whos the most over-rated player you've seen

well, seeing as Dal is about the second best player at our club, it doesn't say much about the rest of our list :shock:

ah my pet subject

easily Dustin Fletcher

hardly ever gets the number one forward, and then get 30 kicks playing on his shadow

soft sniper, has been reported heaps and still only ever gets a week

have to disagree with those saying goodes, thomas and judd

fqf

Anyone mentioning Judd in this thread clearly does not have any grap of players outside of their own team.

Judd is the BEST footballer in the league. Arguments can only be created for when people mention J Brown.

Judd has is all - Exciting, Tough, Quick, Tall, Damaging...And even gets his own ball. He single handedly changes the result of matches.

....Seriously, by the end of his career, I think he will be regarded as the best footballer EVER.

Hamil.

Lloyd,

Hird

Spider Everitt,

esaint66

footy_first wrote:oh yea...and luke hodge (every season people tip him to win the brownlow but he never gets close)
dale thomas is in my mind the most over-rated player in the league atm
he's the biggest show-off and doesnt have big impacts on games...marks of the week doesnt help teams win matches. only gets like 12 touches a game and 1 goal...he was number 2 for a reason

i disagree dale thomas is a very good player i reckon he should have been taken at number 1 (suck carlton) he has a great vertical leap, brilliant speed, a wonderful kick. anyway it doesnt matter if he is a show off. this is football and if you show it off you have to back it up consistantly and in alot of peoples minds he does.

plus luck hodge what are you thinking in know deep down you would want him at carlton so dont try to tell us otherwise one of the form midfielders in the compitition.

johnpeterbudgefanclub

footy_first wrote:oh yea...and luke hodge (every season people tip him to win the brownlow but he never gets close)
he's the biggest show-off and doesnt have big impacts on games...marks of the week doesnt help teams win matches. only gets like 12 touches a game and 1 goal...he was number 2 for a reason
Clown :evil: :roll: :evil:

nicola69

Love these sorts of topics.

Here are the first two of mine:

1. Paul Roos: The hype called him the best CHB going round. But anyone who watched saw that he couldn't mark overhead at all. He would fly for a mark with that bad looking down and not at the ball style. The Swans would hide him from the good centre half forwards. He never played on any of them. When they played him as a ruck-rover he was always played in a kick behind the play role - because that's as close as his plodding 1 low gear running style got him to the ball. Despite a lot of hoopla about his great long kicking, he was in fact a totally mediocre kick of the ball. Believing the publicity he took to specialising in torpedoes. I started to call him the Colt 45 because of this: His torps invariably slewed 45 degrees off target and only went 45 metres max (if they got to bounce 3 times). But Channel 7 (especially CLEVER) and the completely unknowledgeable Sydney fans loved him.

2. Nathan Buckley: So over-rated was this slow, punch-drunk cave-man that Collingwood fans would spend the whole game yelling "kick it to Bucks..." Unfortunately, the coach told the team to heed the fans and do just this. Bucks operated usually 20-40 metres behind the play where he could be by himself. This resulted in Collingwood spending most of the game kicking the ball backwards a long way to find him. One of the most stupid pieces of play I have ever seen was one day where a Collingwood bloke took a mark in the goal square. Instead of going for the goal he listened to the fans and passed it 40 metres backwards to Bucks at half forward. Bucks kicked it 15 metres sideways to a loose player on the flank and ran his customary 40 metres back now stoppin near the centre. The player in the pocket then kicked it backwards to Bucks again. Three Bucks possessions later, Collingwood were at their own full back line. No one at Collingwood or Chanel 9 could see the problem with this style of play, praising it fulsomely instead. Maybe if they had realised their team was kick the other way, they would have questioned this gem of 'pie wisdom.

we exist on a brane - thank f*** for StK
esaint66

avid wrote:yes ....
why?

how can you say that a player like wayne carey is over rated?
smart player and according to many experts (including other players and coaches) he was the player of the 90's i would have had him equal first with robert harvey.
dumb bloke off the field smart bloke on it and onfield is what were talking about.

footy_first

saint edward wrote:

i disagree dale thomas is a very good player i reckon he should have been taken at number 1 (suck carlton) he has a great vertical leap, brilliant speed, a wonderful kick. anyway it doesnt matter if he is a show off. this is football and if you show it off you have to back it up consistantly and in alot of peoples minds he does.

plus luck hodge what are you thinking in know deep down you would want him at carlton so dont try to tell us otherwise one of the form midfielders in the compitition.
thomas is over-rated...he has little to NO impact on the outcome of games

The_Dud wrote:well, seeing as Dal is about the second best player at our club, it doesn't say much about the rest of our list :shock:
Hence, overrated. Even by you.

or maybe under-rated by you.....

avid

saint edward wrote:
why?

smart player and according to many experts (including other players and coaches) he was the player of the 90's i would have had him equal first with robert harvey.
dumb bloke off the field smart bloke on it and onfield is what were talking about.
Actually I was only taking a dig at him being so ridiculously overrated by Mike Sheehan. Sheehan's infatuation with Carey is chronic and nausiating -- doesn't seem to rate anyone else near him. He's overrated by Sheehan -- but if he's just rated in, say, the top ten or so, like most people probably think, then I probably wouldn't say he was overrated.

I can't believe Dal has been labelled overrated, how is he overrated? I personally rate him in the Top 20 of the current midfielders playing. Cannot think of 20 that would be rated ahead of him, cannot think of a club that would not have him in their team.

Good topic by the troll though, made me laugh with the players he picked...obviously some very sore unhealed wounds. Have enjoyed reading the responses.

My most overrated are Rocca, Fletcher and West (gets a lot of it but that's because he hardly ever disposes of it any further than his own shadow and when he does it's to someone in a poor position that they can only give it back to him. Cross is a lot more dangerous!)

Nathan Buckley by a country mile. Simply Mark Browning in a Collingwood jumper, that's all. But that's what you get for playing for Collingwood. To even be compared with the true greats of the game is just laughable. I could name 100 better footballers.

Matthew Lloyd. The 'Robbie the Robot' of the AFL, and utterly boring to watch. Playing for Essendon in recent times also lifts your reputation.

Campbell Brown. For God's sake, why the fuss over this guy? Just a scrubber with a nasty streak. He'll be exposed as an imposter soon enough.

Geoff Raines: see Mark Browning and Nathan Buckley. Cut from the same cloth.

Spider Everitt. Great tap ruckman but non-existant team ethic, defensive skills ands and overhaed marking skills

Dal Santo is underrated by lots, including around here. There's a perception that he's soft which kicks around which is completely ridiculous. He's led the team in contested possessions for three years running and he's always right up there in clearances. If anything, Dal's numbers suffer from a lack of cheap footy. Still, perception is everything. Since he's a nice guy and Sam Lane has a crush on him people assume he must be soft. No amount of proving otherwise on the footy field ever seems to do Dal Santo any good.

devil saint

Dal's awesome - everytime he gets the ball his disposal is perfect...calculated and superb. Certainly not overrated!

esaint66

footy_first wrote:
saint edward wrote:

thats absoloutly untrue hes a gamebreaker takes the game by the scruff of the neck.

players that have little to no impact on a game wear blue jumpers.

esaint66

avid wrote:
saint edward wrote:
why?

Actually I was only taking a dig at him being so ridiculously overrated by Mike Sheehan. Sheehan's infatuation with Carey is chronic and nausiating -- doesn't seem to rate anyone else near him. He's overrated by Sheehan -- but if he's just rated in, say, the top ten or so, like most people probably think, then I probably wouldn't say he was overrated.

wait so your saying that your saying hes overrated due to someone elses obsession with him while other poepl just say he was a good player you make little to no sense. :?

People forget how good Spider was.

Watch some matches from the late 90's and he was dominant in the AFL. Has his flaws but one of the best ruckmen of the last twenty years IMO.

His last few years have only been a shadow of how good he used to be.

esaint66

Oh When the Saints wrote:People forget how good Spider was.

Watch some matches from the late 90's and he was dominant in the AFL. Has his flaws but one of the best ruckmen of the last twenty years IMO.

i agree i was watching the mission 97 year in review (im really missing footy :cry: ) and he was in my top 5 saints players at the end.
harvey
loewe
winmar
burke
heatley
spider

Leo Barry.

took a tremendous premiership saving mark and good on him, but thats it as far as im concerned.

in 05 and 06 he conceded the most goals of any fullback.

Gets smashed my most full forwards, and when he gets the footy, tries to take on 16 blokes, to the sydney crowd it looks spectactular but he runs in circles 8 times then turns it over under pressure.

Hack.

HarveysDeciple wrote:Leo Barry.
You read my mind, HD. His AA selection was pretty much the example of how flawed the AA selection process is. It's a compromise between half a dozen people and every year there are some awful selections. Who carries a spare FB on their bench? And after all the blustering about the new selection process last year, what did they do? Two FBs - again! And two CHBs. Glass is an excellent FB, but IMO he shouldn't have even one AA jumper, let alone two.

On the flipside, Darren Milburn has been robbed twice. In fact, prior to last year, Geelong were routinely robbed of AA selections, which made the Geelong overkill last year even more :roll: .

Oh When the Saints wrote:People forget how good Spider was.

Correct.

ctqs

jonesy wrote:Gavin Wanganeen- Didn't deserve his brownlow,diesel should have won that one by a mile and was blatantly robbed! Wanganeen was a dirty little sniper
There's a story to that. Diesel didn't win it that year because he was mouthing off at the umps ALL day in the game against Melbourne when he got more than 40 touches. Needless to say they didn't give him a vote.
BUT....
In a game against Brisbane at Optus Oval the following year, one of the umpires involved in that Melboure game the year before was going to report him for either abusing an umpire or disputing a decision or something like that. Harry Madden rushed over to the ump and asked him to put the book away, and said he'd talk to Diesel and settle him down. The ump didn't book him, and Williams went on to win the Brownlow that year.
Funny how he never mentions that.
I think Carey is NOT the best player ever. I think Richo is the most overrated player of all time.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.
footy_first

saint edward wrote:
footy_first wrote:
saint edward wrote:

thats absoloutly untrue hes a gamebreaker takes the game by the scruff of the neck.

players that have little to no impact on a game wear blue jumpers.
he only kicks 1 goal a game and gets about 12 touches...no real influence...mark of the week and show off s*** like that dont win games