Captaincy Announcement ? !!

The Melbourne media will be wanting as much St Kilda news as they can get this week, so I believe that we should milk this situation for all it is worth. Today's OPEN training session will attract plenty of media anyway so not today.

I would suggest Thursday would be the ideal time to make the/any announcement. What do others think? !!

emmdee

the sooner the better, lets get all the media distractions out of the way during the next week so we can quietly go about preparations for R1.

Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy
Go Sretnias Go

Friday morning 10.00am would be my suggestion for a number of reasons :
1. The $400,000 odd loss announced at the AGM the night before could be discussed and explained as to why!
2. Captaincy appointment(s) announced.
3. Ross could suggest to Dimwit that he earn some of his $1,400,000 pay packet by charging him and the St.KFC for tanking a game (last Friday by taking Roo off in last quarter and playing Ball for second half only etc, etc,) instead of playing the big boss and having a crack at his mate Roosy.

Once a Sainter always a Sainter.

How many souvlakis has the fat bastard eaten over the last 12 months. 1.4 mill equates to a lot of souvs.

Even if it's not announced this week, it's probably fair to say whoever is captain on Saturday night is likely to be skipper for the season. I can't see us having a temporary captain possibly holding up some silverware.

That's providing both Riewoldt and Hayes play on Saturday night.

Mind you, having said that, Riewoldt and Hayes played on Friday night and Montagna captained.

bigmicka

Andy spends all his money at crown playing poker.

http://www.crownpoker.com.au/PlayerOfYearPopup.aspx

mic

No one ever built a statue for a critic.

Beno88 wrote:Even if it's not announced this week, it's probably fair to say whoever is captain on Saturday night is likely to be skipper for the season. I can't see us having a temporary captain possibly holding up some silverware.

That's providing both Riewoldt and Hayes play on Saturday night.

Mind you, having said that, Riewoldt and Hayes played on Friday night and Montagna captained.

Agreed. Exactly the way I see it....Nonetheless, it doesn't mean the club will do it that way.

But you would hope that LOGIC would prevail.

bigmicka wrote:Andy spends all his money at crown playing poker.

http://www.crownpoker.com.au/PlayerOfYearPopup.aspx

mic
LOL, i remember reading that leader board when signing up for a particular tournament.

...I dont think its the real him.

bigmicka

Spinner believe me it is actually him.

mic

Re: Captaincy Announcement ? !!

Eastern wrote:I would suggest Thursday would be the ideal time to make the/any announcement. What do others think? !!
depends on rooey's commitments

Eastern wrote:I would suggest Thursday would be the ideal time to make the/any announcement. What do others think? !!
Is Lenny fine that day?

so you think it will be lenny, plugger?

you're seldomn wrong about these sorts of things so i'll take that on board

bigmicka wrote:Spinner believe me it is actually him.

mic
Really?

I checked out the blokes performances.....

Did I read that he played some $40 tournaments?

bigmicka wrote:Spinner believe me it is actually him.

mic

flower me....hope the auditors are keeping close tabs on the afl's balance sheets..... :evil: :evil:

Is Lenny fine that day?
Lets hope so!

bigmicka

yeh he plays some $40 poker pro tourneys.

if you really want to think about his performance this year, just take the fact that he won 4 $10,000 seats into the Aussie Poker Millions.

mic

bigmicka wrote:yeh he plays some $40 poker pro tourneys.

if you really want to think about his performance this year, just take the fact that he won 4 $10,000 seats into the Aussie Poker Millions.

mic
Yeh.....Thats unreal......

bigmicka

They call him "The Commish" a more barf worthy name i have not heard.

mic

bigcarl wrote:so you think it will be lenny, plugger?

I have no idea but I think it should be both of them. Neither did anything wrong last season so why change.

I agree with you plugger66, especially since hayes seems to be getting back to his best.

I'm tipping roo. i've been wrong before but i reckon his b&f speech clinched it.

If he is ccaptain because of that we have some issues. He should be captain because RL thinks we only need one captain and he is the best man for the job.

plugger66 wrote:If he is ccaptain because of that we have some issues. He should be captain because RL thinks we only need one captain and he is the best man for the job.
you'd have a better idea than me of how each is regarded among the playing group.

but the coach and club administration might see it differently to that.

will be interesting and we'll find out soon enough i expect

karnaby

Following on from RL's comment last night:
Q) Who will hold up the cup with Ross on Sat night ?
RL (Ross Lyon) - Kosi will be acting captain
- his record is 4 out of 4
I wonder if we might have 3 captains again this year with Kosi being a straight swap for Luke Ball?

Kosi seems to revel in the role & presumably RL can see that, going from the above comment.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful
El Wood

Asked Ross Lyon after the AGM about the captaincy. They still haven't decided. Looking at Kosi but probably between Nick and Lenny - "how do you split them" he said. Doesn't mind having two leaders. Could be announced at Family Day but probably later in the week. Seemed very unfussed by it all. I mean this in a nice way, but he's so ordinary to talk to. Just your average guy you talk footy with, none of the presence or awe that I've found talking to other coaches in the past. He's rapt with Schneider.