Do we need to extend Lyons contract now?

Re: Do we need to extend Lyons contract now?

In the last 12 months I have never ever said that I ‘hate’ the guy. Since he was appointed the new St Kilda coach I have never used that word to describe Ross…and…

I was (and will continue to be) one of the most vocal questioning his status as a ‘great’ coach.

To answer the question posed in the OP. ("Do we need to extend Lyons contract now?") I'd say No. (for all the reasons I've already outlined in previous posts) This doesn't (I believe) make me a "RTB Hater" just someone who believes it's a bit early for such a decision. Others may disagree.

Yorkeys wrote: Wed 09 Aug 2023 7:05pm Thou shalt not take the name of the lord Ross in vain.
Teffers posts to the juveniles 2023, archives.
(but would those juvies listen? Anyway it came to pass......)
Blessed are the Ross-fanboys…for they shall inherit the earth/premiership

Teffers

I reckon Ross could s*** on your kitchen table, and you’d grab a Knife and Fork

You’re so blinkered it’s hard to take you seriously

Ross is going to win 11/12 games this season
Which is what we won last season

What has he done that’s been so great?

B.M wrote: Wed 09 Aug 2023 10:04pm Teffers

Ross has already equalled last years shyte show
Without MULTIPLE blow outs
With far greater injuries
Still pumped games into kids
Raised standards from low levels (you agreed with)
And we aren’t out of the 8 or finals just yet..
Do that last one and I think you might be eating the turds …
Done plenty and hasn’t had this team for a full offseason yet

Teflon wrote: Wed 09 Aug 2023 10:49pm

There has certainly been some positives with regards getting games into the young guys and you are right in that out ladder position isn’t disgraceful however as a measuring scale our ladder position might not be truely reflective of where we are at with regards to knowing how much of a rebuild is needed. This because of the performance of the teams from 5th to 15th who haven’t performed well themselves. It’s been a peculiar season from that aspect but it misguided the average fans because the media are required to sell it as an “even” competition.

Vortex wrote: Wed 09 Aug 2023 10:57pm
Teflon wrote: Wed 09 Aug 2023 10:49pm

There has certainly been some positives with regards getting games into the young guys and you are right in that out ladder position isn’t disgraceful however as a measuring scale our ladder position might not be truely reflective of where we are at with regards to knowing how much of a rebuild is needed. This because of the performance of the teams from 5th to 15th who haven’t performed well themselves. It’s been a peculiar season from that aspect but it misguided the average fans because the media are required to sell it as an “even” competition.
I don’t buy the “rest of the teans Shiit so our effort doesn’t count” theory
It’s been a reasonably even comp for sone years - AFL want that
What I do know is when we fall away this year we are getting smacked anywhere near like we did last season …I think that’s in part due to coaching and a discernible structure plus kids (who sone are tiring) have performed admirably
Our “senior players “ ….less so ..apart from Crouch Sincs Marshall Wilkie think they’ve stood up

Teflon wrote: Mon 07 Aug 2023 10:57pm It’s a serious question
We have major list/re-build work required and with a poor draft this year and Tassie coming …..will the great man need longer to destruct and reconstruct our brittle, fragile list????
He’s good but can’t work miracles
I think he’ll need at least another 2-3
Methinks your tongue was firmly in your cheek with this topic Teflon - if it was your intention to provoke some spirited response about Ross Lyon this early in his tenure then you've certainly had some fun.

FWIW I can't think of any previous senior coach with a four year term being offered an extension in his first year, and I doubt very much this will be something that will appear on the Board's agenda until 2025 at the earliest.

Lyon appears to me to be comfortable and relaxed about his current terms and as he has stated himself, is fully invested in taking St Kilda back into becoming a serious contender, and in Walsh's words 'make St Kilda relevant in the competition again'. As he said in his first press conference, he sees his task as completing 'unfinished business'.

As a long term supporter I take this as a rallying cry and back him 100% to achieve this very worthy objective.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 08 Aug 2023 8:41pm
skeptic wrote: Tue 08 Aug 2023 7:03pm
repta wrote: Tue 08 Aug 2023 4:40pm

Is he really that invested in the job. There is definately shades of Malcolm in some of his mannerisms.
Rebuilds cant be done from the sidelines.
I get the point you’re making and have no insight as to what you do or don’t know RE the Malcolm Blight era. What I will say is that from the insiders of the time, there is categorically no parallel or shades with Blight’s short lived reign. Read into that what you will.
Malcolm Blight?

FMD
The stories of what was happening from that time are pretty shocking

skeptic wrote: Thu 10 Aug 2023 5:12pm

Is he really that invested in the job. There is definately shades of Malcolm in some of his mannerisms.
I get the point you’re making and have no insight as to what you do or don’t know RE the Malcolm Blight era. What I will say is that from the insiders of the time, there is categorically no parallel or shades with Blight’s short lived reign. Read into that what you will.
Malcolm Blight?

FMD
I have no doubt we didn’t get the whole story.

skeptic wrote: Thu 10 Aug 2023 5:12pm

Malcolm Blight?

FMD
The rubber chicken bit was bizarre ….

The footy we’ve played since r7 has been putrid

I hate teams that can’t score

Idiotic proposition.

Someone must be worried about their drip feed of information from RESA Park suddenly stopping, hence all the irrational fan boy posts.

Sad.

SaintPav wrote: Fri 11 Aug 2023 9:17pm Idiotic proposition.

Someone must be worried about their drip feed of information from RESA Park suddenly stopping, hence all the irrational fan boy posts.

Sad.
We’ll always have your drivel we can rely on I guess …that and all your little internet friend group you try so hard to impress..😂

Doesn't take a genius to realise your OP was an attempt at trolling or as SaintPav posted an "Idiotic proposition".

I would have said f****** crazy and most fair posters would agree with me.

Thankfully, the Board ain't crazy.

ps Saintpav's internet friends group is far far bigger than yours, madam.

saynta wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 11:48am Doesn't take a genius to realise your OP was an attempt at trolling or as SaintPav posted an "Idiotic proposition".

Just your style to single me out for being a woman
Says a lot about you
Ross will be extended
And you’ll just have to suck it up or go support Pies.. you’re more a filth fan type anyway why not??

Teflon wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 12:43pm
saynta wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 11:48am Doesn't take a genius to realise your OP was an attempt at trolling or as SaintPav posted an "Idiotic proposition".

Says a lot about you
Ross will be extended
And you’ll just have to suck it up or go support Pies.. you’re more a filth fan type anyway why not??
Yes sir, oops....sorry Ma..m :roll: 8-) :evil:

Explains a lot actually. :wink:

i think history will show that he was sacked or he resigned....never extended. :evil:

saynta wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 1:23pm

Says a lot about you
Ross will be extended

i think history will show that he was sacked or he resigned....never extended. :evil:
I think the asylum “extended” your leave

Teflon wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 2:29pm
saynta wrote: Sat 12 Aug 2023 1:23pm

Says a lot about you
Ross will be extended

I think the asylum “extended” your leave
Yep, how did you guess?