Feb 19th - Bulldogs vs StKilda at ... WTF!

Simonds Stadium!!!!!

Why on earth would you schedule a game between two Melbourne based teams at that cesspit?

ROLS-LEE

Re: Feb 19th - Bulldogs vs StKilda at ... WTF!

so we can help pay the mortgage on that stadium too.

Make a night of it!

Car ferry over from Sorrento Wednesday arvo! Hit the match and pig out on over-priced junk food.

Hit the Freeway at 9.30 after the match. Safe and sound in bed before 11pm.

All the cash will go to helping the Cats Charity fund!

geelong aint a bad place to visit kids... come down and see

People complain whatever happens. They are practice matches that is mainly a TV event. Get over it.

plugger66 wrote:People complain whatever happens. They are practice matches that is mainly a TV event. Get over it.
Yes they are TV events, but why isn't Cardboard Park an option anymore I'd like to know? At least that's in Melbourne.

But if you have Foxtel it's live and in HD

falka

Stoked, closer to home than Seaford. Visy is a joke and at least it is a football ground that we actually play on this year.

Pretty sure they did it just for Dr Spaceman.

Seriously?

I, like many others on this forum, can remember back to the late 70s early 80s when there was a real chance our club may have ceased to exist.

Or it may have been relocated to another state like South Melbourne and Fitzroy.

And here are some people worried about where a NAB Challenge game is being played. Unbelievable :shock:

By the way, the second one’s in Wagga and that’s a real long way away.

The point is that these games are on Foxtel, and if you don’t have Foxtel you can always go to a mate’s place or down the local pub where no doubt the game will be shown.

And yes dragit (and others), I do live in Geelong these days, but it honestly wouldn’t worry me where these games were played.

I’m just glad we still have a Melbourne based team to follow.

Spacey, will you be in the cheersquad for the big match?

I'm with you, Doc. Couldn't care less about where NAB Cup games are held.

For a moment I forgot where Simonds Stadium was. I still refer to it as Kardinina Park.

Was meant to be a light joke mate, I don't hold any negative perceptions based on where anyone lives, doesn't worry me in the slightest.

2 Melbourne based clubs fixtures in geelong dies seem a little odd, but still pretty easy to get to for most.

dragit wrote:Was meant to be a light joke mate, I don't hold any negative perceptions based on where anyone lives, doesn't worry me in the slightest.
No sweat mate. Didn't mean for it to sound like I was offended. I had simply drafted my post and then saw your comments just before I hit submit. The dragit namecheck was just a quick addition 8-)

LTN16

It suits us saint supporters that live in the south west!!

dragit wrote:Was meant to be a light joke mate, I don't hold any negative perceptions based on where anyone lives, doesn't worry me in the slightest.

2 Melbourne based clubs fixtures in geelong dies seem a little odd, but still pretty easy to get to for most.
Rubbish unless you're a Westie, especially considering it's a night game on a school night.

Soft.

Well from what you have previously said it wouldnt matter where we play based on that comment but go ahead keep it up.

plugger66 wrote:People complain whatever happens. They are practice matches that is mainly a TV event. Get over it.
Yes they are TV events, but why isn't Cardboard Park an option anymore I'd like to know? At least that's in Melbourne.

Do they have lights?

It doesn't really matter where it's played. I'll be sitting on the couch watching.

kosifantutti wrote:

Do they have lights?

It doesn't really matter where it's played. I'll be sitting on the couch watching.

No they dont but that doesnt matter. Use it anyway.

I like Geelong as a place.

But it does seem all 3 of our Nab Cup Challenge matches are 'away' games.

Geelong is basically a home game for the Dish Lickers (would be very convenient for fans from Werribee etc).
Wagga is definitely a home game for the Giants
Alberton is definitely a home game for the Power.

I wouldn't have minded seeing us playing a Nab Challenge game at the Frankston Oval - I think it has decent lighting.

Dr Spaceman wrote:Seriously?

I, like many others on this forum, can remember back to the late 70s early 80s when there was a real chance our club may have ceased to exist.

Or it may have been relocated to another state like South Melbourne and Fitzroy.

And here are some people worried about where a NAB Challenge game is being played. Unbelievable :shock:

By the way, the second one’s in Wagga and that’s a real long way away.

The point is that these games are on Foxtel, and if you don’t have Foxtel you can always go to a mate’s place or down the local pub where no doubt the game will be shown.

And yes dragit (and others), I do live in Geelong these days, but it honestly wouldn’t worry me where these games were played.

I’m just glad we still have a Melbourne based team to follow.
Well said Doc

Con Gorozidis wrote:I like Geelong as a place.

But it does seem all 3 of our Nab Cup Challenge matches are 'away' games.

Geelong is basically a home game for the Dish Lickers (would be very convenient for fans from Werribee etc).
Wagga is definitely a home game for the Giants
Alberton is definitely a home game for the Power.

I wouldn't have minded seeing us playing a Nab Challenge game at the Frankston Oval - I think it has decent lighting.

I doubt the lighting is even close to AFL standard and then there has to be boxes for commentators and enough places to put TV cameras. As for home games im unsure I get why it matters. I dont think there is any prize and they are all just practice matches now.

But Plugger - isn't the pre-season idea (apart from getting game time into players) all about taking it to the regions and club PR and getting the kiddies along and selling a few memberships?

Just seems like the other 3 sides can all spruik memberships while we can't.

Con Gorozidis wrote:But Plugger - isn't the pre-season idea (apart from getting game time into players) all about taking it to the regions and club PR and getting the kiddies along and selling a few memberships?

Just seems like the other 3 sides can all spruik memberships while we can't.

You are right about memberships, they would sell a few but lets be honest that most who would go to a practice match are still most likely to buy them anyway. The problem the saints have is that there are bugger suitable venues around where we base ourselves.

What in hell are you lot all whinging about?

It is a chance to win there for the first time this century.

Great opportunity, and we dont even have to play Geelong.

Count your blessings.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)