Is anyone actually going to take the time to watch next week?

We usually make an event of the Grand Final - but now there seems little to be really interested in - we cannot have gatherings - cannot have barbeques.

It seems almost like a non-event for the supporters of non-competing teams.

Re: Is anyone actually going to take the time to watch next week?

now that its the cats and tigers i honestly couldn't give a s***. typical of 2020 to serve that up.

Tough week for Stuv after he left us and didnt put the work in to get fit enough to hold his spot.

Of course!

I'll definitely watch it, at this point i don't give a shite who wins it.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 17 Oct 2020 10:29pm Tough week for Stuv after he left us and didnt put the work in to get fit enough to hold his spot.
That’s kinda how it looks. From the outside.

Might not even get a game next year.

What a year its been. Feels like a decade. (I look a decade older too!)

To think we were shattered to see Stuv and Bruce go...)

Newnes kicks clutch goal of the year. Bruce has one good game. Stuv looks porky. Acres showed a few signs (best of the outs)

Geee.

Yes, I’ll be watching next week...cause I ‘ain’t got nothin’ better to do I suppose....

But I am doing the sodding sober October thang, as usual...moan..bitch..

I actually hope Geelong win. For Rhyce Stanley maybe....Wecould do with him.

Can’t stand Geelong
Tigers win lesser of two evils I guess

The Astersisk Cup is going to be the biggest show on earth. Some real quality footy will be on display and they even expect more than 50 points to be scored.

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 12:16am Can’t stand Geelong
Tigers win lesser of two evils I guess
That's a no win situation.

Can't stand them or their smug arsed fans.

Vortex wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 8:21am The Astersisk Cup is going to be the biggest show on earth. Some real quality footy will be on display and they even expect more than 50 points to be scored.
TV ratings up 17% Secret Vortex! Still waiting for that plummet in national AND metro numbers that you guaranteed in round 2... :lol:

But back to the game, Richmond are the lesser of two evils here for me, couldn’t stand the Cats winning another one!

Not overly happy about the new time slot, I’m a big fan of the Saturday arvo GF, hopefully this night slot is not here to stay...
Last edited by The_Dud on Sun 18 Oct 2020 9:42am, edited 1 time in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 17 Oct 2020 10:14pm We usually make an event of the Grand Final - but now there seems little to be really interested in - we cannot have gatherings - cannot have barbeques.

It seems almost like a non-event for the supporters of non-competing teams.
Not interested in this one but have been socially conditioned to watch it since 1977.

I guess I'll just do what I'm told.

least i can buy a ticket

walk to the ground

wear my colours

or roll a magic cigarette
‘n go back into the garden

hmmmmmmm

roll on ‘21

edit

their $35 general entry tix
are now $185 for the Granny
Last edited by asiu on Sun 18 Oct 2020 10:21am, edited 1 time in total.

Love to see Ablett bow out next week as a loser. Yeah, I know,nasty, but I don't care. Hate the f****** cats with Selwood , a cheat, and Ablett, a mercenary, at the top of my list.

So I will be rooting, as the yanks say, for the mean and touthie Tigers, as long as Lynch gets beaten.

Definitely will watch GF

Hoping for Geelong bigtime - couldn't stand it if El Tigre win 3 flags in 4 years. Insufferable supporters.....
And for Stanley, Ablett, Rohan

Not to mention how El Tigre players behaved in the Semi v Saints :shock:
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Sun 18 Oct 2020 10:29am, edited 1 time in total.

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

what i heard was

gf tix were distributed around qld
via local footy clubs

they get to use them to ... fund raise

the govt wins
via ‘local tourism’
coming to Brissy
(accomodation , food , party supplies)

on said tickets
that were distributed around the state

The_Dud wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 9:41am
Vortex wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 8:21am The Astersisk Cup is going to be the biggest show on earth. Some real quality footy will be on display and they even expect more than 50 points to be scored.
TV ratings up 17% Secret Vortex! Still waiting for that plummet in national AND metro numbers that you guaranteed in round 2... :lol:

But back to the game, Richmond are the lesser of two evils here for me, couldn’t stand the Cats winning another one!

Not overly happy about the new time slot, I’m a big fan of the Saturday arvo GF, hopefully this night slot is not here to stay...
Are ratings up only 17%? That to me is disappointing. With either no crowds or restricted attendances, and many stranded at home with not a lot to do, I would have thought about 30% increase would be reasonable.

Anyway, I also prefer Richmond to win, and am with you in hoping that this does not lead to GFs being held at night in future.

the only good thing about this GF is that one of them is going to lose.

Dislike the cocky Tigers but have a deep seated hatred of everything Geelong.
Means I will have to support Richmond and hope someone catches up with Lynch.

Have never failed to get caught up in the AFL GF hype irrespective of who's playing off and really enjoy the days leading up and the day itself. Always great atmosphere, packed house, and hopefully a close encounter.

Should be a cracker of a game with both sides loaded with elite and very experienced talent and playing an aggressive, attacking, style of football.

Brownlow medal count tonight on 7 Mate will see the Saints finally having a player in contention - reckon Jack Steele will get really close if not win it outright, unlike the other contenders he hasn't had to compete with other teammates for BOG votes, if I was a betting man I'd put some serious money on him!

I'll be watching it, virtual drinks & barbies with mates. Good luck to both teams. The most memorable year of football in my time. The hardest Premiership to win ever. I really wish the Saints were there.

Winning it next year will be an anti climax.

A friend of mine is a mad Filth fan. All of a sudden she’s on FB last night saying ‘go cats...can anyone get me a gf ticket.’ :x

Like WTF? I didn’t have the heart to tell her to give herself a decent uppercut

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 12:28pm I'll be watching it, virtual drinks & barbies with mates. Good luck to both teams. The most memorable year of football in my time. The hardest Premiership to win ever. I really wish the Saints were there.

Way to go Ghost.

I echo what the Dud says about night granny and all the American Tinsel Town hype and show....but I wouldn’t mind a twilight.
Just Eddie and his TV “raz-amattaz” shtick makes me chunder a wee bit. Twilight the way to go.

Honestly, you guys hate Geelong, ad I do.
But Cotchin! Seriously? You want him wearing another medallion? Lynch. Hardwick?

Asius garden idea sounds good.

Unfortunately, a good way to get behind bars for life where I am.

Nobody in Japan has heard of Australian Football or the Grand Final or footy, They just say, ‘Wallabies” if anything at all. And it’s autumn.

What a bummer. I feel deflated thoroughly after that ride. But it was quite a ride.

Would put my money on the Tigers if forced too. Maybe that’s why I ever so slightly prefer Geelong.

I’ll be watching and hoping for a Premiership medal for:

Rhys Stanley
Sean Simpson’s son
Geoff Ablett’s nephew

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 18 Oct 2020 12:28pm I'll be watching it, virtual drinks & barbies with mates. Good luck to both teams. The most memorable year of football in my time. The hardest Premiership to win ever. I really wish the Saints were there.

Er.. I think I'll take us winning it next year or the year after over winning Covid Cup.

Certainly a memorable year, not for the football played, but for the cobbling together of some inconvenient arrangements/restrictions to enable some sort of mini football season to be completed. Hardest premiership to win ever? In a football sense, no way.

Quite like the Tigers. My oldest mate is a mad fan....and I despise Geelong. Like Pav I always watch the GF no matter what. So yep, will be perched in front of the telly enjoying Geelong’s punchable heads losing.