Tasmania- Why a brand new stadium?

Re: Tasmania- Why a brand new stadium?

Sainternist wrote: Wed 03 May 2023 5:34pm
Utopia is pure genius, it's just scary how accurate the story lines are.

what u wanna be taswegians fail to recognise
is that we love the 'doubleheaded' line
for much the same reason
the girls love it

i didn't post a piccy of a white echidna for no reason

catch up skippies

Why the f*** would the Tassie Premier state that young Tasmanians can relize their dream of playing AFL without having to leave the State, unless he had some undertaking that the 19th team would have exclusive rights to all Tasmanian talent.

More rights than a kid from every other state has in respect of the draft.

I guess there are a lot more shocks to come.

loris wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 7:27pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 7:19pm
B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 6:36pm tas unites for state team

Hurricanes
Jack Jumpers
Tigers

Regardless of location

BM, you may have stumbled upon some brilliance here...

The North / South thing could be leveraged very nicely if they call the thing, 'Tasmania United(' like Man U or Sheffield United. A classic name ..and very cool idea.

I hope they don't go for the corny American crap like, 'The Gold Coast Suns' or 'The Adelaide Cows' ...Just leave the THE out of it.

Call it Tasmania United, Tassie United.. Very cool..IMO, and very apt.

And then they can choose one of their animals for a name, like the Devils, or the David Boons.
Or the ‘Punter Pontings’, though we can’t support gambling can we, not a Saint thing.
Or maybe the ‘Tassie Flashing Paine’ :oops: :oops: 🤭
I reckon they can be called the Tassie Twins .
The jumper can have two neckholes
And to unite the north and south the mascot will have two heads
One called Lonnie
The other Hobie
And as they're having an AFLW team , one can be male the other female, that way you'd only need one mascot .

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Wed 03 May 2023 7:10pm I hope Warner Bros allow them to be called the Tasmanian Devils.
Actually if they were smart, they would become a major sponsor of them with that name as it would be great PR.
Yeah like Warner Bros doesn't have much global exposure, and the AFL will give them some street cred 🤷🏼‍♂️

loris wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 7:27pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 7:19pm
B.M wrote: Tue 02 May 2023 6:36pm tas unites for state team

Hurricanes
Jack Jumpers
Tigers

Regardless of location

BM, you may have stumbled upon some brilliance here...

The North / South thing could be leveraged very nicely if they call the thing, 'Tasmania United(' like Man U or Sheffield United. A classic name ..and very cool idea.

I hope they don't go for the corny American crap like, 'The Gold Coast Suns' or 'The Adelaide Cows' ...Just leave the THE out of it.

Call it Tasmania United, Tassie United.. Very cool..IMO, and very apt.

And then they can choose one of their animals for a name, like the Devils, or the David Boons.
Or the ‘Punter Pontings’, though we can’t support gambling can we, not a Saint thing.
Or maybe the ‘Tassie Flashing Paine’ :oops: :oops: 🤭
'Tassie Flashers' :lol:

Brunswicksainter

saynta wrote: Wed 03 May 2023 8:57pm Why the f*** would the Tassie Premier state that young Tasmanians can relize their dream of playing AFL without having to leave the State, unless he had some undertaking that the 19th team would have exclusive rights to all Tasmanian talent.

More rights than a kid from every other state has in respect of the draft.

I guess there are a lot more shocks to come.
I have no issue with tassie having access to every Tasmanian draftee for their first 10 years (as long as not farther son already at another club). Pretty limited talent coming out of tassie over the journey tbh. Not much of a competitive advantage when you only have one or two gun players come each decade.

I also heard a snippet of the future father/son rule. The 19th team would have access under the proposed rule to the offspring of any Tasmanian who played 100 AFL games.

Don't know if that would rope Roos' three boys in or not.

Siurely the player would still have the choice if he wanted to play with his fathers team

saynta wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 11:24am I also heard a snippet of the future father/son rule. The 19th team would have access under the proposed rule to the offspring of any Tasmanian who played 100 AFL games.

I heard that it would only relate to players drafted from Tasmania. Nick R was drafted from QLD so his kids wouldn’t be eligible. Jack R was drafted from Tassie so his kids would be.

remboy wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 12:21pm
saynta wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 11:24am I also heard a snippet of the future father/son rule. The 19th team would have access under the proposed rule to the offspring of any Tasmanian who played 100 AFL games.

I heard that it would only relate to players drafted from Tasmania. Nick R was drafted from QLD so his kids wouldn’t be eligible. Jack R was drafted from Tassie so his kids would be.
Hope you are right.

Good luck to Tassie. I’m glad they have a side. My only reservation is that every time they add a new franchise it devalues our own.

IMO 19 teams is too many. Fourteen was more than enough. Conferences is up next.

Premierships are going to be a once-in-a-lifetime event unless you are lucky or support a big club.

I hope they don’t call them the devils.

Come up with something more original

saynta wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 1:11pm
remboy wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 12:21pm

Hope you are right.
The story I heard made mention of Jack Riewoldt and I thought it was odd they didn’t mention Nick. It explained it by saying it would be based on where you were drafted from. Obviously a lot can happen between now and but hopefully it works in our favour for a change.

bigcarl wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 1:24pm Good luck to Tassie. I’m glad they have a side. My only reservation is that every time they add a new franchise it devalues our own.

IMO 19 teams is too many. Fourteen was more than enough. Conferences is up next.

Premierships are going to be a once-in-a-lifetime event unless you are lucky or support a big club.
It’s hard enough trying to get talent through the draft now. Having an extra team makes it that bit harder. Probably worth getting as many first and second rounds picks over the next few years as possible.

Instead of adding a side now to make it an even 20 we could just get rid of Collingwood

The Fireman wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 5:29pm Instead of adding a side now to make it an even 20 we could just get rid of Collingwood
if the afl were fair dinkum about generating new members for smaller clubs they'd remove collingwood, carlton, richmond, and essendon. may as well ditch the hawks as well as they are irrelevant now a real tassie team is joining.
the new 14 team comp will be great. think of the excitement for supporters of those listed clubs - getting to wipe teh slate clean and choose a new club. like being reborn.

desertsaint wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 6:11pm
The Fireman wrote: Thu 04 May 2023 5:29pm Instead of adding a side now to make it an even 20 we could just get rid of Collingwood
if the afl were fair dinkum about generating new members for smaller clubs they'd remove collingwood, carlton, richmond, and essendon. may as well ditch the hawks as well as they are irrelevant now a real tassie team is joining.
the new 14 team comp will be great. think of the excitement for supporters of those listed clubs - getting to wipe teh slate clean and choose a new club. like being reborn.
That would be the best scenario but the afl aren’t fair dinkum

Groovy Guru

They could be called the Tassie Beavers .....

Think about it 8-)

f****** great idea. :wink:

TAS Devils is original

What other team is called that?!

B.M wrote: Fri 05 May 2023 7:14pm TAS Devils is original

What other team is called that?!
Well… obviously there’s there famous cartoon
Then you have the fact that Melbourne are the demons… demons and devils are similar… but of course this is in reference to the Tasmanian Tiger bit we already have a Tigers too… most overused animal on sport.

Then you have VFL Tassie team which was the devils and the Basketball team was the devils too though that may have been Hobart.

Personally, I think it’s boring

You’re obviously not Tasmanian?

I am

Tassie Devils are native to TAS and are synonymous with the state

Perfect name

Maybe not as relevant the Sun, Giants or Power or Dockers… but identifiable as a brand

Templar

Are you still gunna faark off when they come in?

Not "Simon Templar". He was here first. Please change my username to Bumstead and if possible make me one of those very large sandwiches, thanks!

Absolutely

My heart is with my home

I’ve lived Bayside for 25 years, but grew up in TAS and it’s still my favourite place to go