Moorabbin - The Bermuda Triangle of the AFL

Nick DalSanto Claus

Moorabbin - The Bermuda Triangle of the AFL

I witnessed yet another footballing disaster in Tassie today. The biggest mystery involving the crossing of Bass Strait since Freddie Valentich was allegedly kidnapped by a UFO while flying from Moorabbin Airport to Tasmania.

I've thought about it for a long time, but having grown up near our home ground for 20 years, I became very familiar with the surrounding streets.

After the sacking of Stan Alves, I was lamenting another monumental stuff up by the club, and I couldn't help wondering if the club was labouring under some sort of curse or anomoly in the fabric of reality. I would venture there is no rational, scientific explanation why a club could be so unsuccessful and incompetent, yet attract such a large and loyal following, without some sort of supernatural explanation.

That was a quarter of a century ago, and nothing in the interim has changed much. Yes, we came close a couple of times, but we soon resumed our journey on the treadmill of seemingly endless mediocrity.

While glancing at my Melway map (showing my age) one day I noticed that the area bound by South Road, Nepean Hwy., and Linton St., formed a huge triangle. On the eastern edge of the triangle lay the Moorabbin Oval.

Could it be, I thought, that similar to the infamous Bermuda Triangle, that Moorabbin Oval contains a vortex that is the gateway through to another dimension?

After all, just as many people, ships and aircraft, vanished without a trace in the Bermuda version, never to be seen again, the careers of many great footballing people's careers suffered the same fate in our Moorabbin Triangle.

Just think of all those playing and coaching careers that were wrecked by entrance to our triangle via Linton St. The list is concerningly large and worthy of further investigation.

Coaches such as Ross Smith, Mike Patterson, Alex Jesaulenko, Tony Jewell, Graeme Gellie, Darrel Baldock, Ken Sheldon, Stan Alves, Tim Watson, Malcolm Blight, Grant Thomas, Scott Watters, Alan Richardson, and Brett Ratten. All their careers disappeared after taking on the MT.

Only the swampfox bobbed up for a year, sighted at Punt Road for a year before fading into obscurity again.

I invite you all to name good players we recruited who fell to the same mysterious curse. Chuck in some administrators and the picture is frightening.

After today, there is a significant chance that RTB is heading that way, along with several once promising players.

RTB, like Bruce Lehrmann, may make the lion tamer's mistake of having survived his first tangle with the beast, and then, "went back for his hat" and got eaten.

I think my theory is as good as any other in explaining today's bewilderingly poor performance, as well as that of our tragic history. Maybe RTB and the boys can say hi to Freddie Valentich when they run into him in the alternative universe.

He disappeared in October, 1978, which coincides roughly with the period I've targeted here. You know it makes sense. The truth is out there. (Cue X-Files theme)

Re: Moorabbin - The Bermuda Triangle of the AFL

Hate to ruin your thunder NDC…
But the Bermuda Triangle has throughly been debunked as a myth. In terms of location, where things went missing, what was found… with modern tech, more or less everything has been accounted for so there is no mystery there.

As for the St.Kilda FC, good luck to any of us trying to figure that out

skeptic wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 10:37pm Hate to ruin your thunder NDC…
But the Bermuda Triangle has throughly been debunked as a myth. In terms of location, where things went missing, what was found… with modern tech, more or less everything has been accounted for so there is no mystery there.

He aint talkin' bout the real Bermuda Triangle - he be talkin' bout missing planes leavin' from Moorabbin airport late '70s.
No myth - they be gone, and they stay gone. Watch the In Search Of video.

samuraisaint wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 10:53pm

He aint talkin' bout the real Bermuda Triangle - he be talkin' bout missing planes leavin' from Moorabbin airport late '70s.
Serves me right for not reading the post properly and rushing off to be clever…
A little like Webster with that handball while we were streaming forward

skeptic wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 10:56pm
samuraisaint wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 10:53pm

Serves me right for not reading the post properly and rushing off to be clever…
A little like Webster with that handball while we were streaming forward
No sweat Brother. Stay cool.

haha @ lintonst stargate

and

absolutely loved the vid

what a classic

Nick DalSanto Claus

No probs, skeptic. I've watched several docos that provide plausible physical, and scientific explanations for the disappearances in the BT.

The MT, however, has no plausible explanation. I was writing as a method of self soothing. After witnessing that s*** today, I couldn't bring myself to write anything remotely serious here tonight.

Go on. Have a go at explaining the conundrum of the Moorabbin Triangle. :shock: :D

tall blue light beings in their thought construct machines
is my favourite bedtime story

Nick DalSanto Claus

asiu wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 11:23pm haha @ lintonst stargate

and

absolutely loved the vid

what a classic
You're getting warm, asiu. @lintonst stargate. Classic. :D

Nick DalSanto Claus

asiu wrote: Sat 11 May 2024 11:26pm tall blue light beings in their thought construct machines
is my favourite bedtime story
Warmer.

a triangle is basically a pyramid

the blue people are from Venus
(they are 6th dimensional positive polarity entities)

how is my story your story ?

are you my long lost spaceperson buddy

(the one i didn't even know i was missing)

how bizarre

Nick DalSanto Claus

In the 6the dimension beings have complete control of time and space. They could solve the Valentich case, take us back to the toepoke and Milne bounce and alter the outcomes.

It is said that the 5 the dimension is where our consciousness resides after physical death. Some eminent physicists and mathematicians believe they can prove this theory to be correct.

The 6th dimension is where I get greedy. I want those farkers who reside there to change the outcomes to the 09-10 GFs, and while they're at it they can change 1913, 1965, 1971 and 1997. That would give us a respectable 7 premierships.

lol

my blue friends don't care about the footy

they could tell u what happened to Valentich
though would most likely choose not to
given collective 'free will' considerations

u know Aeon well , i presume

Gold.

Closer to home:
Montague St Bridge
West Gate Freeway, peak hour with minor bingle
Hanging Rock

Nick DalSanto Claus

Ah! The Montague St. Bridge. A magnet for accidents. The same as the dreaded Moorabbin Triangle. We too have had many inexplicable "car crashes" at our home over the years.

The links are undeniable. Well spotted, Yorkeys. Chaos reigns in all the places you named. We've been doomed since the portal opened when Yabbie left. Nothing but heartache since.

Nick DalSanto Claus

asiu wrote: Sun 12 May 2024 6:45am

Even Edgar Allen Poe is in on the cause of our misery.
And I asked the Raven ,"Will the Saints ever win another premiership?"

Quothe the Raven
"On the morrow my chance will leave me, as my Hopes have flown before.”
Then the bird said “Nevermore"

Spooky. :?