Lock up your mids

This unofficial St Kilda Saints fan forum is for people of all ages to chat Saints Footy and all posts must be respectful.

Moderators: Saintsational Administrators, Saintsational Moderators

diddley
Club Player

Lock up your mids

I have been saying this for the last 2 years to my mates.
Getting Dan Hannebery was never JUST about having a player that used to play well, in the hope that he would recover from his injuries and play well for us. It was about giving other players the confidence to be traded to us over the next few years.
When Dan came here, we were a mess, and had tried to land a “Big Fish” with not even a nibble, same as North Melbourne were doing.
12 months later, we went on a trade raid and landed 5 players (plus Abbott), who have all been best 22, and transformed us into a desirable destination.
The next step is the Big Fish. Quality midfielders. We have the cash, we now have some fringe players of relative tradable quality, and a few picks. We have the back-of-house team to get these things done now. And, to top everything else, we have a coach that players want to play for.
I can’t wait to see what happens in the next trade raid.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/483035/lock ... trade-raid

skeptic
Saintsational Legend

Re: Lock up your mids

So which of the 5 recruits came explicitly because Hannerbury coming made the Saints more appealing?

st.byron
Saintsational Legend

diddley wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 10:17am I have been saying this for the last 2 years to my mates.
Getting Dan Hannebery was never JUST about having a player that used to play well, in the hope that he would recover from his injuries and play well for us. It was about giving other players the confidence to be traded to us over the next few years.
When Dan came here, we were a mess, and had tried to land a “Big Fish” with not even a nibble, same as North Melbourne were doing.