5 Clubs chasing GOOSE !!

Greg Denham on SEN this morning said that there were 5 clubs seriously interested in Goose. He didn't mention which clubs but you can bet your bottom dollar that Carlton is one of them. After all, they threw mega bucks at Kosi and failed. Lets hope Goose shows the same loyalty !!

Re: 5 Clubs chasing GOOSE !!

let's hope we show some loyalty to goose

Re: 5 Clubs chasing GOOSE !!

bigcarl wrote:let's hope we show some loyalty to goose
Yep !!

Loyalty is definately a two way street !!

goodie

Key backs are in demand at the moment, along with key forwards and rucks. I hope we re-sign him soon

I would be very surprised if Goose went elsewhere I can't see any of our starting 22 leaving us for the next few years atleast even with all this stuff going on at board level...

of course there are some phukcheads who don't realise the value of a CHB and dont rate goose and would give him away for next to nothing :roll:

lets hope St Kilda FC values goose more than some of imbeciles here.

well the plus side (thou not really a plus) if he doesn't re-sign there are five clubs wiling to trade for him? Instead of the pre-season draft. Also what is Carltons fasination with saints players???

Sign Goose we want you to stay.

Dan Warna wrote:lets hope St Kilda FC values goose more than some of imbeciles here.
i hope i'm wrong, but i wouldn't count on it

riccardo

ausfatcat wrote:well the plus side (thou not really a plus) if he doesn't re-sign there are five clubs wiling to trade for him?
If we don't re-sign him, we'll lose him, I don't think you can trade an out of contract player?

yeah you can riccardo but he has to agree with it because he is out of contract. If he was still in contract he wouldn't have to agree, they could just do it.

JT

What is Goose actually worth?

You would think that Carlton are offering him 400-450k, we wouldn't want or be able to match that sort of cash.

I would think we could offer him 280k-300k at the most!

I wouldnt blame Goose if he left for 150k more per year. St Kilda must ensure that if we lose him its not for nothing!

yes you can ric, he can also nominate for the draft or the PSD if he walks out, and takes his chances there.

if the clubs and the player come to an agreement we can trade an out of contract player.

i would hate to see goose walk out on us but given some of the rubbish we are hearing about archie and RB I wonder have some of our negotiators become too 'pigz arze elliot' like.

even then hamill dealt decently with carlton ensuring they got a high draft pick (pick 4) and a reasonable player (cranage played much of the season in the seniors as I recall)

i would hope that we treat him with respect, unlike rumours coming out regarding the archie and x. clarke.

Goose is an interesting one......2007 was way below his capabilities.

Nathan Brown at Richmond has proved you can come back properly from a badly busted leg.

So with a full preseason, should re expect Goose circa 2008 to be similar to what we had 2 years ago? If so, he is a must have player.

ie. it's a bit of a gamble at this stage.

Dan Warna wrote:
i would hope that we treat him with respect, unlike rumours coming out regarding the archie and x. clarke.
what are the rumours dan......what you post is really worrying.....

what did we lack in 07?

a stable defence,

our previous talls and long term planning was around penny, max and goose.

penny is gone prematurely, fisher was an unexpected bonus, and max was fragile in 07, prior to 07 there was nothing to say max wouldn't be a contributor till he was 33 or 34, now he is on 1 year contracts.

lose goose and we could be back to the early part of 07 when fisher was our only tall quality if max gets injured...

JT

i agree Goose would be a huge loss, but he is going to have to take a massive pay cut to stay

okay......the re-signing fiasco and that f-wit fraser and his mate kenny have just made up my mind for me...here is the e-mail i just sent ff...

helped of course by dimwits attempts to fix the rebel bid.....

"well...i was a bit undicided...until andrew fonzi tried to butt in .

...you will have my proxy...just get in there quickly before we lose players like goose and x for ever...

...stinger....

those scummy carsum creeps are putting the value of our players up ...probably on purpose as a pay back for sammy....well we should repay them in kind .....

riccardo

JT wrote:i agree Goose would be a huge loss, but he is going to have to take a massive pay cut to stay
Since when?

Nobody has ever said players will have to take less money to stay.

i thought it was RB trying to get the AFL into the middle of it, not the AFL itself...

dont get me wrong, i loathe the current AFL administration, but it looks to me that RB and his cronies are behind it this time...

Dan Warna wrote:

Tell us more !

5 Clubs chasing goose!

:lol: WOW! a post about footy matters! what next? :lol:

Stjohn

Where is Stone Cold 3:16?

Now tha we need a calming voice of truth?

" I am a loyal person and at the end of my career it will be great to look back and know I am a St Kilda person for life. That was something that has heavily influenced my decision.â€
JT

riccardo wrote:
JT wrote:i agree Goose would be a huge loss, but he is going to have to take a massive pay cut to stay
Since when?

Of course players have to take less money to stay.

Do you not think that Kosi, Rooey, Dal Santo all took less money then they would have got somewhere else?

Goose will earn alot more if he goes & plays for Carlton, because he isnt going to leave if the deals are only say 50k different. There would be no point

riccardo wrote:
Since when?

concur ric

how much to quality CHBs go for these days? of course the previous was criticised for not having a spare CHB running around in the magoos, and some folks reckon we can give away a 22 year old player.

Maguire had a freak accident last year, its not like he is an injury prone player with gammy hammy's or dodgy shoulders.

losing maguire will set us back quite significantly and is frankly irreplacemable.

WCE have 1 great defender in glass, the rest feed of the midfield, Sydney use Goodes at CHB because they lack great talent there, etc, we have been gifted goose and folks want to give him away or ask him to take a pay cut to stay here :roll: