WHo has to go?

1989 saint

WHo has to go?

start making a list of who from any area of the club has to go at seasons end.

these are just names that i think should go, and anyone is able to add or take people off the list:

Players:
Gwilt
McQualter
Raph Clarke
Ferguson
Leigh Fisher
Fiora

all of these players have had their opportunity, they have their one good game and then that is it, they are using up space on our list that can be taken by more kids that will never stop trying (i hope)

Coach:
Ross lyon i will give 1 more year, otherwise we should start looking elsewhere for a coach that suits our list

Should have won the premiership in '04, '05, went nowhere in '06, wasted '07, wish for a win in '08

FOX FOOTY ---- LEST WE FORGET CHANNEL 506

Wouldnt drop Fergo he is good, just give the kid a chance ffs

Behind Play

Kosi.
SoS
Lyon
Barker

redwhite&blackblood

Behind Play wrote:Kosi.
SoS
Lyon
Barker
What credentials had John Barker got as a coach of any kind?

Why Ross would hire him as a forward coach i don't know. We need a forward coach that has a clue and can teach our players how to kick straight. It is killing us that when our forwards get the rare good delivery and mark they butcher the kick and give us points. When you best kick i nthe forward line is Birss (no disrespect intended) you know you are in trouble.

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.
True Blue Sainter

Go through this numerically...

Leigh Fisher: Not good enough to be consistent first 22 material. Lacks a yard or two in pace, and doesn't find enough of the footy. Skills can let him down on occasion, and sometimes is guilty of watching his man too much, when the more correct option would be to play the ball. Possibly kept as back-up as a cheap defender/tagger utility, but don't see a future for him as a regular player.

Nick Riewoldt: I'm obviously not saying he should go, he is clearly one of our most talented and hard-working players. I think he needs to be stripped of the captaincy. He lacks the ability to stand up and kick a real "captain's goal" at crucial moments in matches. I believe that if the GC consortium come up with a big offer for him (say 2 high 1st round draft picks) then we should very well consider it...

Adam Schneider: Front-runner of the highest order. When the team is firing, he can look extremely good as a polish player. When the chips are down, however, he seems to drop off on his intensity and at times drops his head.

Raph Clarke: I don't understand where all these notions of his "talent" come from. Is not overly quick, is not big enough to be a KPP, and is too slow and lacks too much awareness to be a midfielder. Seems to get caught daydreaming far too often, and his lack of awareness sees him get caught with the ball, as well as putting his teammates under the pump far too much. See if anyone wants him.

Aaron Fiora: Not going to take this club forward. We got dudded in the Black back to Freo trade. He is far too inconsistent, and like Schneider, tends to look OK when the team is playing well. I don't see a position for him in the first 22, possibly not even on the list as back-up. See what a Steven or Howard can do if need be.

Justin Koschitzke: We have seen glimpses of his talent for far too long. He is good enough to dominate games, but hasn't done so since that four game purple patch in 2005. Needs to stand up when it counts and work on his fitness so as to get to more contests. He'd have some trade currency, and although I'm not suggesting we should trade him, if a reasonable offer comes in, with his injury history and all, we'd be silly not to look at it.

Sean Dempster: Handy back-up player IMO. Looks OK as a dour defender or tagger on occasions, but in other instances looks totally out of position and out of his league. Doesn't find enough of the footy to make his oppoenent accountable and is inconsistent to say the least with his ball use by hand and feet. His decision-making also leaves a lot to be desired. Missed a crucial shot today (as did Roo) that could have kept us in the match in the 2nd quarter.

Jason Blake: To say he's gotten the most out of his ability is an understatement. He has gotten far more out of himself than almost anyone else in the league, fair play to him for that. But is prone to brain-freezes, is probably our most unreliable disposer of the ball, and tends to give off too many hospital handballs when running himself into trouble. Coupled with this is that he has been unable to settle down to a regular position. Keep as a spare tall backman.

Charlie Gardiner: I think Charlie is a capable footballer, and from my observations, his deficiencies at AFL level are probably down to something to do with his attitutde or mindset. At times seems to lack heart or tenacity, and on other instances can display some fine skills as a lead up half forward and can use the ball quite nicely. I think him and Ferg are competing for the same spot.

Michael Rix: Honest toiler who loves throwing his weight around, something we need more of. However, this is his offset by his lack of skills at AFL level, which can be glossed over when he plays well at VFL level. Until McEvoy develops, and LVR or Haretuku comes along, or we draft another young ruckman, Rixy needs to be kept as back-up.

James Gwilt: Seems quite laconic with the ball and rarely seems to be applying pressure to opponents when they have the ball in his vicinity. I think he's gone downhill since his performance in the QF win over Adelaide at AAMI in '05. He also suffers as a victim of his own versatility, where can we find a spot for him?

Stephen Milne: Far too inconsistent. I know he's our leading goalscorer, but take away his 7 against the Tigers, and his season has been far from impressive. Is almost as much of a flat-track bully as Gehrig. Goes to ground far too easily, and his set shot conversion rate is not good enough (6.11 I think after today). Take today's example, only started touching the ball in the last quarter when the sting was well and truly gone.

I believe this team is carrying far too many passengers, and we are in need of a rebuilding phase. I can't comprehend how if King was under an injury cloud, why McEvoy was not selected as an emergency to cover for his possible absence. Ruined our whole structure today, particularly after Kosi injured himself. Individual players apart from the usual suspects (Hayes, Ball, Harves, Dal today...) need to be accountable for their performances and made to understand that mediocrity and inconsistency CANNOT be tolerated. Schneider, Milne, Gram, Fizz, Raph - you guys know who I'm referring to.

I'm too frustrated to type more. Rant over.

The Saints are coming!

True Blue Sainter wrote: I'm too frustrated to type more. Rant over.
Excellent rant.
Unfortunately, I totally agree with your comments and your frustations.

True Blue Sainter wrote:Go through this numerically...

Leigh Fisher: Not good enough to be consistent first 22 material. Lacks a yard or two in pace, and doesn't find enough of the footy. Skills can let him down on occasion, and sometimes is guilty of watching his man too much, when the more correct option would be to play the ball. Possibly kept as back-up as a cheap defender/tagger utility, but don't see a future for him as a regular player.

Nick Riewoldt: I'm obviously not saying he should go, he is clearly one of our most talented and hard-working players. I think he needs to be stripped of the captaincy. He lacks the ability to stand up and kick a real "captain's goal" at crucial moments in matches. I believe that if the GC consortium come up with a big offer for him (say 2 high 1st round draft picks) then we should very well consider it...

Adam Schneider: Front-runner of the highest order. When the team is firing, he can look extremely good as a polish player. When the chips are down, however, he seems to drop off on his intensity and at times drops his head.

Raph Clarke: I don't understand where all these notions of his "talent" come from. Is not overly quick, is not big enough to be a KPP, and is too slow and lacks too much awareness to be a midfielder. Seems to get caught daydreaming far too often, and his lack of awareness sees him get caught with the ball, as well as putting his teammates under the pump far too much. See if anyone wants him.

Aaron Fiora: Not going to take this club forward. We got dudded in the Black back to Freo trade. He is far too inconsistent, and like Schneider, tends to look OK when the team is playing well. I don't see a position for him in the first 22, possibly not even on the list as back-up. See what a Steven or Howard can do if need be.

Justin Koschitzke: We have seen glimpses of his talent for far too long. He is good enough to dominate games, but hasn't done so since that four game purple patch in 2005. Needs to stand up when it counts and work on his fitness so as to get to more contests. He'd have some trade currency, and although I'm not suggesting we should trade him, if a reasonable offer comes in, with his injury history and all, we'd be silly not to look at it.

Sean Dempster: Handy back-up player IMO. Looks OK as a dour defender or tagger on occasions, but in other instances looks totally out of position and out of his league. Doesn't find enough of the footy to make his oppoenent accountable and is inconsistent to say the least with his ball use by hand and feet. His decision-making also leaves a lot to be desired. Missed a crucial shot today (as did Roo) that could have kept us in the match in the 2nd quarter.

Jason Blake: To say he's gotten the most out of his ability is an understatement. He has gotten far more out of himself than almost anyone else in the league, fair play to him for that. But is prone to brain-freezes, is probably our most unreliable disposer of the ball, and tends to give off too many hospital handballs when running himself into trouble. Coupled with this is that he has been unable to settle down to a regular position. Keep as a spare tall backman.

Charlie Gardiner: I think Charlie is a capable footballer, and from my observations, his deficiencies at AFL level are probably down to something to do with his attitutde or mindset. At times seems to lack heart or tenacity, and on other instances can display some fine skills as a lead up half forward and can use the ball quite nicely. I think him and Ferg are competing for the same spot.

Michael Rix: Honest toiler who loves throwing his weight around, something we need more of. However, this is his offset by his lack of skills at AFL level, which can be glossed over when he plays well at VFL level. Until McEvoy develops, and LVR or Haretuku comes along, or we draft another young ruckman, Rixy needs to be kept as back-up.

James Gwilt: Seems quite laconic with the ball and rarely seems to be applying pressure to opponents when they have the ball in his vicinity. I think he's gone downhill since his performance in the QF win over Adelaide at AAMI in '05. He also suffers as a victim of his own versatility, where can we find a spot for him?

Stephen Milne: Far too inconsistent. I know he's our leading goalscorer, but take away his 7 against the Tigers, and his season has been far from impressive. Is almost as much of a flat-track bully as Gehrig. Goes to ground far too easily, and his set shot conversion rate is not good enough (6.11 I think after today). Take today's example, only started touching the ball in the last quarter when the sting was well and truly gone.

I believe this team is carrying far too many passengers, and we are in need of a rebuilding phase. I can't comprehend how if King was under an injury cloud, why McEvoy was not selected as an emergency to cover for his possible absence. Ruined our whole structure today, particularly after Kosi injured himself. Individual players apart from the usual suspects (Hayes, Ball, Harves, Dal today...) need to be accountable for their performances and made to understand that mediocrity and inconsistency CANNOT be tolerated. Schneider, Milne, Gram, Fizz, Raph - you guys know who I'm referring to.

I'm too frustrated to type more. Rant over.
Post of the night easily!

Milney is and has been a passenger at this football club for 100 games too many, has kicked 1 bag per year for the last 5 years no where near good enough.

GET RID OF HIM, NOW!!!!

Behind Play

saintbob wrote:Milney is and has been a passenger at this football club for 100 games too many, has kicked 1 bag per year for the last 5 years no where near good enough.

GET RID OF HIM, NOW!!!!

Not a GT fan, but he was correct.

Yes he did single handedly win the Richmond game.

But in our other matches he has been pretty ineffective.
He was useless today.
Had a couple of soft possessions in the last ten minutes.
But where was he in the prev 110 minutes ?

Trade lyon the f*** out. Milne out of ff? Shall I go on? As dumb sas he looks fair dinkum.

True Blue Sainter

Behind Play wrote:
saintbob wrote:Milney is and has been a passenger at this football club for 100 games too many, has kicked 1 bag per year for the last 5 years no where near good enough.

GET RID OF HIM, NOW!!!!

Not a GT fan, but he was correct.
Agree... Would rather see someone with a more well-rounded game in Milne's position...

The Saints are coming!

GET RID OF HIM, NOW!!!!
Because good small forwards grow on trees?

So who replaces him? Schneider, who is not as good as Milne anyway?

Please, think before posting :roll:

saints11

ralphysaints35 wrote:Wouldnt drop Fergo he is good, just give the kid a chance ffs
a kid!! he's 24 isn't he?

Wasnt Milnes fault he was played out off FF for the second half. Guess which genius was behind that? f*** me.

1989 saint

i feel that at least half teh players on our list were riding the coat tails of our few good players in the past 5 years, and now that we are not as good as we were, those players are now being exposed, case and point, goddard.

always seemed good in the past 5 years, but his game has not adapted, he is still in the mindset that a gao can be kicked purley by just kicking the ball high and far.
althought this is good as it moves the ball qyuicker, it dosnt help when he kicks it to a 4-1, with the 1 being a saints player.

as much as i love the club, it hurts me to say that we will not make the 8 in the next 3 years at minimum because our current players are not adapting, and our young players have not been given a good enough go in order to excell their skills and experience

Should have won the premiership in '04, '05, went nowhere in '06, wasted '07, wish for a win in '08

FOX FOOTY ---- LEST WE FORGET CHANNEL 506
Bono

[quote="redwhite&blackblood"][quote="Behind Play"]Kosi.
SoS
Lyon
Barker[/quote]

What credentials had John Barker got as a coach of any kind?

Why Ross would hire him as a forward coach i don't know. We need a forward coach that has a clue and can teach our players how to kick straight. It is killing us that when our forwards get the rare good delivery and mark they butcher the kick and give us points. When you best kick i nthe forward line is Birss (no disrespect intended) you know you are in trouble.[/quote]

Totally agree with the Barker comments. The forward line is a shambles - no system, no one leading or demanding the ball. All these so called big names yet none of them produce the goods. Roo, Kossi and Milne combined for 3.5 today, Aker kicked 6.4 by himself. Does barker take them for goal kicking practice or teach them how to lead and when to lead and where to lead? It doesnt look like he does.

I must say, this thread is on the right track at last!!

If only we hadn't had Raph Clarke, Michael Rix, Aaron Fiora, Charlie Gardner and Andrew McQualter at the club we'd have given those Doggies a right pasting this afternoon, eh what?

:? :? :? :? :?
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

1989 saint wrote:i feel that at least half teh players on our list were riding the coat tails of our few good players in the past 5 years, and now that we are not as good as we were, those players are now being exposed, case and point, goddard.

always seemed good in the past 5 years, but his game has not adapted, he is still in the mindset that a gao can be kicked purley by just kicking the ball high and far.
althought this is good as it moves the ball qyuicker, it dosnt help when he kicks it to a 4-1, with the 1 being a saints player.

as much as i love the club, it hurts me to say that we will not make the 8 in the next 3 years at minimum because our current players are not adapting, and our young players have not been given a good enough go in order to excell their skills and experience
some truth in that.

Winmarvellous

Trade Kosi while we can and entertain offers for everyone bar Ball and Hayes. Get Gehrig in as forward coach. Let it be known blokes are playing for their spot on the list, and play ALL the kids this week as a lesson to those who don't chase, tackle or kick straight. Tank this season, and start from scratch again.

battye wrote:

GET RID OF HIM, NOW!!!!
Because good small forwards grow on trees?

So who replaces him? Schneider, who is not as good as Milne anyway?

Please, think before posting :roll:
Well obviously you weren't thinking when you catorigised Milne with your first sentence, "GOOD SMALL FOWARD" you've got to be joking.

Not even Jason Daniels averaged as many clangers as Milney per week....

saintbob wrote:Not even Jason Daniels averaged as many clangers as Milney per week....
Jack at least put his body on the line all the time.
He actually got the football.
Regularly and in tough situations.
And he was a great tackler.

I'll skip over his disposal skills :roll:

lennyandkarl

We should never have got rid of Watts. We need another tall option up forward. I remember the VFL game where he kicked 10, he was awesome.

If we had Watts we wouldn't have had to play Milney up forward

Trolls are bad mkay.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
saintbob wrote:Not even Jason Daniels averaged as many clangers as Milney per week....

Actually I sent an SMS to a mate today midway through the third I think it was asking for Jack to be instated as kicking coach. :lol:

Enrico_Misso wrote:

Wasn't bagging Jack, as I'd prefer a player with his attributes, except maybe his kicking, than Milne anyday