Dedicated AFLW Forum

Yes
43%
No
57%

Total votes: 37

Re: Dedicated AFLW Forum

Devilhead wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:31pm Just do a Saints AFLW sticky in the Main Forum

And do a General AFL Discussion sticky for other opposition and general footy talk
I hope that doesn't happen for AFLW discussion, but if it did, i wouldn't use that thread, i'd start another AFLW related one, without a title prefix.

Geez I would have thought a dedicated forum would have been advantageous for the sport.

Oh well. This has created some sort of regressive rebellion lol

This would be a sh*thouse forum if we all went through all the threads we don't care about a let everyone know about it every time. Get real.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:08pm
SaintJohno wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:03pm It would just get lost in it's own forum, I'd rather see info here than have to switch forums completely. I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.
Me too 👍
Fair enough - but if a thread has "Rhi Watt" in the subject line, what do you think it's going to be about?

Devilhead wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:31pm Just do a Saints AFLW sticky in the Main Forum

And do a General AFL Discussion sticky for other opposition and general footy talk
There is a sticky for General AFL discussion. There’s been one post since the season started.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:38pm Geez I would have thought a dedicated forum would have been advantageous for the sport.

Geez mate you have opened up a can of worm's here . I personally like a St.Kilda women's team but I don't like to watch women's footy . I can see what you mean but I don't think your going to win many friends on this site on this sort of topic . :wink:

its certainly good to see new names and some old names
posting / reposting again

re the different boards :
not sure that the Enclosure or the Moorabbin wing
get any action at all

the opposition 'n general ... little , i think

the General kicks along ok for the bit braver or insaner
(but nothing like it used to be)

then the Admin gets to hold all our 'rant' threads

its sorta like the Ham Fan Forum IS Saintsational

maybe turn this into a positive
and erase a couple of non performers :)

disclosure :
(personally , i find the Enclosure , a bit embarrassing)

I vote “Yes”

Make a separate forum, but acknowledge that many a thread will begin in this here ‘main forum’, and then, depending on traffic, the thread can get moved and ‘archived’ into the dedicated AFLW forum.

The archive factor would as a great resource for those looking for a bit of context in AFLW news comes up.

Many cricket posts and Paddy McCartins etc get put up on the main page and later get shunted into other subforums, so no biggie I would think.

or

(old idea re-visited)

turn the Enclosure into a kids forum
... n see if it gets more traffic
with maybe some mums joining in once they know there's
a safe space

regardless
it'd have to be more interesting , intellectual and enlightening
than it currently is

fair faux dinkum

bangaulegend wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 8:57pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:38pm Geez I would have thought a dedicated forum would have been advantageous for the sport.

Geez mate you have opened up a can of worm's here . I personally like a St.Kilda women's team but I don't like to watch women's footy . I can see what you mean but I don't think your going to win many friends on this site on this sort of topic . :wink:
Lol. Have I made enemies ???
And here I was thinking I was going to make friends ;)

Ps I agree with you re the team

he's got Mates
he just doesn't visit them .

bad fireperson :D

asiu wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 9:17pm he's got Mates
he just doesn't visit them .

bad fireperson :D
:lol: :lol: :lol:

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 9:10pm

Nah mate no enemies just ruffled a few feathers :wink: You're a good bloke most people on this site really appreciate your wit & humour & the doubter's well your always gunna have them . Keep the faith mate :wink:

bangaulegend wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 9:22pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 9:10pm

Nah mate no enemies just ruffled a few feathers :wink: You're a good bloke most people on this site really appreciate your wit & humour & the doubter's well your always gunna have them . Keep the faith mate :wink:

Perfect!

Not the worst idea but it should be done properly or not at all.

Saintsaitional Fan Forum needs to be split in 2 sub forums:

AFLW

AFLM

It’s only fair.

Good idea. Sticky would work well.

SaintPav wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 10:04pm Not the worst idea but it should be done properly or not at all.

Saintsaitional Fan Forum needs to be split in 2 sub forums:

AFLW

AFLM

It’s only fair.
If anything needs to be done with the Saintsaitional Fan Forum then this is the best suggestion i've seen so far, i've no idea how this could be done so that regardless of how many topics were raised in each sub forum, the
dominant one didn't push the other sub forum further down the page.

How could you scroll down in each sub forum to read all the threads on the front page of that forum.

I doubt the software is smart enough to do it effectively.

diddley

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:07pm I think it's a great idea.

If you look at the St Kilda app, they make it very clear about which team the topic is about. They also have an AFL / AFLW drop down menu.

So if it's good enough for the club then surely it's good enough for us? May even encourage AFLW specific posters who want to avoid the inevitable rubbish that comes with AFLW threads, to post more often in those threads.
I know the app has that function, but typically big new topics make it to both sides of the apps anyway. Things like delistings, trades or general big news go on both sides all the time.

diddley

With views like that, I bet you were a fan of the Apartheid days.
Why keep them together in harmony, when we can segregate them so you don’t need to be exposed to them?

How does a fan forum ever affect a sport, in the words of Brian Taylor, Oh Boy.

SunnyErnie

It's a NO from me

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

The votes are in and some people will not be happy

Will the Fireman call on his supporters to storm the capitol

https://api.time.com/wp-content/uploads ... ts_003.jpg

https://tower.mastersny.org/wp-content/ ... 00x600.png

If you put gender to one side and just debate AFLW as a product on its own capable of generating a sustainable market and revenue, it is also going to struggle significantly and will only survive with financial support from the men's game. If you grew up on AFLM, you probably aren't attracted to AFLW as they are completely different products. The woman and girls I watch AFLM with can't be bothered watching AFLW due to the stark contrast. It's just a preference thing.

I wonder how much the brains trust thought they would attract woman to the game who grew up on AFLM just because they were woman. From my anecdotal observations I don't see many woman switching products at this stage.

Boy we have a problem with with crowds at the AFLM and we are talking about a 19th team so I feel sorry for the poor buggers who are tasked with the responsibility of the growing AFLW.

SaintJohno wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:03pm It would just get lost in it's own forum, I'd rather see info here than have to switch forums completely. I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.
I would be happy to put AFLW in subject line

Funny thing is (as the original op on Rhi Watt) though I would have thought that a Saints supporter would know who Rhi Watt was regardless of if they followed AFLW or not

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights