Saints V Hawks matchday thread

Re: Saints V Hawks matchday thread

Goal Hawks

lazy crouch.

roskilde

Again impressive defensive pressure from Hill that forced a Hawthorn error.

Has he found his niche now across half back?

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

Goal Hawks

Clarke goals

Saints win by 69 points, well done Saints
Gold Coast next week.

Final Score
Saints 19-14-128
Hawks 9-5-59

bit of us playing well. lot of hawthorn having an absolute shocker.
need to take another step up next week. suns seem to always push us and they'll be up for it after taking the crows (whoops - pies) apart today.
Last edited by desertsaint on Sat 01 May 2021 9:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

Good win - so much better when we get the running game going

We look more balanced with only 2 small forwards as well

Tonight looked like the 2020 Saints. But let’s not sugar coat it, Hawthorn were terrible, not many teams will let us play like that.

Backing up next week will be the test and really show us where we’re at.

Great win by the Saints! Nice to see some players back in form - Jones, Crouch, Hill, Sinclair, Higgins and Bytel. We have definitely found two mids in Byrnes & Bytel.

Putting Hill across the HBF was a great move and well coached by Ratts.

Hill gave us a bit of speed and run out of the back line, but still think we are a bit slow down back at times.

MickThomas

Our % improved from 67.4 to 80, which is great, because it's only Rd 7. Points For and Against are low, so the margin has a bigger effect than later in the year.

We're 13th at the moment, above the Injectors and Blues, who play tomorrow.
The winner will move above us and we'll drop one spot.

Unless...they draw the game :shock: :lol:
Last edited by MickThomas on Sat 01 May 2021 8:30pm, edited 2 times in total.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

desertsaint wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 8:15pm bit of us playing well. lot of hawthorn having an absolute shocker.
need to take another step up next week. suns seem to always push us and they'll be up for it after taking the crows apart today.
we’ve won the last 5(?) against the Suns
(i thought i heard on the wire less device)

they’ll be confident of beating us

StPeter

We won all four quarters today.

A big improvement considering we have lost 19 of the previous 24 quarters.

Any win is a good win but the main thing IMO it was the 4 quarter effort Hawthorn were under manned for sure & it should have been a bigger margin but pretty happy with the whole team effort

MickThomas

asiu wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 8:30pm
desertsaint wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 8:15pm bit of us playing well. lot of hawthorn having an absolute shocker.
need to take another step up next week. suns seem to always push us and they'll be up for it after taking the crows apart today.

They dined out on the Pies, whose team is toothless, like their fans.
The Hawks were rubbish, I wouldn't get over-excited about today.
They played into our hands.
The Hawks played like we did last wk. And against the Tigers. We aren't that good, honestly.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
StPeter

asiu wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 7:15pm
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 7:03pm
StPeter wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 6:58pm 55 points up and then two late goals from Hawthorn.

Reminds me a bit of a horror day at Waverley when the Hawks kicked 2 late goals before half time when we led by 63 points.

Hawks ended up winning comfortably.

Don't let it happen Saints. Hawks are the comeback kings already this year!
Yeah mate I remember it like it was yesterday :|
haha

yes

i remember where i was and what i was doing

a horrendous afternoons listening
I remember it well. I was there that day and it was the start of a downhill run and the end of Tim Watson's coaching career.

asiu wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 8:30pm

they will. we've scraped in by 1, 2, 4, and 4 in our last four games.

MickThomas

Looking at today's 22, I don't see Lonie nor Long squeezing in, unless there's an injury.

We have a few tough games soon, and we'll see exactly what we're made of when we play talented guys rather than what the Hawks dished up today

i reckon ... we all agree with that Mick

lets see

which bunch turns up next week
(is the story of my footy following career)

very St Kilda like
in fact :)

Bank the win - did what we needed to
No one would get ahead of ourselves
Pressure back is the most telling thing
Hill to half back worked his run was important
Still like to see that forward structure operating a bit more systematically cause against good sides who can put pressure back on us (Hawks couldn’t) we’ll need a better system and smalls can’t kick you a winning bag every week
Step in right direction
Now let’s focus on 4 qtr efforts from here on

Just got back from the game and, after reading a number of posts, I am convinced that our team's best efforts are never good enough for many of you. I would have thought a turnaround like that after two embarrassing floggings would have won some honest praise for the character of our players, but........

Jones was outstanding by any measure today as was Hill. Bradley's chasing and tackling showed he is a proud man.

Hunter Clark was also very good. He sold more dummies today than the average baby wares shop sells in a year.

Paddy the Palmer was sublime at centre bounces and gave Jones, Hill and Crouch silver service. He won't have to buy a drink, those three will buy for him.

Having watched Hawks v Crows last week I didn't fancy our chances. We reestablished our ferocious attack on the ball, hard running and fast ball movement from the first bounce. In doing so we made the Hawks look like witches hats, a training drill.

It's an easy cop out to say Hawthorn was poor. We made it that way.

Premium89

Was at work all afternoon - checked my phone at end of shift and saw this text from my hawks supporting mate:

“Please be advised this number no longer relates to Danny, he is no longer available on this number therefore will not see any rude or defamatory comments regarding the AFL thank you”

Looking forward to beers and the replay tomorrow!

I was super impressed by Hill’s game, and not just his running and disposal efficiency but some of the defensive things too.

Great efforts from Jones and Crouch in particular.

Hunter Clark sells more candy than Willy Wonker.

We are nothing without Paddy.

Butler was good early but not happy with some of his showy, party-time stuff in the second half.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 01 May 2021 9:59pm Just got back from the game and, after reading a number of posts, I am convinced that our team's best efforts are never good enough for many of you. I would have thought a turnaround like that after two embarrassing floggings would have won some honest praise for the character of our players, but........

Jones was outstanding by any measure today as was Hill. Bradley's chasing and tackling showed he is a proud man.

Hunter Clark was also very good. He sold more dummies today than the average baby wares shop sells in a year.

Paddy the Palmer was sublime at centre bounces and gave Jones, Hill and Crouch silver service. He won't have to buy a drink, those three will buy for him.

Having watched Hawks v Crows last week I didn't fancy our chances. We reestablished our ferocious attack on the ball, hard running and fast ball movement from the first bounce. In doing so we made the Hawks look like witches hats, a training drill.

It's an easy cop out to say Hawthorn was poor. We made it that way.
I too was at the game and no ones questioning the effort but let’s keep it real
We played a very young Hawks side who, like all young sides are up and down at times their pressure was poor.
That said we played 4 quarters of pressure so you take that and use it against a better side next week.
Challenge is for this side to do it against Bulldogs in a few weeks....that’d really turn heads

When the round is completed one of Essendon or Carlton will have 12 points.

That means the Saints will move up from 16th on the ladder before this round to be 14th on the ladder.
Gold Coast, GWS, Adelaide and one of the above ahead on percentage.
West Coast ahead either on percentage or 4 points.

That atrocious percentage means the Saints will have to win one more game than rivals to play in the finals.