Preferred training base apart from Moorabbin?

Casey (Cranbourne)
30%
Frankston
7%
Port Melbourne
32%
Monash University (Clayton)
19%
Other (please indicate below)
12%

Total votes: 73

If the Saints have to shift their training facility from Moorabbin, where would you prefer to see us end up?

Port Melbourne out to a mighty lead with 100% of the vote.

SaintBot

where abouts would the frankston ground be?

Wherever players are happy commuting to, so I picked port.

perth !!! :oops: :lol:

casey scorp

SaintBot wrote:where abouts would the frankston ground be?
Kars Street….home of the Frankston FC (which just might be about to pick up the 50% Kangaroos alignment dropped by Tasmania)
Spinner wrote:Port Melbourne out to a mighty lead with 100% of the vote.
Casey Fields now a clear leader on 40% of the vote!

SaintBot

i chose frankston, from a selfish point of view as it is easiest to get there

would much rather just stay at moorabbin

matty

Otiman wrote:Wherever players are happy commuting to, so I picked port.
i would prefer to lose a couple soft cocks, and then ensure our 'long term' future. rather than keep a couple of soft cocks and end up like fitzroy or south melb.

BakesFan

Harrup Park :wink:

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)
snoopygirl

Yeah, agree with you Matty. We're talking about long term here & people are worried about the current players not wanting to travel there because of where they live. Over a period of time this would all change as future players would live closer to where they will be training.

Would still prefer they stay at Moorabbin though.

riccardo

Casey has the best facilities nearby to it, so I'd prefer it to be there.

But we must do our very best to stay at Moorabbin.

super dooper

id love to see them at uni each day - so monash clayton for me, however besides the ground itself the facilties have left a lot to desired

The Peanut

super dooper wrote:id love to see them at uni each day - so monash clayton for me, however besides the ground itself the facilties have left a lot to desired
From talking to players - The general impression I had was they would rather stay at Moorabbin.

By the way - as it is still considered possible option by the club - why was Juntion Oval left of the preffered list?

casey scorp

The Peanut wrote:By the way - as both are still considered possible options by the club - why was Moorabbin and Juntion Oval left of the preffered list?
The question was, apart from Moorabbin, where would you like to see St Kilda based?

(ie it was taking the emotion of Moorabbin out of the equation, or it was based on the Moorabbin option not being viable).

Junction Oval could have been an alternative but there is little distinguishing the two in terms of locational advantage. There is of course the romantic link to Junction Oval which may have swayed a few votes, but other than that the decision would revolve around which has the least disadvantages.

If Port Phillip Council wasn't overrun with hippies & anti-football types then getting the Saints back to St.Kilda would be ideal.

That ain't gonna happen so I reckon we should get on board with one of the uni's that specialise in sport sciences, build a cutting edge training/research facility & go from there. Deakin Burwood or Monash maybe options. It's on the other side of town but Latrobe at Bundoora have heaps of land & always seem to be building new facilities. That's where I reckon we should be looking... would help split the cost between club/uni/local council/state government and negate the need for friggin poker machines.

The Peanut

casey scorp wrote:
The Peanut wrote:By the way - as both are still considered possible options by the club - why was Moorabbin and Juntion Oval left of the preffered list?
The question was, apart from Moorabbin, where would you like to see St Kilda based?

(ie it was taking the emotion of Moorabbin out of the equation, or it was based on the Moorabbin option not being viable).

Junction Oval could have been an alternative but there is little distinguishing the two in terms of locational advantage. There is of course the romantic link to Junction Oval which may have swayed a few votes, but other than that the decision would revolve around which has the least disadvantages.
Yeah - as you will see I had edited Moorabbin out after re-reading the question but you were a bit quick of the mark :wink:

It appears to me that the most likely outcomes will be - in order of probability:
1. Stay at Moorabbin and have indoor training and business facilities elsewhere (at Moorabbin there is a new ground surface, it is close to where the players live and players/suporters romantic advantage. Practical location for business services to have them close to CBD)
2. Frankston - Because the council appears to be very interested and its closer than Casey and quicker for the players to get to for training, also close to the beach.
3. Casey Fields because they have everything we need but the location is not suitable for players, most staff members, most supporters, the media and business partners. Also from what I have heard the Casey option may have some issues with one of the local councillors who has stated in the local paper that he isn't keen - same problem we have had with our Moorabbin negotiations.
4. Clayton - Metro area but don't know too much about what they offering (This one would suit me down to ground because I live nearby)
5. Port Melbourne - a good option re location, but appears to have fallen off the radar
6. Junction Oval - The best option in my opinion but Melbourne use it for some training and because of the heritage listed buildings there would be issues - also the local council don't appear to be very interested in supporting the club to get there.

I think that the players would like the indoor facilties close to the Dome so that they can be in their own space during the recovery sessions after the Dome and MCG games - but I'm only guessing.

I also thought that one of the issues regarding building suitable facilities was so that we would end up with an asset.

I can see where people are coming from who live in the Cranbourne region and good luck to them if they are successful - however the distance is way over the top for the other supporters. Would we consider Ballarat if they put up their hand to provide what we want ?- I doubt it - but I could see Bratty lobbying. :wink:

barneyboyz

The Peanut wrote:
casey scorp wrote:

Yeah - as you will see I had edited Moorabbin out after re-reading the question but you were a bit quick of the mark :wink:

It appears to me that the most likely outcomes will be - in order of probability:
1. Stay at Moorabbin and have indoor training and business facilities elsewhere (at Moorabbin there is a new ground surface, it is close to where the players live and players/suporters romantic advantage. Practical location for business services to have them close to CBD)
2. Frankston - Because the council appears to be very interested and its closer than Casey and quicker for the players to get to for training, also close to the beach.
3. Casey Fields because they have everything we need but the location is not suitable for players, most staff members, most supporters, the media and business partners. Also from what I have heard the Casey option may have some issues with one of the local councillors who has stated in the local paper that he isn't keen - same problem we have had with our Moorabbin negotiations.
4. Clayton - Metro area but don't know too much about what they offering (This one would suit me down to ground because I live nearby)
5. Port Melbourne - a good option re location, but appears to have fallen off the radar
6. Junction Oval - The best option in my opinion but Melbourne use it for some training and because of the heritage listed buildings there would be issues - also the local council don't appear to be very interested in supporting the club to get there.

I think that the players would like the indoor facilties close to the Dome so that they can be in their own space during the recovery sessions after the Dome and MCG games - but I'm only guessing.

I also thought that one of the issues regarding building suitable facilities was so that we would end up with an asset.

I can see where people are coming from who live in the Cranbourne region and good luck to them if they are successful - however the distance is way over the top for the other supporters. Would we consider Ballarat if they put up their hand to provide what we want ?- I doubt it - but I could see Bratty lobbying. :wink:
In the period of time that this has been an issue, it is interesting to note that most people that seem to have an opinion, would prefer that the Saints are closer to themselves; fair enough too I suppose, I for instance would love to be able to see them at Casey, as this is close to me, but, didn't Geelong just win the premiership from all the way down there! let me tell you Casey is no more difficult to get to from Melb. than Geelong.

For me, Moorabbin is an emotional argument, if we had to be somewhere and not have to grow as a club, then just stay there, it's romantic, a great deal of history, for which we should never ever forget, but Casey is not just Cranbourne, there is huge growth in this whole area, growth which isn't happening and cant to the same degree in some of the other areas mentioned.

People, keep the blinkers off when thinking about these issues, a far greater thing is at stake

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
brewski

Im sick of people suggesting we should be in the country, we are StKilda not Geelong.

As if the players, staff and fans would want to travel to Casey or Frankston

Banned by the censors
barneyboyz

brewski wrote:Im sick of people suggesting we should be in the country, we are StKilda not Geelong.

As if the players, staff and fans would want to travel to Casey or Frankston
Big picture mate, Big picture!

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
Trunch

Would love to see St.Kilda in St.KIlda. Junction Oval would be nice but how realistic is this? Not a fan of any move to Casey or Frankston or anywhere further away from St.Kilda. Moorabbin, Junction maybe Port Melbourne.

I like to get to training from time to time and spend a few bucks at the club. Would never go to out to Cranborne or down to Frankston. Confess to growing up in Ballarat in the old St.Kilda VFL zone.

St.Kilda in St.Kilda to avoid alienating any supporter group.

Remain educated on the game, stay loyal to St.Kilda

Given the mooted problems with Port Phillip Council I can not see eother Junction Oval or Port Melbourne as being viable.

Months ago I floated the idea of moving the Amateurs out of their headquarters at Elsternwick Park. The ovals there would provide plenty of training space and we would need to build our training facilities on land owned by City of Glen Eira who may well be much more amenable to the idea tha other local councils.

Situated halfway between Moorabbin and St.Kilda and adjacent to both rail and tram lines it would appear to be ideal geographically.
Last edited by Mr Magic on Sun 14 Oct 2007 12:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

Moorabbin is where we should be.

From my point of view my next options would be
- Junction Oval - return to our roots
- Port Melbourne - close to Docklands/city
- Monash - great facilities, capture student market

But I reluctantly voted for Casey as the alternative to Moorabbin.
To me Casey is way too far away.
I have never been there and probably wouldn't because of the distance.
But Cranbourne / Pakenham is Melboune's growth corridor and probably maximises our chances of increasing our supporter base.

I still have my membership keyring of the "Keep the Saints at Moorabbin" group and that is where my heart is.

brewski

[quote="Enrico_Misso"]Moorabbin is where we should be.

But Cranbourne / Pakenham is Melboune's growth corridor and probably maximises our chances of increasing our supporter base.

And alienating or losing existing supporters/members with a move, we already have a connection with the area being the Scorp's thats enough!

Banned by the censors

i don't like the idea of re-locating but for the purpose of the exercise, i will say frankston due to it being a 5 minute trip from my house..

in reality, the local centrelink hangers would be all over our biys as it is a 20 second stroll from the centrlink office so it may not be a good idea :D

St DAC

riccardo wrote:Casey has the best facilities nearby to it, so I'd prefer it to be there.

But we must do our very best to stay at Moorabbin.
I agree; Moorabbin as a priority, Casey if that option fails.