4th Ashes Test

Re: 4th Ashes Test

OK
Confession
Cooling the jets now…
But Aust will still….not lose.

Haha

This pitch isn’t hard to bat on, that has been made clear.

It’s all in Australia’s hands now, need to be no more than 2 down tonight. Tomorrow will be a washout and fingers crossed for day 5…

I feel a collapse coming on…

Killa

Sometimes it is your turn

And sometimes it is not

The Poms have put us to the sword - on their own decks and with their postage sized grounds

And their Dad’s Army attack are well experienced on their home decks (and by far more proficient on them than our bowlers)

The problem from here (apart from the obvious) is that there are still 7 full sessions to go after this session

We will need 3 sessions to draw level on runs, still leaving 4 sessions

So, if we bat 5 sessions we are 200 in the lead (5 sessions just rolling off the tongue, so 10 hours to put it into context)

And they then have 2 sessions to make 200

The point of this analysis?

Our only hope is 2 days of torrential rain and no play

And that is to draw the match

Then we move onto the last Test at 2-1 and a draw

You can only hope

I just don’t get it.

Can someone please explain?

What the hell was Khawaja doing??

The ONLY play Australia has is to put the highest price on their wickets, runs don’t matter.

So a few minutes before lunch he decides to hang his bat out to a short wide loosener?!?

It’s beyond me.

Killa wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 1:18am Sometimes it is your turn,,,

……

Our only hope is 2 days of torrential rain and no play ….

Nup...
2 days of rain…?.

Here is a more realistic scenario…

Stumps Friday
3 down 150 behind

Saturday
First session washed out
Half second session
Half third..

6 down draw even

Sunday

Lunch
8 down 100 ahead

Second session washed out

Last session
All out 150 ahead
Washed out

Job done
Ashes secured
Total victory

The forecast looks to me like two days of almost continuous rain, so we’re pretty safe I reckon.

Pity. The series deserves a fifth test decider.

Win or Lose, can this please be the end of Warner. No... "but there's one Test to go, we need his experience. The reserve bats have not played." Enough!

Then let's rebalance the side with a proper spinner.

Open the batting with Labuschagne, bat Green at 3. Neser in for Starc, unlucky.

I think this tour has put an end to the NSW bowling "cartel", well I hope so.

Much to overhaul in the Australian XI. Do we have the selectors to do it, take a step or two back to move forward?

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 7:01pm Win or Lose, can this please be the end of Warner. No... "but there's one Test to go, we need his experience. The reserve bats have not played." Enough!

Much to overhaul in the Australian XI. Do we have the selectors to do it, take a step or two back to move forward?
Have to factor in: NSW cricket association is all in on Warner, that's some pile of chips. Warner supported current coach and captain against Langer, that's a big debt. He will only go when he realises he is embarrassing himself, he feels uncomfortable in the change rooms, his manager tells him sponsors are not returning calls, and he can afford to buy all remaining stocks of the SBW masks. South Africa and England are encouraging him to play on. Broad texts him after each innings and says gee you were stiff, don't retire.

Yorkeys wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 7:41pm
Ghost Like wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 7:01pm Win or Lose, can this please be the end of Warner. No... "but there's one Test to go, we need his experience. The reserve bats have not played." Enough!

Have to factor in: NSW cricket association is all in on Warner, that's some pile of chips. Warner supported current coach and captain against Langer, that's a big debt. He will only go when he realises he is embarrassing himself, he feels uncomfortable in the change rooms, his manager tells him sponsors are not returning calls, and he can afford to buy all remaining stocks of the SBW masks. South Africa and England are encouraging him to play on. Broad texts him after each innings and says gee you were stiff, don't retire.
Not nice mate, not nice at all. The SBW reference is below the belt but seeing you're a pom , only to be expected

Would Warner's continuing test career help him get a couple more IPL gigs?

saynta wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 8:16pm

Not nice mate, not nice at all. The SBW reference is below the belt but seeing you're a pom , only to be expected
Gosh, Saynta, calling a bloke a pom, hurtful.
However its good you defend little Davy, Davy of the sandpaper, brought shame on Australian cricket in bucket loads, bully when he knows he can't be touched, foul mouthed nasty abuser of opposition players, coward punched Joe Root, pretends the tough guy, uses reviews as if they are his by right often when he is clearly out, disliked by his team mates, ruined Cameron Bancroft's career and Smith's captaincy and you get prudish for recalling crowds taunt him with SBW masks - and I have wondered why that is, do you know. I guess you are a New South Welshman, from Double Bay?

nuh

victorian+canberran i'd put my dollar on

he's got more going for him than the Double Pay crowd of incapable parkers

Pommy mate texted me saying Marnus is being a pest. Sating sarcastically that he is ‘all class’.

What did he do?

Get lippy?

Pommy mate texted me saying Marnus is being a pest. Sating sarcastically that he is ‘all class’.

What did he do?

Get lippy?

Didn’t walk when he nicked behind.
Did your pommy mate text you about Broad not walking when he nicked off Agar?

Didn’t walk when he nicked behind.

oh no

not walking ... sheeet

isn't that why they have umps

think of the kids !!

rollyeyes rollyeyes rollyeyes

What better way to retain the Ashes than on their soil, with their rules, their weather, and under torrents of their tears.

There there.

Yorkeys wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 11:32pm
saynta wrote: Sat 22 Jul 2023 8:16pm

Gosh, Saynta, calling a bloke a pom, hurtful.
However its good you defend little Davy, Davy of the sandpaper, brought shame on Australian cricket in bucket loads, bully when he knows he can't be touched, foul mouthed nasty abuser of opposition players, coward punched Joe Root, pretends the tough guy, uses reviews as if they are his by right often when he is clearly out, disliked by his team mates, ruined Cameron Bancroft's career and Smith's captaincy and you get prudish for recalling crowds taunt him with SBW masks - and I have wondered why that is, do you know. I guess you are a New South Welshman, from Double Bay?
sandpaper...bad

lollies.....good.

Root is a turd. I would punch him too.. tried to claim a catch that clearly hit the ground. f****** cheat, just like his mates.

Mr Magic wrote: Sun 23 Jul 2023 2:30pm Didn’t walk when he nicked behind.
Aha ..it wouldn't be above Broady!

(Under the Broadwalk) He be having some fun
(Under the Broadwalk) 'aint walkin' for no one
(Under the Broadwalk) Make another run...
(Under the Broadwalk) Broadwalk

Bruce G McAbee

Rain, rain and more rain.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Yes, the weather map with the times and precipitation percentages seems to indicate that the rain is just going to get heavier and heavier. Stokes should have declared at lunch on day 3 and it would now be all over.

C'aaaaaarn the Rain

Thump down !!

LONG TO RAIN OVER THEM!

Ashes retained! Don’t care how … just great to see Stokes / Crawley sooking it up at the presentation.

Bring Neeser in at The Oval and freshen up and then beat them 3-1 (even though the soap dodgers will still think they won 3-1).