Gresham robbed of the Goal of the Year

By 1/2 an inch on the boundary line.

Not sure that an Essendon player would not have rushed it through - but the ball went through from his sliding soccer kick on the line..

Just to be called OOB.

Re: Gresham robbed of the Goal of the Year

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 9:27am By 1/2 an inch on the boundary line.

Not sure that an Essendon player would not have rushed it through - but the ball went through from his sliding soccer kick on the line..

Just to be called OOB.
Gresham needs to forget about going for goal of the year all the time.

Needs more thought and discipline with his shooting for goal, we are not the Harlem Globetrotters!

Just to be called OOB.
Edit - my son tells me that live on the night it looked like Higgins had tapped it as it went by.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 9:53am

Just to be called OOB.
Edit - my son tells me that live on the night it looked like Higgins had tapped it as it went by.
I also thought it hit Higgins, in the gut.

gresham robbed us of a few possessions with errant kicking.

Yeah had a good angle on it, look OOB and I thought Higgins touched it too.

On another note, I thought Gresh was pretty disappointing for the first 3 quarters, lifted in the last.

Just to be called OOB.
Mine did as well. How uncanny. :o

Higgins touched it with his hand and the ball slightly changed trajectory

Just on Gresh; he needs to look for his team mates first option.

Too many times he’s trying to do it all. I liked it when he played deep and stayed out of the way of the talls

It helped open up the forward line and helped provide space for Hammer, Owens, Pou and Snags

Overall he played his part with some good clearances and a very good goal too

SinCitySainter

It was clearly over the boundary line. Watching at the ground it looked over and the replay just confirmed it.

SinCitySainter wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 12:57pm It was clearly over the boundary line. Watching at the ground it looked over and the replay just confirmed it.
Ummm - that's what I said - Robbed by the boundary line!

Saint 58

Gresham frustrates me so much !
Costs us goals with his kicks into 50

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Gresh had a tough night overall… I don’t know if it was the wet but he was fumbly and just struggled to be clean with his disposal. And yes it cost us some goals last night.

He copped a lot of flak for his missed shot in the second but I think that was an ugly play that he was never really in control of and the options around him under pressure weren’t great.

Regardless… a couple of things happened that I liked. We tried moving him into the middle when we were desperate with mixed results so there’s some flexibility there which the other forwards don’t have…
But most of all, he kept competing/presenting and that actually saw him get into the right spot under pressure to kick a huge goal when it mattered.

I still reckon he’s a really good FP and an essential player for us. He’s the most goal minded player of our small forwards and easily the one I back most to make something out of nothing.
Decision making is not great and I doubt it ever will be hence IMO it’s better that he tries to play to his natural instincts and take the game on rather than be an indecisive with the ball.

He’ll bounce back IMO

King Max

SinCitySainter wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 12:57pm It was clearly over the boundary line. Watching at the ground it looked over and the replay just confirmed it.
All of the ball over all of the line? I’m downgrading clearly to maybe.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 11:02am

Just to be called OOB.
A paternity test will reveal the real father and son.
Or both of you can confront the mother together.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

ace wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 4:00pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 11:02am

Just to be called OOB.
A paternity test will reveal the real father and son.
Or both of you can confront the mother together.
LOL @ Ace - if you saw Sainter_Boy and I at the football you would KNOW we were cut from the same cloth!

Gresham developed some really bad habits under previous coaches and has yet to adapt his game to the new style that St Kilda are playing in 2023.

This year St Kilda is far more team-oriented and last night I thought both Butler and Higgins bought into this system really well, but Gresham for some reason continues to butcher the ball trying to kick a miracle.

You could tell by the way he celebrated gesturing with open arms to the crowd after finally scoring a goal that he likes to play to the gallery and while that's not unusual, in Gresh's case I felt it betrayed his desire to risk all to score himself rather than look for a teammate in a better position.

Stephen Milne he is not.....

Lay off the boy! He played himself back into form last night and his last quarter was a pearler.

As Higgins and Butler demonstrated confidence is everything for small forwards, Gresh is now getting his mojo back after two injury destroyed seasons.

Saint 58 wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 2:00pm Gresham frustrates me so much !
Costs us goals with his kicks into 50
It’s not so much the poor kicks inside 50. He burnt several of his team mates trying to do too much or going for miraculous goals. When he’s 30 - 40 metres out he’s got the blinkers on.

If this team is going to become elite at doing the basics and playing as a team, then Ross and his assistants will need to make an example of Gresh ….at some stage.

The problem right now is that we are struggling with injuries

I think last week and the week before no one would have been surprised if Butts or Snags were dropped but we are struggling with injuries and the open spaces of the MCG on a slippery deck, meant that both had to play

Honest feedback required for Gresh. He needs to be accountable.

When you have Ronnie running in and without an opponent you have to handball the footy for an easy team goal. He wasted the footy and turned it over at least 3-4 times.
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 02 Apr 2023 8:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

I think Gresh is what he is and wont change a hell of a lot.
he is explosive and exciting ... when he handballs we do ok ... we are going to have to accept his disposal by foot can either be magnificent or mostly not.

Happy for Gresh to keep backing himself

Re: poor delivery inside 50 ....... he ain't on his lonesome there

The Fireman wrote: Sun 02 Apr 2023 7:58pm I think Gresh is what he is and wont change a hell of a lot.
he is explosive and exciting ... when he handballs we do ok ... we are going to have to accept his disposal by foot can either be magnificent or mostly not.
I'm not sure that Ross Lyon and his assistants will have the same opinions as you Fireman that: "we are going to have to accept his disposal by foot can either be magnificent or mostly not".

We can assume that if supporters can see a player consistently butchering the ball, or failing to pass the ball to a team mate in a more favourable position to score, the coaches will see that too, and will take steps to remedy such faults by the player.

The problem is that shots on goal in general play don't come around often, so it is crucial that the players as a team capitalise on these opportunities and not tempt fate by trying for a miracle goal if there's another player better placed to score.

So as I see it, if Gresham does in fact not "change a hell of a lot", I expect he's going to fall out of favour soon enough.

Say what you will about Gresh but he's making things happen on the footy field, both good and bad. It would be great if he tidied up his disposal but 3 games into the season he's averaging 19.3 disposals, 6 marks, 1.7 goals and 0.7 goals assists per game. If he kept up those numbers all year he'd be in the AA squad. I like that we're primarily using him as a forward again and that is going to take him some time to get used to after almost exclusively playing mid (or being out injured) for the last 4 years.