Where were ya Saints fans??

Sheesh, 50,000 and it didnt really feel or look like there were more than 5000 Saints fans there..

Poor ol CS looked surrounded by Blues fans on L1, The Moorabbin Wing battled on in Aisle 13 but we had plenty of Blues in the cheap seats behind us....enough to heckle us when we chanted which I cant remember happening for a very long time

Where the bloody hell was everyone???

agreed... felt like an away match....

away game ----- members reserved seats yada yada...makes a difference.

Re: Where were ya Saints fans??

saint66au wrote:Sheesh, 50,000 and it didnt really feel or look like there were more than 5000 Saints fans there..

Poor ol CS looked surrounded by Blues fans on L1, The Moorabbin Wing battled on in Aisle 13 but we had plenty of Blues in the cheap seats behind us....enough to heckle us when we chanted which I cant remember happening for a very long time

Where the bloody hell was everyone???
Carlton has a heap of reserved seat holders throughout stadium...

I was there, banging the fence on level 1 Aisle 43, front row. Sitting in front of Carlton drinks guy having a 'polite' exchange with him......think I have broken my hand from banging on the damn fence after that goal by Zac in the last quarter......... :D

chook23 wrote:Carlton has a heap of reserved seat holders throughout stadium...
they make a lot of noise. it's was almost like going to princess park.

We haven't had this few supporters since 03 in the stands. Not sure what's happened to everyone. I said a few weeks ago I think a lot of our supporters are dying,literally. The supporter base is getting old...we could be like North in 20 years

chook23 wrote:Carlton has a heap of reserved seat holders throughout stadium...
they make a lot of noise. it's was almost like going to princess park.
barrack like a soccer crowd......

have a a lot of noisey euro...................................

mick13

Lol, there were a few of us up on Level 3. I made an absolute gimp of myself surrounded by Blues, but it was worth it.

Dont think the dad behind me would have been too happy, tried not to swear but the deliberate by Fish was a joke.

Plus had to act out the communal wank session about Judd every time he came back out.

Have to say that even when the ground is full of Saints supporters, they don't tend to make a lot of noise. For example, our reservered seats are on level 2 and apart from myself (who is a self confessed fog horn), there are only a handful of other supporters that really make any noise. I whinge and whine about it to family (with seats around us) every week. Drives me insane!!! Do you know how hard it is to make enough noise to compensate for 50+ other people in your area?

I usually come home hoarse. Saints supporters really need to pick up their game........

you all need to come down to level 1 standing.

In L3 Aisle 12 I thought there were more Saints fans than Bluescum.

mick13

saint75 wrote:Have to say that even when the ground is full of Saints supporters, they don't tend to make a lot of noise. For example, our reservered seats are on level 2 and apart from myself (who is a self confessed fog horn), there are only a handful of other supporters that really make any noise. I whinge and whine about it to family (with seats around us) every week. Drives me insane!!! Do you know how hard it is to make enough noise to compensate for 50+ other people in your area?

I usually come home hoarse. Saints supporters really need to pick up their game........
Indeed.

It's weird. The powerhouse teams (Carl, Ess, Coll) all have loud supporters, but the lesser sides such as us, Roos, Melb and the Dogs are quiet as s***.

Not sure why.

Don't have to be arrogant gimps to be loud.

We make noise when we're making a come back,that seems to be it...

mick13 wrote:
saint75 wrote:Have to say that even when the ground is full of Saints supporters, they don't tend to make a lot of noise. For example, our reservered seats are on level 2 and apart from myself (who is a self confessed fog horn), there are only a handful of other supporters that really make any noise. I whinge and whine about it to family (with seats around us) every week. Drives me insane!!! Do you know how hard it is to make enough noise to compensate for 50+ other people in your area?

Indeed.

It's weird. The powerhouse teams (Carl, Ess, Coll) all have loud supporters, but the lesser sides such as us, Roos, Melb and the Dogs are quiet as s***.

Not sure why.

Don't have to be arrogant gimps to be loud.

We make noise when we're making a come back,that seems to be it...
How do we change it? I am sick to death of it. The Hawthorn final last year at the MCG it was REALLY evident. Barely a noise or any support from our supporters (at least on Level 1 of the MCC. Every week I whinge about this. Crowd support can and does make a massive difference and can lift a team. If our boys relied on this type of support, they would never win a game.

That said, once the cheer squad and the level 3 Moorabbin wing gets going, the ground does seem to errupt, but if it wasn't for them, the noise would barely be there except for a lone few of us around the ground.......

mick13

There's nothing you can do. Supporters mindsets and personalities aren't changed over night. We can't make introverts stand up and yell out at the footy.

I think it's a vicsious cycle. The young Blues/Pies/Hawks fans see their fellow supporters cheering loud and shouting, whilst ours watch people generally be quiet. So they grow up to do the same. Unless we suddenly change it somehow there aint much we can do.

I stand up and applaud after 90% of goals, and I shout out a lot, join in every chant...but not many others do!

But yeah, theres really nothing you can do to change it, Saints are generally pretty quiet, nothing wrong with that, but I agree the crowd definitely can lift a team. I honestly thought the crowd would get the Blues over the line tonight. Credit to our boys for holding tough.

If just a few lifted though, it encourages others to do the same. Was definitely the case in our area tonight.

On a positive it was nice to see the stands empty and our team still on the ground :D

All the premature ejeculating You know we are coming - Carlton flogs pissed off talking about honourable losses and moral victories.

Oh dont you love flogging this bastards.

12-0 piss weak Carlton stiffs.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Sounded like a Carlton crowd on TV. Nonetheless, sounded like a great atmosphere. :)

saintsrus

I think we would have had 80000 if it was at the G, people are getting tired of these h&a games are like trying to get GF tickets at this stadium

Before Im 85
The Craw

Maybe it was because it was an away game.

I didn't go. There was no chance in hell I was going to give my hard earned to the bluebeggar scum. Won another slab in the process.... god I'm just loving it at the moment.

Not Craw, CRAW!
Owen

C fans everywhere.. managed to find a good bunch of sainters in the locker room ... loved the red leather jackets girls !

I was standing behind aisle 9 level 1. PLenty of support for the saints around there. The team that's coming from behind always has more support, as ppl tend to get pretty excited at the prospect of a win that was unexpected. I actually thought we had good support coming into the ground.

SaintDebi

We would have been there if they hadn't made it so hard to get seats. available monday, all sold out tuesday, more available later in the week.... the planning just got too difficult.

And,Saint75: you're in the wrong spot. Level 2 is for the "proper" people. All of us yellers and screamers are on levels 1 and 3!
Although sadly I do agree that Saints crowds generally seem to be a bit inhibited about being really loud.

Piss weak supporters. It's been a problem for while and if you ask me it's because our supporters are a bunch of scared rabbits. Ooooh, i'm worried about this game, it's a danger game, we could lose this one and all sorts of other loser comments. FFS people, you have a good team, get to the game and yell ya farking lungs out.

Have to agree, I realise there were other saints supporters there....it just didn't feel like it. A couple towards the back tried to start a chant, but no-one got into it :(