Dec 18 to renew your SC Membership..or you may lose it..

By coincidence:

* I went to renew my membership this morning as I am going away soon, and read through the brochure and noted that it had cut-off date for SC renewal of Dec 18. The difference being if you do not renew by then you may lose it.

* and have just gotten home to find my daughters renewal package...which has several reminders in it to renew SC by 5PM on Dec 18 .

I don't recall mention of this date and I could have easily missed it as I am about to head overseas on holiday and would not have read mt mail till Dec 31.

As the consequences of not renewing are now dire since there is a Waiting List I thought this news rated it's own thread in order to highlight it.

So all SC Members take note...
Last edited by saintsRrising on Tue 01 Dec 2009 3:33pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cheers for that sRs!

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

I had planned to renew tomorrow

Thanks anyway though, i thought they were a bit slower this year bringin gout the memberships?

Batnoe wrote:I had planned to renew tomorrow

Thanks anyway though, i thought they were a bit slower this year bringin gout the memberships?
Yes...I think the lack of notice combined with the early cut off of Dec 18 will catch a few out.

Re: Dec 18 to renew your SC Membership..or you may lose it..

saintsRrising wrote:By coincidence:

* I went to renew my membership this morning as I am going away soon, and read through the brochure and noted that it had cut-off date for SC renewal of Dec 18. The difference being if you do not renew by then you may lose it.

* and have just gotten home to find my daughters renewal package...which has several reminders in it to renew SC by 5PM on Dec 18 .

I don't recall mention of this date and I could have easily missed it as I am about to head overseas on holiday and would not have read mt mail till Dec 31.

As the consequences of not renewing are now dire since there is a Waiting List I thought this news rated it's own thread in order to highlight it.

So all SC Members take note...
Our family are on a "rollover" plan, but noticed that this year(reading the broachers) they are NOT accepting AMEX...

I know that I will have to ring the Club tomorrow and I just wanted to alert others that have their membership on a "rollover plan" using AMEX..

If the Club has decided to not accept AMEX and have sent this membership renewal package to everone, it maybe that those that are on a rollover plan using AMEX have not bothered to read this brochure ..

Again, will endeavour to ring the Clug tomorrow....

I really don't mind if it's with AMEX or not, but I just feel that if the Club don't accept the card any more, maybe some on here just would not realise it if they have the "roll over plan" as myself

St Fidelius wrote:

Our family are on a "rollover" plan, but noticed that this year(reading the broachers) they are NOT accepting AMEX...

I know that I will have to ring the Club tomorrow and I just wanted to alert others that have their membership on a "rollover plan" using AMEX..

I don't think it was on the brochures last year either, but if you were already using Amex they just rolled it over.

I assume that this is likewise this year. I have only received one package for one duaghter who is no longer a junior and is now a "youth' and so a different package is required.
St Fidelius wrote:

I really don't mind if it's with AMEX or not,
I do..as I am points runner and like to maximise things to provide International Flights for family holidays. Amex will gain me 50% more points per $ than my VISA (ie 1.5 rather than 1.0). They all add up.

bozza1980

saintsRrising wrote:I do..as I am points runner and like to maximise things to provide International Flights for family holidays. Amex will gain me 50% more points per $ than my VISA (ie 1.5 rather than 1.0). They all add up.
I'm with you, not happy.

I know the simpleton logic behind taking away the AMEX option but surely (when you consider the importance to the club of people taking out memberships) that they make it easier not harder for people to make payment.

But who cares about supporters anyway, on a completely different note (but an illustration of disregard of supporters), I had my father down from Brissie the other week and decided to drop in on the club to have a look at the trophy cabinet, little did I know that it's not "open" on Saturdays (the trophy cabinet that is). Rather silly of me, why would anyone who works business hours want to see our trophy cabinet??

St Fidelius wrote:

I don't think it was on the brochures last year either, but if you were already using Amex they just rolled it over.

I assume that this is likewise this year. I have only received one package for one duaghter who is no longer a junior and is now a "youth' and so a different package is required.
St Fidelius wrote:

I really don't mind if it's with AMEX or not,
I do..as I am points runner and like to maximise things to provide International Flights for family holidays. Amex will gain me 50% more points per $ than my VISA (ie 1.5 rather than 1.0). They all add up.
thanks mate..

lol platinum member???

I get a message every month to join the platinum membership and have never bothered...

If it's worth while for you, yeah, go for it....

I will try and verify the Clubs stance on this tomorrow (time permitting) ...

I had only a ten minute break for lunch today...

wasn't there a problem with your AMEX payments last year?
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 01 Dec 2009 9:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

St Fidelius wrote:

Vietnam for Xmas....Europe next July holidays...so yes it is worth it.

CC fees are often negotiable. I often do not pay any.

Cheers SRR.

Gee, thats a bit harsh.

Especially before christmas with such short notice.

Maybe the club should remember we are the ones that pay the social club membership every year, and at least give us till after christmas to renew.

To some familys that's over $1000 just before christmas.

St Fidelius wrote:

Vietnam for Xmas....Europe next July holidays...so yes it is worth it.

CC fees are often negotiable. I often do not pay any.
Hang on a minute.....Vietnam for Xmas.....Europe next July for hols (fancy doing that at the busy time of year.... :wink: )

How does one get a job doing what you're doing? :wink:

Spinner wrote:Cheers SRR.

Gee, thats a bit harsh.

Especially before christmas with such short notice.

Maybe the club should remember we are the ones that pay the social club membership every year, and at least give us till after christmas to renew.

To some familys that's over $1000 just before christmas.
You can go on the easypay renewal though and spread it out over 10 months. ie they take 10% automatically

There is no loading for this and so this is what I do.

Hang on a minute.....Vietnam for Xmas.....Europe next July for hols (fancy doing that at the busy time of year.... :wink: )
Yes that is the downside, but July is often used as my kids have 3 weeks school break then...andt there are only so many places you can fly to in the non-football months.
Teflon wrote: How does one get a job doing what you're doing? :wink:
The vast majority of my points are not gained via work. Indeed I actually earn more points now than when I used to fly a lot in a previous career.

However in Points Running you maximise by:
* optimising direct point earn
* extra earn via promotions etc (there is some real cream here and in recent years this has far exceeded the direct earn)
* minimising cost of aquisition (ie avoiding CC fees and charges)
* optimising redemptions by FF program depending where you want to fly (ie all are different and each provide various ways to maximise things).

These programs have millions of members and so a bit of strategy and discipline goes a long way to supercharging things as loopholes regularly present. :wink:

I never had time to ring the Club today.

Has anyone who uses AMEX to pay for memberships had time to contact the Club?

St Fidelius wrote:I never had time to ring the Club today.

Has anyone who uses AMEX to pay for memberships had time to contact the Club?
I am down for auto-renewal and use Amex.

So I suspect that if you are in already with Amex that they will maintain it.

I am pretty sure this was the case last year.

However if you are not already on auto-renal with your Amex details entered you will probably need to contact them directly.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Wed 02 Dec 2009 6:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

St Fidelius wrote:I never had time to ring the Club today.

Has anyone who uses AMEX to pay for memberships had time to contact the Club?[/quote

I am down for auto-renewal and use Amex.

So I suspect that if you are in already with Amex that they will maintain it.

I am pretty sure this was the case last year.

However if you are not already on auto-renal with your Amex details entered you will probably need to contact them directly.
Yeah, I have been down for auto-renewal for a few years, but I only noticed the 2010 brochure without AMEX, and to be honest I didn't really read the 2009 brochure.

When did the renewal brochures come out ??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Enrico_Misso wrote:When did the renewal brochures come out ??? :shock: :shock: :shock:
My daughters came yesterday. That was because she has moved from being a junior to a youth...and SC moves from junior to adult.

For the other 4 of us, one of whom is an 18 year old at a separate address no brochures have been received though on-line one can view auto-renewal accounts.

With 11000 SC Members someone is bound to be away at present and will miss the date. I assume the club will have to allow some grace period due to this.....otherwise their will be some unhappy "former" SC Members.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Wed 02 Dec 2009 10:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

Milan Faletic

I never thought I'd see the day when we our Social Club quota would be full and there is a waiting list to get in. :shock:

Halo-9
Location: Giving the fruit loops and powder puff supporters the finger everyday!

got my membership paperwork for social club yesterday and renewed today :)

ST.KILDA are the BEST
So F**K all the REST

*BALLwagon Member #9*

SAINTS LOVE......................SAINTS FOOTY
Pwoit

So do you have to renew your games membership along with social club.

Or do you just pay for the social club membership ?

Pwoit wrote:So do you have to renew your games membership along with social club.

Or do you just pay for the social club membership ?
I believe it's both

SinCitySaint

I have been a social club member for over ten years and now because of the clubs new found attitude of "members are there to be screwed" I may well lose my social club membership.
For my family it is over $1200 for next year which I have budgeted for and would have paid sometime in February. Now however I am told unless I pay early I can basically get stuffed because they will get the money elsewhere. To pull this garbage just before Christmas shows the kind of club Westaway and his group want. Given the debarcle with GF tickets you would think the club would want to support the members rather than rip them off for for a couple of months interest payments.

I was not anti-Westaway or Pro-Butters and in fact did not see to many issues either way. While I commend what Westaway and his cohorts have helped achieve on the field their treatment of members is close to disgraceful.

good point Sin

an interstater over here asked me how to go about upgrading etc for next year
i gave her links yadda yadda yadda

she got back to me saying she couldnt upgrade
so im guessing when the ones who cant afford to renew SC before xmas, dont, then people like her can become a SC'er

not very well thought out imo
sometimes clubs dont seem to do much thinking and presume peeps are fat loaded before xmas
and tough s*** if they aint coz someone will take ya spot
who cares who, as long as numbers are filled im guessing
:?