Feb 19th - Bulldogs vs StKilda at ... WTF!

Re: Feb 19th - Bulldogs vs StKilda at ... WTF!

My concern long term is that currently we have a very socially democratic and equitably inclined AFL CEO in Andrew Demetriou and there is a real sense of security in the 18 team comp and the continuation of us, doggies, demons and norf.

But this can all change very quickly.

A new CEO and a more 'market' inspired head honcho and we could be in serious trouble in a short time.

I feel some on here have a false sense of security developed during the Demetriou reign that we are secure long term. We should not be complacent on this.

People are like - oh this doesn't matter and that doesn't matter and who cares about this that and the other.

But if there is a sentiment/leadership change at AFL HQ then clubs that are not self sufficient and can't stand on this own two feet could be in serious trouble.

Not saying this will happen - but we need to be open to the possibility - and do everything we can to be self sufficient as a club and business.

Right now we aren't and who knows how the AFL will decide to cut the revenue pie in the future. The current formula is not guaranteed.

I don't believe we need to make a profit every year - I'm happy with just breaking even over the long term. But we aint doing that atm.

Con Gorozidis wrote:My concern long term is that currently we have a very socially democratic and equitably inclined AFL CEO in Andrew Demetriou and there is a real sense of security in the 18 team comp and the continuation of us, doggies, demons and norf.

But this can all change very quickly.

A new CEO and a more 'market' inspired head honcho and we could be in serious trouble in a short time.

I feel some on here have a false sense of security developed during the Demetriou reign that we are secure long term. We should not be complacent on this.

People are like - oh this doesn't matter and that doesn't matter and who cares about this that and the other.

But if there is a sentiment/leadership change at AFL HQ then clubs that are not self sufficient and can't stand on this own two feet could be in serious trouble.

Not saying this will happen - but we need to be open to the possibility - and do everything we can to be self sufficient as a club and business.

Right now we aren't and who knows how the AFL will decide to cut the revenue pie in the future. The current formula is not guaranteed.

I don't believe we need to make a profit every year - I'm happy with just breaking even over the long term. But we aint doing that atm.

Well i for one have never thought we were safe if we got a new CEO and thats why i laugh with so many people wanting him to go. At least with him in charge we now 18 sides will exist even if it isnt a level playing field. I think he is certain to go at the end of the year and then we will have 2 years under the new CEO where we will be safe due to all the contracts in place. After that who knows what will happen. My guess is a new deal will still include all clubs but there is probably a slight chance it may not and that is why we have 2 years to try and get our house in order. It is up to our club to improve off field because the last few years have been disgusting considering we have been in the fight for the 8 for over 10 years baring last season.

merimbula

Sorry Plugger but you can really be a yawn................ or is that bore? Is it really necessary to comment continuously? I suggest wait a few hours and see if others have any comments. I know you can do it!

merimbula wrote:Sorry Plugger but you can really be a yawn................ or is that bore? Is it really necessary to comment continuously? I suggest wait a few hours and see if others have any comments. I know you can do it!

Yes it is. You can easily solve the problem like many others have. Put me on ignore. Im sure you can do it. telling me to stop will not work. And calling me a bore wont work either.

Life Long Saint wrote:Do we really? Just because of the poor deal at Etihad? Tthe AFL's discretionary payment to Essendon is $8.4M...and they have a sweet deat. Are we getting screwed again?
Good question. Payments to cubs in 2012 (the latest I can find):

http://www.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20 ... 12_web.pdf (page 122)

Western Bulldogs $12.70m
Melbourne $12.65m
Collingwood $12.54m
St Kilda $12.50m
North Melbourne $12.32m
Essendon $11.98m
Sydney $11.92m
Richmond $11.55m
Port Adelaide $11.14m
Geelong $11.14m
Carlton $10.87m
Hawthorn $10.64m
Brisbane $10.78m
Adelaide $10.27m
Gold Coast $9.35m
GWS $9.34m
Fremantle $9.34m
West Coast $9.23m

Obviously we're pretty close to the top of this table.

The basis for these payments is:
The AFL makes a number of different distributions and payments to AFL clubs. These payments included the following in 2012:
> A base distribution to all clubs which totalled $121.6 million, an increase of $16.5 million.
> A bonus distribution of $1.2 million to all clubs from the broadcast rights proceeds.
> The AFL distributed equal and disequal payments totalling $30.6 million to all clubs in 2012 from the Club Future Fund.
> Other payments to clubs included amounts for ground buyout agreements, distribution of the AFL’s signage rights at Etihad Stadium, prizemoney, travel subsidies and promotional funding to help clubs develop the game around Australia.
Good to see the struggling Melbourne clubs: Bulldogs, Demons, Magpies, being looked after.

always_a_saint

Aren't the bulldogs considering playing Home and away matches in Geelong in the future? Maybe they requested it to see if their supporters get down there? Not as good for us of course but seriously, Geelong isn't at the bloody end of the world. It's 40mins from the CBD and 1.15 from eastern suburbs. School night doesn't help though, I'm a teacher and a lot of the kids at my school (in Geelong) didn't even go watch the cats as it was too late a night! But I for one am stoked since I live in Geelong and this is a rare chance to see them play down here! And since I'm trying to turn all my Preps into Saints supporters hopefully we get a win :wink:

will always be a saint...no matter what.

bring home that premiership boys

always_a_saint wrote:but seriously, Geelong isn't at the bloody end of the world.
Really? :shock: :shock: :shock:

A lot of whinging going on this site. Don't care where they play as long as it's telecast

That's the point.

It's NOT on free to air.
And BOTH games aren't easily accessible.

always_a_saint wrote:Aren't the bulldogs considering playing Home and away matches in Geelong in the future? Maybe they requested it to see if their supporters get down there? Not as good for us of course but seriously, Geelong isn't at the bloody end of the world. It's 40mins from the CBD and 1.15 from eastern suburbs. School night doesn't help though, I'm a teacher and a lot of the kids at my school (in Geelong) didn't even go watch the cats as it was too late a night! But I for one am stoked since I live in Geelong and this is a rare chance to see them play down here! And since I'm trying to turn all my Preps into Saints supporters hopefully we get a win :wink:

Top stuff!
Brain wash the little buggers early!

always_a_saint wrote:Aren't the bulldogs considering playing Home and away matches in Geelong in the future? Maybe they requested it to see if their supporters get down there? Not as good for us of course but seriously, Geelong isn't at the bloody end of the world. It's 40mins from the CBD and 1.15 from eastern suburbs. School night doesn't help though, I'm a teacher and a lot of the kids at my school (in Geelong) didn't even go watch the cats as it was too late a night! But I for one am stoked since I live in Geelong and this is a rare chance to see them play down here! And since I'm trying to turn all my Preps into Saints supporters hopefully we get a win :wink:
Good stuff.

Sometimes people forget that Saints supporters live all over the State, and all over the Country for that matter, and it's nice that sometimes those people get a chance to see their team play in their own backyard.

Yes it may not be on free to air TV but it would be pretty easy to go to the local pub and view it if you don't have Foxtel.

Anyways, I'll be traveling heaps this year just to see the lads at Etihad so I'm gonna take this opportunity to stroll down the end of the street to watch us take on the Doggies :)

Good stuff.

Sometimes people forget that Saints supporters live all over the State, and all over the Country for that matter, and it's nice that sometimes those people get a chance to see their team play in their own backyard.

Yes it may not be on free to air TV but it would be pretty easy to go to the local pub and view it if you don't have Foxtel.

Anyways, I'll be traveling heaps this year just to see the lads at Etihad so I'm gonna take this opportunity to stroll down the end of the street to watch us take on the Doggies :)
Maybe you guys can become friends.
Wouldn't that be a great feel good story.

Kind of like the opposite of the stinger-grumpy or the bm-p66 feuds . A real heart warmer :D :D :D

Enrico_Misso wrote:That's the point.

It's NOT on free to air.
And BOTH games aren't easily accessible.

Well last year the game was at Etihad and on Foxtel and only 6K went so it seems not many care and last years game at least meant something as you could win money and a cup. These are practice matches.

Free reserved seats for members behind the goals for this huge match.

You still have to pay the very reasonably priced general admission fee of only $18.

GRAMophone

Good stuff.

Well there're a few of us have lucked out for this game. I'm in Williamstown (plenty of Saints here btw), starved for footy, and very much looking forward to seeing the boys at a quality venue 40 minutes down the road.......and not a feral cat in sight!

HOPELESSLY DEVOTED
merimbula

Well plugger as you continuously accuse others - where did I say that?

I did not say you were a bore - that was a question - if you perceive you are, and react to that, well that is not my fault.

I called you a yawn. That is fact as written!

well, I plan to watch it on Foxtel, practice match or not, it's the first chance to see the fellas play in 2014

merimbula wrote:Well plugger as you continuously accuse others - where did I say that?

I did not say you were a bore - that was a question - if you perceive you are, and react to that, well that is not my fault.

I called you a yawn. That is fact as written!

And I agree with you. Even when I agre people struggle.

Should I whine its on a wed and that I will be at work and I will surely know the score before I get to see a replace

Ffs people had to ttravel from all over the country due ng the finals in 09 and 10 and driving an hr or so to geelongs ground is too hard????
Maybe when we play port in a practice match on march 8 at Alberton i should whinge like a little bitch I have to travel over an hr to get to it and that I've also only got two games live this year to go to for my 500$ membershiip costs.

Seriously stfu and just drive.
f*** me.....

I was gonna drive down but Doc gave my picture to the Geelong city limits patrol. No banana benders allowed in Sleepy Hollow even if they are ex pat Victorians.

Something about not wanting to muddy the gene pool....

stevie wrote:I was gonna drive down but Doc gave my picture to the Geelong city limits patrol. No banana benders allowed in Sleepy Hollow even if they are ex pat Victorians.

Not true stevie. Our Mayor welcomes everyone :)

bozza1980

Dr Spaceman wrote:Seriously?

I, like many others on this forum, can remember back to the late 70s early 80s when there was a real chance our club may have ceased to exist.

Or it may have been relocated to another state like South Melbourne and Fitzroy.

And here are some people worried about where a NAB Challenge game is being played. Unbelievable :shock:

By the way, the second one’s in Wagga and that’s a real long way away.

The point is that these games are on Foxtel, and if you don’t have Foxtel you can always go to a mate’s place or down the local pub where no doubt the game will be shown.

And yes dragit (and others), I do live in Geelong these days, but it honestly wouldn’t worry me where these games were played.

I’m just glad we still have a Melbourne based team to follow.
So what? Things used to be worse so dont complain about things that dont make sense?

It makes zero sense that we are playing the Bulldogs in Geelong, why, considering the fact we are playing Port at Alberton, why wouldnt we be playing this one at Whitten Oval or heaven forbid in Melbourne?

When followed by two interstate trips it is lip service to our supporters.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

stevie wrote:I was gonna drive down but Doc gave my picture to the Geelong city limits patrol. No banana benders allowed in Sleepy Hollow even if they are ex pat Victorians.

Not true stevie. Our Mayor welcomes everyone :)

WTF is that? It looks like Willy Wonka got on acid, turned gay and took over the city. At least they can turn the Ford factory into some kind of deadly chocolate factory now.

bozza1980 wrote:

I, like many others on this forum, can remember back to the late 70s early 80s when there was a real chance our club may have ceased to exist.

Or it may have been relocated to another state like South Melbourne and Fitzroy.

And here are some people worried about where a NAB Challenge game is being played. Unbelievable :shock:

The point is that these games are on Foxtel, and if you don’t have Foxtel you can always go to a mate’s place or down the local pub where no doubt the game will be shown.

And yes dragit (and others), I do live in Geelong these days, but it honestly wouldn’t worry me where these games were played.

So what? Things used to be worse so dont complain about things that dont make sense?

It makes zero sense that we are playing the Bulldogs in Geelong, why, considering the fact we are playing Port at Alberton, why wouldnt we be playing this one at Whitten Oval or heaven forbid in Melbourne?

It's about running the NAB into the ground so the AFL can convince players the fans don't care. They think the dogs and saints won't complain because they consider us losers. It will show data that says the NAB only attracts tiny crowds and they can push for a 28 game season instead with ALFPA. Not offering any money for prize money and stuffing the play offs up is another cynical move.

They killed of state of origin which is as much about promotion into other markets as anything else. Play all stars in Darwin and Tassie, NSW in NSW etc. The SOO in league is always a high profile event and actually gets people like me watching league. We have some idiots in charge ATM. You would think they were trying to lose their dominance in national sporting profile.

The NAB is only on FOX I don't have it or want it and I'm not taking my kids to the pub and a wednesday won't be easy to see. The kids have got to see about 4 or 5 games last year and are losing interest in AFL. Soccer is the way forward as Demetriou kills our sport off. It gets that live games free to air builds profile. The NAB sells memberships, it gets the the saliva building for the next season etc. they need someone with vision soon or they will just rust away. They should be doing weeknight televised matches or something with one of the networks secondary channels or we will slowly lose what we have.

bozza1980 wrote:

It's about running the NAB into the ground so the AFL can convince players the fans don't care. They think the dogs and saints won't complain because they consider us losers. It will show data that says the NAB only attracts tiny crowds and they can push for a 28 game season instead with ALFPA. Not offering any money for prize money and stuffing the play offs up is another cynical move.

They killed of state of origin which is as much about promotion into other markets as anything else. Play all stars in Darwin and Tassie, NSW in NSW etc. The SOO in league is always a high profile event and actually gets people like me watching league. We have some idiots in charge ATM. You would think they were trying to lose their dominance in national sporting profile.

The NAB is only on FOX I don't have it or want it and I'm not taking my kids to the pub and a wednesday won't be easy to see. The kids have got to see about 4 or 5 games last year and are losing interest in AFL. Soccer is the way forward as Demetriou kills our sport off. It gets that live games free to air builds profile. The NAB sells memberships, it gets the the saliva building for the next season etc. they need someone with vision soon or they will just rust away. They should be doing weeknight televised matches or something with one of the networks secondary channels or we will slowly lose what we have.

What a weird post. 28 game season. What are you about. Footy only on fox but kids now watch soccer that has a massive one game a week on FTA compared to 4 in the AFL. State of origin was dead the minute the national league worked. It doesnt work in NRL and thats why state of origin works. The NAB challenge is practice matches on TV. How was the soccer practice matches on TV?