Ben Patton

Ben Patton

Has he missed a beat since returning from a very serious injury. In my mind no! Has been sensational and basically picked up from where he left off. Just so dependable, quality user, solid defender. Terrific player

Saintmike65

Re: Ben Patton

Ben Paton an automatic selection…so reliable and consistent.

IMO only is tracking nicely considering the nature of his injury . He's not at the level he was in 2020 yet but hey it will take time to get the confidence & match fitness back to where it was . I'm sure he will get better game by game , just great to see him back on the park

D.B.Cooper

Big fan of Pato like most.

Smashing it in only 3 games back considering the severity of his injury.

Needs to play down back at the moment.

Looked lost against the Tigers on the wing and up the ground.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

I reckon he’s been short of a gallop and probably could’ve started in the VFL, especially if they were going to change his role.

He’s been relatively ordinary as a mid for the first 2 and a half games

As soon as he was put back to his regular gig as a shut down player, not only did he beat the dangerous Bolton but looked more comfortable in doing so

For him, I think his game starts with defence, and his offence come of the back of that.

Paton is a beauty. Takes defending seriously by understanding his first job is defence then possession. I see him as an unheralded leader in the back 6.

B.M wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 10:03pm I reckon he’s been short of a gallop and probably could’ve started in the VFL, especially if they were going to change his role.

He’s been relatively ordinary as a mid for the first 2 and a half games

As soon as he was put back to his regular gig as a shut down player, not only did he beat the dangerous Bolton but looked more comfortable in doing so

For him, I think his game starts with defence, and his offence come of the back of that.
I’m inclined to agree

He’s way way better then he was in the first two games… wasn’t bad by any means… but ok = underperforming for this kid.
His baseline is good… and a good performance by his standards is an excellent one.

Felt like a return to form for me over the weekend

Like BM, I thought he could have started at Sandy but it seems like he’s reached match conditioning now so more power to him

Just looks so comfortable down back, defends well and composed when he gets it!

This fascination of taking players who are doing well at the ends of the ground and turning them into mids irks me!

Works sometimes, but generally players are either natural mids or natural defenders/forwards

Composed class
Sorry Jarryn but I think your spots gone

If Geary plays in the seniors - COVID better have struck in WCE fashion

I’ve almost got him as the 45th player on the list, nothing to be gained by selecting him

And I’ve loved him as a player over his career

B.M wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 11:32pm If Geary plays in the seniors - COVID better have struck in WCE fashion

I’ve almost got him as the 45th player on the list, nothing to be gained by selecting him

And I’ve loved him as a player over his career
I agree
I’d have set him in a coaching journey as I think he’d be good in that space
See no point in him holding a list spot
He is 45 for me

One of the most reliable kicks in the team, good vision also.
You can see why they would experiment with him on a wing, with a couple of very nice passes to leading forwards in congested F50.
But as soon as he goes back he looks at home.

With Ben going back, whose position did he take?

Where’s Jimmy Webster playing these days?

SaintPav wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 11:59pm With Ben going back, whose position did he take?

Have you been busy mate?

Jimmy is either back pocket or HBF depending on the match up.

I think with both Coffield and Clark injured and Sinclair moving up the ground, Jimmy has cemented his spot …which I thought he deserved from a brilliant back half of 2021 and a good pre-season

Scollop wrote: Wed 06 Apr 2022 2:20am
SaintPav wrote: Tue 05 Apr 2022 11:59pm With Ben going back, whose position did he take?

Have you been busy mate?

Jimmy is either back pocket or HBF depending on the match up.

I think with both Coffield and Clark injured and Sinclair moving up the ground, Jimmy has cemented his spot …which I thought he deserved from a brilliant back half of 2021 and a good pre-season
Yes. Hard to tell these days on TV. It’s a salad.

Why did the rampaging Shai Bolton go quiet after his first 40 minutes? Ben Paton. Check the replay .

Paton is deceptively quick and extremely disciplined. Always does the team things. He's come back from a significant injury. Coach loves him for good reason.

Agree, why would we make one of our best defenders a mid?
Baffling, smacks of trying to fit too many HBF in our team.
We keep recruiting too much of the same player.
Even Sinclair who can play mid, at least in rotations is an excellent running defender with elite disposal and decision making and good defensive nous. He needs to be in the back 6 too…
Hill is the elephant in the room that needs to play wing and gut run between defence and attack. He can swap in defence for periods but not stay there.
Back 6/7
Wilkie
Sinclair
Paton
Howard
Webster
Battle
Hill/McKenzie/Coffield/Highmore/Clark

The best part of that back 6 is they can all kick well. Webster and Howard are a bit hit and miss…

Paton played most of his junior years as a mid. Played defender in his U18 season, though. Maybe the coaches feel he could play a tagging role for us going forward. It's great to have him back in the team, that's for sure

cwrcyn wrote: Wed 06 Apr 2022 9:19am Why did the rampaging Shai Bolton go quiet after his first 40 minutes? Ben Paton. Check the replay .

Paton is deceptively quick and extremely disciplined. Always does the team things. He's come back from a significant injury. Coach loves him for good reason.
There is no doubt Paton is still building his match fitness and running capacities. But from where he has come from he is doing really well. Bolton got away on him for one of his goals, but Paton is a great lock down defender. Plus as mentioned his kicking is exceptional.

I think he may be one who could play minutes through the midfield, but its a big ask when you're coming back from 12 months out of footy. Ratts needs to let him settle into his lock down roles and slowly build back to his 2020 form.

I was just reading some 2022 stats and it was interested that Hill is rated top 10 in clangers & 14th in turnovers this year. Clubs are shutting down his space and he doesnt like it.

Modern version of Justin Peckett

older saint wrote: Wed 06 Apr 2022 11:50am Modern version of Justin Peckett
Not a bad St Kilda comparison. I've always seen Paton as our Nick Smith. Nick was a midfielder for Oakleigh Chargers (with Robbie Gray) & Scotch (with Cyril) before becoming a Premiership & AA back pocket with Sydney. Eddie, Cyril, Robbie Gray were all notches on his belt, Milney as well.

Hope he turns out nearly as good as Peckett

3rd in the B&F twice - including 1997

250 odd games

Peckett an underrated player for StK

Although as a defender Peckett thought defence was the thing that went around the ground.

BTW
His son will play AFL

Saintmike65

B.M wrote: Wed 06 Apr 2022 2:30pm Hope he turns out nearly as good as Peckett

3rd in the B&F twice - including 1997

250 odd games

Peckett an underrated player for StK

Although as a defender Peckett thought defence was the thing that went around the ground.

BTW
His son will play AFL
Would that be Elwood Peckett?

Peckett would have suited today's football perfectly. Like Paton, deceptively quick. Was a bit more daring than Paton, though. Never got the credit he deserved

Loved Franky. Hope Patto has just as long a career with the Saints.