Incident in Aisle 38

Fantastic game and still stoked by the result.
But for people sitting in or around Aisle 38 there was a very distressing drama being played out that puts even such a critical game in some sort of perspective.

Unfortunately a gentleman about 4 rows from the back suffered a heart attack early in the second quarter.
The StJohns people and ground officials moved very quickly.
They tried to resucitate him but obviously things weren't going well.
The attendants started moving people, firstly from his row and the row in front, and then from the all the rows behind him.
All up about 50 people were moved.
Not sure where they were moved to, but everyone left without fuss.
Perhaps they scored seats on level 2 or in a box?
They then set up about 4 screens and continued working on him.
Meanwhile they shut down the aisle 38 entrance giving the medical staff easier access.
This went on right through the second qtr.
Distressed friends or relatives were escorted out including a small girl in tears in the arms of a policewoman.
It continued through half time.
You couldn't see what was happening with the screens but you could hear them using oxygen.

It was a really distressing backdrop to the game as obviously we all felt that this guy could be dying.
Aweful feeling.

Finally about half way through the third quarter they managed to stabilise the gentleman and he was carefully stretchered out with all sorts of tubes attached.

Hopefully the gentleman is OK.
But congratulations to everyone involved from the spectators who quietly moved, to the attendants who seemed well in control, and particularly to the medical people who obviously did a fantastic job in very difficult circumstances.

Re: Incident in Aisle 38

i was sitting a few rows in front of it. it was very distressing and sort of put things into perspective.

hope the guy is ok.

#1GILL

I was 4 rows infront and it wasn't good....When the young girl(about 5 or 6) was carried away in tears it was shattering

what level ?

bigcarl wrote:i was sitting a few rows in front of it. it was very distressing and sort of put things into perspective.

hope the guy is ok.
gee that's horrible. not that it matters, but do you know if it was a sainter?

i wish them well

OneGram

StJohn's very professional

#1GILL

level 3

No1_Saint

OneGram wrote:StJohn's very professional
They do great work. Cheers to them and staff for handling it so well. Best wishes to the man and his family.

fonz_#15 wrote:gee that's horrible. not that it matters, but do you know if it was a sainter?
no. i didn't want to gawk at the poor bloke.

Yes, I was near it too. A terrible dose of reality amidst the great spectacle of our game. I am glad to hear that he was stabilised.

It goes to show, yet again, just how lucky we are to have the men and women of the St Johns Ambulance Service who, unless I am corrected, attend these and other events on a voluntary capacity (or with minimal reimbursement), to do this work. Not only are we lucky to be able to witness the greatest game in the world without fear of vicious attack from opposition supporters, we are also in the fortunate position that if something untoward happens, there are skilled people to provide assistance, medical or otherwise. Another win to the volunteers! Best wishes to the footy fan.
Last edited by perfectionist on Sun 05 Jul 2009 9:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainterone

I always remember the comments after the Grand Final in 1966 - "three had heart attacks and one died" - not sure whether it was correct but I've heard it a few times...

I'm sure medical support is probably better now...

Best of luck and a speedy recovery to the fan.

GO SAINTS

NICK RIEWOLDT - 444 GOALS FROM 200 MATCHES
STEPHEN MILNE - 440 GOALS FROM 216 MATCHES
OneGram

StJohn - BOG :lol:

I was wondering what was happening. hope the man is okay

#1GILL

Just to clear it up it was Aisle 39

Juggernaut

The people attending this did a seriously good job considering the circumstances especially considering the crowd size.
well done to all the staff involved!
It was particually distressing seeing the young girl being helped away. it puts everthing in perspective it just a game of football at the end of the day.

The strength behind you is always greater than the challenge in front of you

It happens a bit at large events - a numbers thing/probability etc......I've seen it a few times.

Was impressed at the big screens up and the amount of medics in attendance, excellent work indeed.

Was pleasing to see a drip being carried above the bloke as he was stretched out - a sure sign he had a pulse at least.

SaintDebi

Sitting on L1 was unaware of any of this drama, but reading it now certainly puts a game into perspective, doesn't it? I hope the gentlemen is doing ok now and recovers well.

Sounds like the St Johns people did a really good job. Hopefully the gentleman is okay.
Last edited by battye on Mon 06 Jul 2009 12:16am, edited 1 time in total.

Does put it in perspective and hope all is well...reckon our collective BP was through the roof in the last 5 minutes :shock:

Congratulations to the St.John people involved..you are the real legends :wink:

battye wrote:Sounds like the St Johns people did a really good job. Hopefully the gentleman is okay.
They do an excellent job and have recently won the contract to instruct Victoria Police for the first time....

The previous contract was the regular Metropolitan Ambulance Service...

I must say that the first one day course that St Johns conducted was outstanding as was the best that I have ever attended in 30 years.

Kudos to St Johns and the Ambos and First Aiders.

Had a lady "die" at Skilled last year, had to drag her over about 3 rows of seats, the fans were fantastic getting out of the way and helping, then a nurse and a doctor from the crowd came forward and helped out til the Ambos etc got there. She came to and was whisked away, and was fine in the end.

There are many many incidents that people just aren't aware of, particularly on L2 at Telstra, lots more older fans.

It is reassuring to know that such competent people are around.
Who knows when any of us might need them.

And despite the whole drama lasting about 50 minutes they always seemed cool and calm in the obvious crisis.

But also worth pointing out that the police and stadium officials all seemed to work really well together.
Congrats to all.

I think the gentleman concerned was a Geelong supporter, but it would be good to hear a follow-up report that he is OK.
Hopefully he will recover sufficiently to see us smash them in the finals :D

snoopygirl

So glad to hear that the man was able to be stabilised. I got into the lift on level one with one of the St Johns guys who was asking people to hurry because he had to get up to level 3 with the oxygen tanks so 2 of the bright sparks that got in pressed level 2 & level 2 dining so that the lift had to stop twice to let them out. The poor St Johns guy was furious.

yeah, i was sitting in the next bay from this, horrible. sure went quiet around us for the whole second quarter - i thought there was no way that was going to end well. let's hope the guy's recovering.

I feel for all those involved, including the spectators around the scene.

It's not an easy thing to witness, speaking from experience.

Hope the gentleman is okay.