Tonight's AGM

noddy

Why did Thomo sit so far from burkie...is there some animosity between these 2??

casey scorp wrote:
chook23 wrote:Any question re why Catering lady ( :oops: cannot think of her name)
on FF ticket ....

understand she was not a member

also understand motion for resolution part of re rule changes etc
must be a member........
Dana Nelson, if I recall correctly.

I noted a single person (female) in the audience voted against the rule changes . Maybe it was Dana. :wink:

She didn't have much of a chance against 8,743 proxies "which will all be used to support the proposed rule changes" did she.

I wonder why she voted that way, whoever she was.
did someone not mention somewhere that Dana is on maternity leave from her postion with Delaware?

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Mr Magic wrote: Given that AF knew about this back when the 'allegations' were being thrown around and chose to say nothing to correct the false impressions, ti would clearly point to him, a paid employee of the Club, choosing sides in a political battle.
MM it was also interesting to hear Archie's response to the question criticising the experience of the current board and how they were only elected because they latched on to two heroes of the club.
Archie referred to how well the current board worked (as you would when they are your employer), and went on to say that the current board
"had their egos in check".

That might add weight to your conspiracy theory !

However I must say that in most things Archie seems to be performing very well. Though not being a "true" StKilda person I always worry that he doesn't fully appreciate the emotion and loyalty that supporters feel - to him it is just a business to try and run successfully.
EM, thanks for the great reports.
I wasn't suggesting a 'conspiracy theory' at all. I just think he is a very smart operator and knew which 'horse to back' in the race.

Actually I have been a constant supporter of the job he has been doing for some time.

My point was that so many posters were happy to blame RB and the previous Board for any problem that anybody raised, whether it truly was their fault or not.

Notwithstanding that I am more than happy with what the new current Board has achieved so far.

Mr Magic wrote:Notwithstanding that I am more than happy with what the new current Board has achieved so far.
Agree.

I felt the Butterss Board had done enough to deserve to stay on.
So I would have voted for them if it came down to it.

But so far the new Board seem to have done everything right.
But maybe that is because Archie is carrying them ?

Westaway was not very impressive tonight.
Basically all questions were handballed to Archie who gobbled them up.
The only question he attempted to answer was the one about "would the club be consulting members about an expansion to 18 teams".
Westaway mumbled a vague response.
Then Ross Levin came to his rescue (though I thought his response - whilst articulated clearly - was totally wrong).

Jury is still out on the new Board.
And even if they are not particularly good, Archie and Ross Lyon might just cover up any deficiencies.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Westaway was not very impressive tonight.
The only question he attempted to answer was the one about "would the club be consulting members about an expansion to 18 teams".
Then Ross Levin came to his rescue (though I thought his response - whilst articulated clearly - was totally wrong).
what were their responses? i'm extremely interested as to where the club stands on this.

Scoop

Enrico_Misso wrote:Westaway was not very impressive tonight.
what were their responses? i'm extremely interested as to where the club stands on this.
Both Westaway and Levin said that the AFL has explained the 'why' for the expansion, but not the 'how' and they (along with the other clubs) were waiting for the AFL to provide the whole picture.

Levin was pretty much to the point....he said that it would require 12 clubs to say no for the expansion to be blocked and he indicated that most clubs seemed to support the move. I believe he used the term "inevitable" in describing the expansion push!

He also said that the board had been elected by the members to make decisions that were best for the STKFC and that's what it will do.

My take on this (as inferred by AT) is that the club will support the expansion and try and position itself to benefit from the situation.....like being prepared to play away games in the expansion areas (similar to what Collingwood proposed in relation to the Gold Coast), for some monetary consideration.

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

[Though not being a "true" StKilda person I always worry that he doesn't fully appreciate the emotion and loyalty that supporters feel - to him it is just a business to try and run successfully.[/quote]

Not to sure what you mean here. But we know Archie and I can assure you he was a Saints supporter long before he was on the board.

Thanks for the report, great effort.

My only comment would be if we are not having pokies at Frankson, what was all the fuss about Moorabbin?

Lets see if I got this right.
A new egomaniac at Vodafone did lunch with a crook from Carlton who was fined tens of millions of dollars but did no time. The Carlton crook persuaded him to dump St Kilda and come to Carlton. Egomaniac did not spot that he was being used by the Carlton crook to extract a good deal out of Optus. When the Carlton crook signed the deal with Optus egomaniac had to deal with a club that has next to no members and maybe no future.
Tell me if I have got it right.

Scoop wrote:Levin was pretty much to the point. ... he said that it would require 12 clubs to say no for the expansion to be blocked and he indicated that most clubs seemed to support the move. I believe he used the term "inevitable" in describing the expansion push!
i thought it was 12 of the 16 clubs had to agree to the expansion. that will teach me to believe everything i read in the newspapers. must have been mis-reported or I misunderstood.

personally i think it will be a mistake, mainly because it will make it even more difficult for st kilda to win a premiership.

i've got no problems with having a team out of the gold coast or western sydney or tasmania for that matter.

but they should come from clubs who can't pay their way in melbourne, such as the insolvent and broke kangaroos.

it's hard enough to compete against 15 other clubs, let alone 17 others.

16 teams is already too many, imo

[quote="Saint Bev"]
My only comment would be if we are not having pokies at Frankson, what was all the fuss about Moorabbin?[/quote]

The pokies get to stay exactly where they are in Linton St. The club wanted to "move" them to the new South Road site. Located more prominently on South Road they would have raised more money. The council's behaviour was such that they could not be trusted to support the moving of the pokies.
If the pokies can't be moved to the South Rd site then why move the social club.
Other facilities are then a matter of where can the club get the best deal.
Although the club may not have pokies at the Frankston ground, if they can acquire an existing place with pokies in the vicinity, they could use that as a defacto social club.

How do I get the quote in black to work!

Huzzad

ace wrote:Lets see if I got this right.
A new egomaniac at Vodafone did lunch with a crook from Carlton who was fined tens of millions of dollars but did no time. The Carlton crook persuaded him to dump St Kilda and come to Carlton. Egomaniac did not spot that he was being used by the Carlton crook to extract a good deal out of Optus. When the Carlton crook signed the deal with Optus egomaniac had to deal with a club that has next to no members and maybe no future.
Tell me if I have got it right.
Well not sure if you are right, but that would seem to me to be the story in light of the new evidence. Not sure how a State manager can "over-rule" national management though....

www.wikisaints.com - Your Online St Kilda Encyclopedia!

www.truesainters.com - A Friendly Forum Alternative

http://truesainters.wordpress.com - Player of the Round articles, match previews and reviews

noddy wrote:Why did Thomo sit so far from burkie...is there some animosity between these 2??
I'm guessing that it would be nothing more than seating arrangements. Having one fav son in one group and another fav son in the other would be considered smart thinking IMHO !!

Lets not forget that when the club decided to reduce the number of pokies by 13? a couple of years ago the council supported the pub up the road in increasing their pokies numbers by that ammount !!

ace wrote:
Saint Bev wrote: My only comment would be if we are not having pokies at Frankson, what was all the fuss about Moorabbin?
The pokies get to stay exactly where they are in Linton St. The club wanted to "move" them to the new South Road site. Located more prominently on South Road they would have raised more money. The council's behaviour was such that they could not be trusted to support the moving of the pokies.
If the pokies can't be moved to the South Rd site then why move the social club.
Other facilities are then a matter of where can the club get the best deal.
Although the club may not have pokies at the Frankston ground, if they can acquire an existing place with pokies in the vicinity, they could use that as a defacto social club.

How do I get the quote in black to work!
the move up the road to South Road also involved the club buying the land and thus having 'an asset' which we currently don't have- having that asset and the building on it required the servicing of a loan which required the extra pokies- no.?- without the extra revenue the loan could not be guaranteed.
In moving to Frankston there will be an admin building built on land Frankston have basicly donated to the club for the benefit of bringing the finance to the area to have the training facility built.- getting the asset without putting the club into debt to do so.
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 07 Mar 2008 9:33am, edited 1 time in total.

killa_gram

noddy wrote:Why did Thomo sit so far from burkie...is there some animosity between these 2??
No, these two are great mates.

Innocent until proven guilty!

I'm Baaaaaaaaack!!!!!!

killa_gram wrote:
No, these two are great mates.
As they would be...sheesh Nodds..was your tongue in cheek? cos even by SS standards thats drawing a massively long bow

the move up the road to South Road also involved the club buying the land and thus having 'an asset' which we currently don't have- having that asset and the building on it required the servicing of a loan which required the extra pokies- no.?- without the extra revenue the loan could not be guaranteed.
In moving to Frankston there will be an admin building built on land Frankston have basicly donated to the club for the benefit of bringing the fund to the are to ahve the training facility built.- getting the asset without putting the club into debt to do so.[/quote]

Thanks for explaining that Sainbrat, makes sense now.

So what will happen with Moorabbin? We have stated that we will see out the lease, will we keep some small social club going and keep what pokies we already have?

The Peanut

Saint Bev wrote:the move up the road to South Road also involved the club buying the land and thus having 'an asset' which we currently don't have- having that asset and the building on it required the servicing of a loan which required the extra pokies- no.?- without the extra revenue the loan could not be guaranteed.
In moving to Frankston there will be an admin building built on land Frankston have basicly donated to the club for the benefit of bringing the fund to the are to ahve the training facility built.- getting the asset without putting the club into debt to do so.

Thanks for explaining that Sainbrat, makes sense now.

So what will happen with Moorabbin? We have stated that we will see out the lease, will we keep some small social club going and keep what pokies we already have?

The pokies will stay where they are - we will continue to service the lease - it's considered by the club that local Govt are responsible for Grandstand removal - The building that houses the pokies may be renovated but further planning will follow various local Government reports.

[ it's considered by the club that local Govt are responsible for Grandstand removal - The building that houses the pokies may be renovated but further planning will follow various local Government reports.[/quote]

Thanks, it will be a sad day for Saints fans when the stands come down. :cry:

doggerel

Great read - thanks Enrico and to the followup posters for your efforts

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

Thanks for the brilliant reports and commentary, particularly Enrico ...

Wow, Enrico... that was a phenomenal report. Thanks!

Was there no precis given on anticipated revenues v. expenditures for the up-coming accounting period, encompassing season 2008?

And what level of profit is anticipated from operations for the period encompassing the 2008 season (plus is there provisioning for contingencies such as any increase in the TPP cap for the 2009 season)?

It would also be of interest to compare net sponsorship revenue (in bankable dollars) versus net sponsorship revenues (in bankable dollars) for 2008.

What does the Annual Report identify in regards external debt (banks, trade creditors, leasing liabilities etc. etc.) and how did this move from the previous Annual Report?

The summary looked for is that, if we have any remaining external liabilities, they are able to be met/serviced in accordance with arrangements, particularly given the current status of financial markets.

To the top wrote:Was there no precis given on anticipated revenues v. expenditures for the up-coming accounting period, encompassing season 2008?

And what level of profit is anticipated from operations for the period encompassing the 2008 season (plus is there provisioning for contingencies such as any increase in the TPP cap for the 2009 season)?

It would also be of interest to compare net sponsorship revenue (in bankable dollars) versus net sponsorship revenues (in bankable dollars) for 2008.

What does the Annual Report identify in regards external debt (banks, trade creditors, leasing liabilities etc. etc.) and how did this move from the previous Annual Report?

The summary looked for is that, if we have any remaining external liabilities, they are able to be met/serviced in accordance with arrangements, particularly given the current status of financial markets.
That's expecting a lot from Enrico feverishly writing away in his notebook!

Perhaps you could get a copy of the Annual Report from the club and advise this forum appropriately.

Well, Grumpy One, the past is the past, and we live for the future.

Hence knowing how the Club is positioned currently (as the starting point) and what it is projecting over the ensuing period is of (vital?) interest.

We do this on the playing front, but we need a financially viable footy club as the foundation for us continuing to field a side (look at North Melbourne and the predicament they are in).

And keep a wary eye on the financial markets, because lenders are finding money harder to access - and they do lend long and borrow short.

In regards the Council, they had been elected on a ticket of opposing Poker Machines within the municipality - so they were always going to take advantage of any application to re-locate to "big note" themselves by at least reducing the number of machines.

Hence the impasse.

Now they are left to collect rent as landlord - and (we trust) to maintain the grounds and the infrastructure to publicly acceptable presentation and safety requirements. I trust the lease has been drawn to reflect exactly what the liability of the Tenant is.

In regards Vodaphone, they are a "little" player compared to Telstra and Optus - from my knowledge they could not have competed with either Telstra or Optus but saw another way by "getting into bed" with Pratt - except Pratt (probably and probably deliberately) did them over as he has done the rest of us over.

The pending Class Action will be of interest. It is not all over yet as I would believe.