Reiwoldt should NOT be Captain

I might cop a bit of crap for this but I feel that Roo was the wrong choice for Captain. Now there is nothing wrong with Roo's endeavour or heart or pride for the jumper but I just dont think he is a natural leader.

A natural leader has an instinctive abiliity to immediately inspire people around them whether it be through an impassioned address, a brilliant piece of play or just a straight look in the eye. Unfortunately I think Roo struggles with some of these aspects

A natural leader doesn't need to try to be a leader it just happens - it is an innate quality - Hamill had it, Lenny has it, Bally has it and I would go as far to say that Goddard has it - maybe its me but I just cannot seem to get fired up or excited when i hear Reiwoldt talk - it feels like it is forced and that he is trying too hard and at times I reckon you can see the weight of the captaincy on his shoulders - trying to be Captain to guys like Harvey, Hudghton, Gehrig, Lenny (older guys with more experience) and not wanting to fail or let them down must weigh heavily on his mind and being our No. 1 targeted player Roo doesn't need the added pressure at the moment maybe in a couple of years time he would be ready for the role

It was the wrong choice!!

Lenny was a stand out for me - even if he was coming back from a knee injury

Re: Reiwoldt should NOT be Captain

Devilhead wrote:I might cop a bit of crap for this but I feel that Roo was the wrong choice for Captain. Now there is nothing wrong with Roo's endeavour or heart or pride for the jumper but I just dont think he is a natural leader.

A natural leader has an instinctive abiliity to immediately inspire people around them whether it be through an impassioned address, a brilliant piece of play or just a straight look in the eye. Unfortunately I think Roo struggles with some of these aspects

A natural leader doesn't need to try to be a leader it just happens - it is an innate quality - Hamill had it, Lenny has it, Bally has it and I would go as far to say that Goddard has it - maybe its me but I just cannot seem to get fired up or excited when i hear Reiwoldt talk - it feels like it is forced and that he is trying too hard and at times I reckon you can see the weight of the captaincy on his shoulders - trying to be Captain to guys like Harvey, Hudghton, Gehrig, Lenny (older guys with more experience) and not wanting to fail or let them down must weigh heavily on his mind and being our No. 1 targeted player Roo doesn't need the added pressure at the moment maybe in a couple of years time he would be ready for the role

It was the wrong choice!!

Lenny was a stand out for me - even if he was coming back from a knee injury

I have to agree with you there DevilHead!
Nothing against Roo as a player he tries hard all the time, but Lenny would have been the pick for me.

But its all done and dusted now Roo can only do one thing and that is prove us both wrong and by golly i hope he does. Otherwise the captaincy will continue to be a burden on his shoulders!

eppo67

While I dont agree with some of what you have said I do agree that HAYES should be captain.

HAYES leads by example and I have never seen him take even the slighest side step. Thats not to say I think ROO ever has either I just agree with you that HAYES is the best choice for leader.

eppo67 wrote:While I dont agree with some of what you have said I do agree that HAYES should be captain.

HAYES leads by example and I have never seen him take even the slighest side step. Thats not to say I think ROO ever has either I just agree with you that HAYES is the best choice for leader.
I think that is the point neither Devil nor myself think that Roo is not a super player it is just that Lenny seems to be captain material than Roo. wouldnt dare take anything away from Roo as a player!

rexy

Disagree entirely with all of you, Reiwoldt was the right choice for captain and has shown this with everything he has done and the way he has crried himself and represented the club, on and off the field. Lenny Hayes is a great leader and can continue to be a great leader without the mantle of captain, this is part of what makes him a great leader.

Maybe this year?

Buckets wrote:
eppo67 wrote: I think that is the point neither Devil nor myself think that Roo is not a super player it is just that Lenny seems to be captain material than Roo. wouldnt dare take anything away from Roo as a player!
Yep - no doubting his ability as a player - that's one aspect that comes naturally - though he could use his body in a contest a bit better but thats another thread :wink:

rexy wrote:Disagree entirely with all of you, Reiwoldt was the right choice for captain and has shown this with everything he has done and the way he has crried himself and represented the club, on and off the field. Lenny Hayes is a great leader and can continue to be a great leader without the mantle of captain, this is part of what makes him a great leader.
He has done alright but the bottom line is Lenny would have been a better choice

Hayes is a blue collar midfielder, with average disposal that kicks very few goals.....he is as tough as nails.........great work ethic...he has been great player who has outstanding games, but rarely inspirational moments...rarely speaks, and is generally a shy man. Well respected and Good on-field leader.

Riewoldt is a superstar player, courageous as anyone ever has been, has a second to none work ethic (in the afl)....is confident...and performs inspirational acts.....two moments vs sydney spring to mind.....he is a match-winner, and 4 Best & Fairests indicate he is clearly our best performer over a long period 2002-2008...good on and off field leader....confident, reliable, and consistently plays well.

Kosi is IMO our best natural leader (a bit in the kernahan mould) but is far too erratic as a player the gap between his best and worst is enourmous.....when going he tears games open

Ball is well spoken, smart and articulate....he is as hard as they come....he is well respected, but does he hurt the opposition enough to inspire his team mates onfield - great off field leader

Dal Santo - Has sublime skills which means he can win games with his finishing (WCE 2007).. he has charisma and is confident....however he does not deliver at times due to a dodgy work ethic under pressure....interviews well..

Goddard - Football smart, knows the game better than anyone at Moorabbin (will coach)can critisise, but also encourages...very good at directing and teaching players...

Goose - Outspoken, Rugged and confident....he is respected for his bravery and attack on the footy (hardness at the contest)...he is not overly skilled and can be clumsy, and will not produce brilliant play, but may bust a pack, lay a huge tackle or bump to lift those around him...he can be very critical of team mates at times.....and overrates himself (as do supporters)...has charm on camera..

Max - Given his position/age is out of the question as captain, but he is the back half general...he is a great Full Back and knows his position well...very effective and underrated...he instructs well, but can go over the top with critisism at times(plays on emotion - whereas BJ is calculated)...he is dreadful with the footy, and can deflate with massive turn overs, considering where they occur...natural communicator off field..

Sam Fisher - Quality player, smart player, not stupid, reliable and seond only to riewoldt as far as consistent quality over a period (not having a major injury has helped him)...

Overall
Riewoldt (25) is clearly the stand-out in nearly every aspect...
Hayes (28) is the perfect deputy (quiet loyal and reliable)
Kosi (25) is potentially a great captain
Ball (23) given his body repairs could be very good...
Goddard (22) is the Darkhorse...but is the youngest of that group
Others are just good leadership group candidates

Goose - Outspoken, Rugged and confident....he is respected for his bravery and attack on the footy (hardness at the contest)...he is not overly skilled and can be clumsy, and will not produce brilliant play, but may bust a pack, lay a huge tackle or bump to lift those around him...he can be very critical of team mates at times.....and overrates himself (as do supporters)...has charm on camera..

Goose is KIng

BigMart wrote:Riewoldt is a superstar player, courageous as anyone ever has been, has a second to none work ethic (in the afl)....is confident...and performs inspirational acts.....two moments vs sydney spring to mind.....he is a match-winner, and 4 Best & Fairests indicate he is clearly our best performer over a long period 2002-2008...good on and off field leader....confident, reliable, and consistently plays well.
Excellent argument - difficult to disagree IMO.

Those two acts against Sydney (I imagine they were the running with the flight mark and the mark at CHB in the wet to keep our season alive) speak volumes for his ability to lead by example. He is a reasonable speaker, incredibly hard working and most importantly, a match winner. I think he was a good choice.

The mark with the flight is here for anyone that wants to see it again

We are luck to have both of them.
Both would be fantastic captains.
Amazing work rates.

Regardless of whether you had Lenny ahead of Roo (as I did), the decision has been made.
Let's all get behind Roo.

Roo should be captain. Will be for the next five years.

Devilhead, how many times have you been in the huddle while Roo is speaking to the team? :roll:

but i suppose that is your expert opinion from the couch/100 metres away in the stands

What a load of crap :roll: :roll:

Kicked a great captains goal to stop the Don surge in its tracks tonight, has been one of the few Saints who puts in every game.

A great captain and will continue to be.

Fair dinkum what a terrible negative thread on a nght where we had a very good win :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:What a load of crap :roll: :roll:

Kicked a great captains goal to stop the Don surge in its tracks tonight, has been one of the few Saints who puts in every game.

Fair dinkum what a terrible negative thread on a nght where we had a very good win :roll:
Correct.

Cirra

fingers wrote:
joffaboy wrote:What a load of crap :roll: :roll:

Correct.
I agree with joffaboy again.

Roo is a champion leader, the rest of you should back off and respect his passion for the role.

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.