Official 2010 AFL Premiership season Fixture

Saint05

Personally the fixture is great:

-7 Friday Night Games (Possibly 8 if Rd 22 is played on FN)
-1 Monday Night (Home too)
-2 Saturday afternoon games in Melbourne
-NO Sunday games (apart from 1 early game against Port)
-4 Sunday Twilight games, annoying but easy with work

The fixture is easy with me with work, esp being in the retail industry. I can work mornings on the weekends and make it to the night games easily. Fri night shouldn't be a problem if theres no uni on, but even then I dont think Uniwould stop me from missing a football game :D The only downfall is Round 22 in Adelaide imo. I dont mind if we play interstate Round 1 or 22, but not both. The AFL excuse being we havent traveled interstate recently out of the other Victorian clubs and its our turn. Still, looking forward to another great year with the St. Kilda footy club :)

Strength through Loyality!

do some ppl not like it because of the times we play?

The teams we play twice i couldnt be happier with, the fact we dont have to play the dogs, cats or hawks twice is good too...

Friday nights are great as we have the media and other supporters watching us..

Who cares about twighlight games... Theyre great, i can fly down on a sunday morning and fly back.. fantastic!!

Beej

Love myself a twilight game.

The amount of 6-day breaks are worrying though.

Carlton on Monday night will be immense.

hellorocky wrote:as an 11 game member traveling from 300km away - this would have to be the worst home draw ever

3 sunday twilight
1 monday nite,
3 friday nite,
1 early start sunday.
2 saturday night ,
1 saturDAY home game (my preference)

don't like banks of home games together ie round 2,3 4 - whatever happened to 1 home, 1 away?

haven't really looked at away game except the Perth ones :D 8-)
even Perth games not good here when you have to work the Monday- would have preferred sat arvo or evening..

this link is quite a good overview
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfnews ... 39890.html

.Related Coverage
Magpies the big winners in 2010 AFL draw
EXCEL 2010 AFL fixture
EXCEL Club-by-club AFL fixture good easy view.
Fev's Gabba blockbuster set
YOUR SAY 2010 AFL fixture

St Kilda
In Vic - 16
In SA - 2
In NSW - 1
In Qld - 1
In WA - 2
Night - 16; Day - 5
Highlights - Sydney (ANZ) Round 1, Collingwood (Etihad) Round 3, Carlton (Etihad) Round 7, Geelong (MCG) Round 13, Collingwood (MCG) Round 16.

on a positive note we only go to one ground we didn't win at last year-- we won at all others...

hellorocky wrote:as an 11 game member traveling from 300km away - this would have to be the worst home draw ever

3 sunday twilight
1 monday nite,
3 friday nite,
1 early start sunday.
2 saturday night ,
1 saturDAY home game (my preference)

don't like banks of home games together ie round 2,3 4 - whatever happened to 1 home, 1 away?

haven't really looked at away game except the Perth ones :D 8-)
even Perth games not good here when you have to work the Monday- would have preferred sat arvo or evening..
we never really play over there at night.
i remember 07 v freo we did? and 05 the season opener v wce?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
35...LEGEND

chook23 wrote:bloody Sun 4.40pm twighlight games...............

:evil:

:lol: Love a good Sunday Session,although Monday can be a drag afterwards :lol:

Winmarvellous

2 games @ Subi. That's all I wanted, and it's what I got. I'm happy.

Another 6 interstate trips, of course the patron saint of mediocrity Collingwood only get 4 again.
Personally, I find Friday night games a pain in the ass because I have too rush into town from work to get there on time.
I am a strong believer thagt Friday night games should start at 8.00pm, that extra 20 minutes would be very welcomed.
But, no reason why we can't win the McCleland trophy again, and the that other cup four weeks later.

Please correct me if I am wrong...

This season we had 5 away interstate games...

Next season we have 6 away interstate games...

Geelong had 5 last year, any idea how many they have next year?

Also just how many Victorian Clubs travel interstate (home matches) next season that equals 6???

Just how many away interstate games do the Bulldogs, Carlton, Essendon, Collingwood and Hawthorn have???

Not happy with 6 interstate matches

St Fidelius wrote:Please correct me if I am wrong...

Also just how many Victorian Clubs travel interstate (home matches) next season that equals 6???

Just how many away interstate games do the Bulldogs, Carlton, Essendon, Collingwood and Hawthorn have???

for some reason everyone thinks we only had 5 interstate this year? we had 6, are people forgetting tazzie? 1 perth, 2 adelaide, 1 sydney, 1 qld, 1 tazzie
next year we have 6, just replace the tazzie with perth.

geelong (from memory) had 5 last year (2 perth, 1 aami vs adelaide in abblets 150th, 1 sydney at anz stadium, and 1 gabba where they lost)
this year they have the exact same.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

we have the most essendon the least- 3, Pies 4, only carlton and Us go to AAMI and SUBI twice. Oh and Hawks 7 includes their 4 in tAssie .

doggies 6...but 1 of those is Manuka their home game v swans, but its still a road trip i guess

saintdooley wrote:

for some reason everyone thinks we only had 5 interstate this year? we had 6, are people forgetting tazzie? 1 perth, 2 adelaide, 1 sydney, 1 qld, 1 tazzie

geelong (from memory) had 5 last year (2 perth, 1 aami vs adelaide in abblets 150th, 1 sydney at anz stadium, and 1 gabba where they lost)
Dools, I was mentioning about (away) interstate matches, yes we played at the Gold Coast but that was our home game.

so we have 6 interstate away game (1 extra away game) the same as last year (last year we played a home game at the Gold Coast)...

Geelong had 5, they win the premiership and have 5 next season and we still remain on 6 interstate games....

SaintDebi

Twilights I can handle, but Friday nights are a nuisance for me. I know they suit lots of others though. Will just have to tell the boss' that I'll be leaving work right on time on the dot of five those Fridays. Quick dash home to collect everyone and hopefully I won't miss too much of the first quarter!
I think we deserved to be rewarded with more than just the two games at the MCG though.

Shattered dreams are just opportunities for improvement. Live and learn, fail and try harder. 2011 beckons.
Cirra

I'm confused about the amount of Friday Night games we've got.

I've reead bth on the AFL site + numerous times on here that we have 7, with a possiblity of 8 if Rd 22 is schedualed that way.

My count is only 6:

Collingwood Rd3
Bulldogs Rd 6
Richmond Rd7
Geelong Rd13
Hawks Rd 17
Essendon Rd 18

What am I missing?

Are they including the Monday Night game??

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.
Cirra

Leo.J wrote:10 x 6 day breaks

Our last 2 H&A are off a 6 day break.

Misson is going to earn his keep.
How do you know the last 2 H&A will be 6 day breaks?

We play on Saturday in Rd 21. Therefore we could play on Saturday/Night in AAMI in Rd 22.

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.

Leo.J wrote:10 x 6 day breaks

Our last 2 H&A are off a 6 day break.

Misson is going to earn his keep.
how many 6-day breaks did we have in 2009?

Cirra wrote:I'm confused about the amount of Friday Night games we've got.

I've reead bth on the AFL site + numerous times on here that we have 7, with a possiblity of 8 if Rd 22 is schedualed that way.

My count is only 6:

Collingwood Rd3
Bulldogs Rd 6
Richmond Rd7
Geelong Rd13
Hawks Rd 17
Essendon Rd 18

What am I missing?

Are they including the Monday Night game??
Matches by timeslot
TIMESLOT TOTAL MATCHES HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES
Sat Aft 2 1 1
Sun Aft 2 0 2
Sun Early 1 1 0
Mon Aft 0 0 0
DAY 5 2 3
Sat Night 5 2 3
Sun Twi 4 3 1
Thu/Fri Night 6 3 3
Mon Night 1 1 0
NIGHT 16 9 7
Round 22 1 0 1
Grand Total 22 11 11

3 Friday, Apr 9 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Collingwood

6 Friday, Apr 30 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Western Bulldogs

11 Friday, Jun 4 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Richmond

13 Friday, Jun 25 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Geelong Cats

17 Friday, Jul 23 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Hawthorn
18 Friday, Jul 30 (SEVEN, Thu/Fri Night) Essendon

kaos theory

I don't know why some people are happy with this draw. We have been SCREWED.....again.

- At least 9 SIX day breaks.

- ONLY 2 MCG games, the worst of all vic based clubs.

- 4 Sunday dead zone games.....WTF!!!! This is THE worst time zone for a team to play & the worst time to watch a game.

- Also, 6 interstate games!

Pathetic.

FFS, we are the GF finalist, we rate the socks off when we are on free to air, and we get treated like crap again.

kaos theory wrote:I don't know why some people are happy with this draw. We have been SCREWED.....again.

- At least 9 SIX day breaks.

- ONLY 2 MCG games, the worst of all vic based clubs.

- 4 Sunday dead zone games.....WTF!!!! This is THE worst time zone for a team to play & the worst time to watch a game.

- Also, 6 interstate games!

Pathetic.

FFS, we are the GF finalist, we rate the socks off when we are on free to air, and we get treated like crap again.
Yep pathetic that we get 6 Friday night games...pathetic that we only play Gee/WBD once...pathetic that we get a home game v Collingwood (ker-ching) and one at the G v Geeling (Ker-CHING!!)

All this thread is proving is that everyone has a prefered time to watch AFL footy. When clubs call draws "supporter friendly" its really a misnomer. Every timeslot is perfect to some and appalling to others. In the big wide world of 21st Century..thats footy I'm afraid.

Country folk hate the night games...people who play or have to be at Suburban or junior games hate Sat/Sun arvos...unfortunately you just please everyone

Now..can someone provide some stats on how many Fri night games weve had each year of late vs how many 6 day breaks we've had??? I reckon you might find that Friday night games and 6 day breaks kinda go hand in hand. We play a swag of Friday nights, so unless we play them all in one go, a good % of them are gonna be on a 6 day break.

kaos theory wrote: - At least 9 SIX day breaks..
anyone know how many we had last season and how 9 compares to other clubs?
kaos theory wrote: - ONLY 2 MCG games, the worst of all vic based clubs.
this is the one that surprised me. the cats have SEVEN games at the 'G!

Gilbo1on1

saint66au wrote:Yep pathetic that we get 6 Friday night games...pathetic that we only play Gee/WBD once...pathetic that we get a home game v Collingwood (ker-ching) and one at the G v Geeling (Ker-CHING!!)

All this thread is proving is that everyone has a prefered time to watch AFL footy. When clubs call draws "supporter friendly" its really a misnomer. Every timeslot is perfect to some and appalling to others. In the big wide world of 21st Century..thats footy I'm afraid.

Country folk hate the night games...people who play or have to be at Suburban or junior games hate Sat/Sun arvos...unfortunately you just please everyone

Now..can someone provide some stats on how many Fri night games weve had each year of late vs how many 6 day breaks we've had??? I reckon you might find that Friday night games and 6 day breaks kinda go hand in hand. We play a swag of Friday nights, so unless we play them all in one go, a good % of them are gonna be on a 6 day break.
yeah pretty happy. no major problems. didn't think of the collingwood game that way but hey. and i guess the geelong game is the same.
the sydney start is understandable considering we've hosted them the last few years and the AFL expansion plans.
Etihad in the pre-season, then away for sydney and back to etihad should give us some momentum if we knock the swans off.

Milton66

So what's the big deal about twilight games? I don't mind them. Sunday arvo games use up the whole day. At least this way you can still do stuff then kick back at the footy.

Regardless of what we get, some people wil always have a whinge.

Apart from the 6 day breaks, I'm not fussed. :D

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

St Fidelius wrote:
saintdooley wrote:

Dools, I was mentioning about (away) interstate matches, yes we played at the Gold Coast but that was our home game.

so we have 6 interstate away game (1 extra away game) the same as last year (last year we played a home game at the Gold Coast)...

Geelong had 5, they win the premiership and have 5 next season and we still remain on 6 interstate games....
A bit early to be looking for excuses.