Ball movement

Is deplorable

Players playing like they are weighed down by instruction

No spirit

At the game their is no connection/buzz amongst the players

Like kids doing a horrible chore

Re: Ball movement

Seem to have coached all the instinct out of our team.
They look confused

Poor skills both kicking and handball (worst in AFL).

Kick-it-lace-out

Make no mistake. This is a coaching issue. Not necessarily all on Ratts, but we need a clear out at the end of the season. Starting with Lade. He took over as forward coach this year, and it’s no coincidence that Max King can’t get near it and our forward line overall has looked completely dysfunctional this year. And if you believe the rumours Rath is also on his way out, and thank goodness I say.

Rath must be the new Danny Sexton.

Looked better in the second half once Brisbane dropped off a bit and we started taking chances

Rath staying for next year according to Fox.

Kick-it-lace-out wrote: Fri 12 Aug 2022 10:13pm Make no mistake. This is a coaching issue. Not necessarily all on Ratts, but we need a clear out at the end of the season. Starting with Lade. He took over as forward coach this year, and it’s no coincidence that Max King can’t get near it and our forward line overall has looked completely dysfunctional this year. And if you believe the rumours Rath is also on his way out, and thank goodness I say.
Yep when you see that level of dysfunction across a whole side devoid of any ability to move the ball with any fluency or deliver to a forward line without some level of game strategy it’s coaching
Players look utterly lost
Over handballing often to players standing still
We just scrape and scrap fumble bumble it forward with pressure to score …
Clean out required and Lade MUST go

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/03 ... /

Here’s some more on how a good coach doesn’t just whinge he doesn’t have skilled players…he does something about it

Hesitation is the killer. If a team mate is free, just give it to him. However, there's too much "will I or won't I?" in the minds of the players.

Paralysis by analysis

chook23 wrote: Fri 12 Aug 2022 10:03pm Is deplorable

Players playing like they are weighed down by instruction

When I was in the UK recently I chatted with a guy who claimed to be a good mate of Ben Long's , and that is pretty much exactly what he said Ben had told him. Our players are confused with what they need to be doing.

That means players cannot just be instinctive when playing.

It is a bit like learning to drive a manual car...when you are really having to think about what you are needing to do you are often awkward and do not execute well. Once it becomes automatic as you are well drilled it just flows.

It is another reason why goal kicking can be such a problem for some players, as they are thinking too much.

cwrcyn wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 9:39am Hesitation is the killer. If a team mate is free, just give it to him. However, there's too much "will I or won't I?" in the minds of the players.

You saw this against the Lion's.

When in the second half we changed to in the main just pass it to the next guy upfield in space, the ball just flows down the ground. The first open player combined with the ball movement just opens up another slot.

Second half we scored way more often, even though perversely we finished by kicking 7 behinds straight from very gettable spots.

First half we mainly stopped and propped. That extra time means that the well drilled teams of today have flooded back and no holes remain.

From BF think it suns this thread up
I’ve also read players confused
How else can you explain multiple times this year we start off with defensive, stagnant footy. Decide that’s not working then flick the switch to movement behind the ball so the ball carrier has someone running past and kicks to next player in space moving upfield. We also got handball happening second half. Shyte coaching

We've got enough players in our team with good foot skills. It's not an excuse. Hill for example is a triple premiership elite winger - one of the best kicks inside 50 before he came to us. Does he now not have those skills anymore?
Like mentioned in other threads, our structure and game plan is shockingly bad, basically mirrors little league, just 20 blokes chasing the ball, leaving no space to work with even we do get the ball.

The geniuses in the coach box still haven’t worked out spacing/spread is needed to have an effective structure, like forwards should stay forward, not come up to backline just to clog up space..

This is the exact reason why opposition always seem to have a open midfield and forward line, and ours are always packed with players with little space to move the ball quick even if we win it… often resulting in more turnovers…

spert wrote: Sun 14 Aug 2022 9:42am Paralysis by analysis
As happened to quite a few golfers coached by Mr Leadbetter.