INS this week?

steven get his chance?

Go Sainters Go

If the 22 were picked off today's training session. I'd reckon Steven could make it.

hope steven gets his chance. would love to see it though !

Heard MG is getting his chance this week...
id rest a few stars....

Prob X for Eddy?
There the only 2 or 3 changes i would make.
Last edited by Ralphy on Wed 27 Aug 2008 6:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

mick13

Yes, give him a game. What a debut that would be...

Go Sainters Go

Purely based on today's training session :

The INS/OUTS could be : Gehrig for Kosi to rest.
Steven for Milney to rest
Armitage for Lenny to rest
Rix in the ruck with Kingy replacing Eddy or
Geary.

Well, I wouldn't be too upset if Gehrig made a return. I wasn't aware there was any offical announcement that he'd retired "again" 8-) :lol:

Someone needs to step up and take the focus off Roo. I mean Kosi does. but we need another tall marking forward up there. I was under the impression that King was pretty reasonable on the forward line?? ...actually, better than reasonable. he's certainly strong and mobile enough.

As much as i would love the Gtrain to have a go ( and it's alot ). Its not what we need. All season we have been doing switches and never settled on a specific 22.

It comes down to this game, our last chance to perfect it before its do or die elimination.

The concept of playing fraser going into a finals series is totally laughable. Yes yes, I love him too, but seriously....just wont happen . Definately shouldnt happen in anyway whatsoever.

iwantmeseats wrote:The concept of playing fraser going into a finals series is totally laughable. Yes yes, I love him too, but seriously....just wont happen . Definately shouldnt happen in anyway whatsoever.
i agree he had his goodbye game last season we have a great opertunity to build on or momentum in this game why destablise it by playing blokes who wont figure in the finals ?? honestly i would go for an unchanged line up with maybe X pushing in for charlie ....

No one is resting this week and neither they should. This isnt local footy. We need to keep winning. G has long retired so how can he play. Steven isnt going to play either and doesnt deserve to.