Dunstan potential trade to Carlton Fox Footy

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-we ... cb073717e8

I know a lot don't think much of Mathew Lloyd, but personally I see him as one of the better researched ex players in the AFL media.

There is now a bit of smoke around Dunstan, Hind & Lonie and all are probably fringe players we could afford to lose assuming Crouch & Higgens are additions.

Re: Dunstan potential trade to Carlton Fox Footy

I'd keep Hind, I have a feeling he's closer than any of the other guys that aren't in the best 22.
We've seen him kick goals out of nowhere, and he has that burst of speed, but for whatever reason he can't string 2 good games together.
Maybe other teams have worked him out.

He can kick goals on the left or right, so I class him as better than Lonie (potentially at least)

silverhalo

WellardSaint wrote: Wed 04 Nov 2020 4:57pm I'd keep Hind, I have a feeling he's closer than any of the other guys that aren't in the best 22.
We've seen him kick goals out of nowhere, and he has that burst of speed, but for whatever reason he can't string 2 good games together.
Maybe other teams have worked him out.

He can kick goals on the left or right, so I class him as better than Lonie (potentially at least)
I would hate to lose Hind, I think there's a fair bit of upside there......has not realised his full potential

St Kilda presently has pick 17 (1025 points)
Carlton presently has pick 8 (1551 points)
A pick swap with Dunstan thrown in would value Dunstan at pick 35 (526 points)
Pick 8 could slip a few places but it would put the Saints back in the action for the best players in the draft.

Otherwise Carlton has pick 29 (653 points).

I would rather the higher pick 8 and one less player on the list even if it devalues Dunstan.

God showed Moses the promised land but sadly Moses did not get to lead the Israelites into the promised land, that was for Joshua.
Players who deliver a club to the edge of the promised land are often the guys not good enough to deliver the promised land.
They must make way.
Last edited by ace on Wed 04 Nov 2020 6:44pm, edited 1 time in total.

Will get a pick I the 50s of say

ace wrote: Wed 04 Nov 2020 6:34pm St Kilda presently has pick 17 (1025 points)
Carlton presently has pick 8 (1551 points)
A pick swap with Dunstan thrown in would value Dunstan at pick 35 (526 points)
Pick 8 could slip a few places but it would put the Saints back in the action for the best players in the draft.

Otherwise Carlton has pick 29 (653 points).

I would rather the higher pick 8 and one less player on the list even if it devalues Dunstan.
I think we would grab that in the blink of any eye but very unlikely.

I wouldn't swap #8 for #17 & #35.

If Treloar is indeed in play we can only land him by offloading more contracted players.

Dunstan would not have many suitors, and so if the Blues are indeed interested it may see him let go for very little so that we can fist Teloar within our salary cap.

My opinion on Dunstan is well documented for his own sake he needs to go and get a game he cant afford another year not playing. Lets hope for all concerned someone wants him.

SinCitySainter

If we are in the hunt for Treloar then we should ask for a 3rd round pick and settle for a 4th if it came to it.
We are only clearing space so offer him low.
If we really aren't looking to free up space then ask for a 2nd round pick.

I hope for Luke's sake he does get another club take him on as he has been squeezed out of our midfield. Carlton are the perfect fit as they need a big body to give Cripps a chop out.

I reckon Dunstan wpuld be great for Blues...He would give them clearances and Paddy could get outside more often.
Dunstan is a good leader and great trainer and preparer ..And they would get him for a bargain if they take his salary

SinCitySainter wrote: Thu 05 Nov 2020 12:36pm If we are in the hunt for Treloar then we should ask for a 3rd round pick and settle for a 4th if it came to it.
Ask for an upgrade of pick 17 to pick 8 (equal to pick 35 on points)
PIck 17 and Dunstan for pick 8
You know you want to do it Carlscum

ace wrote: Thu 05 Nov 2020 5:35pm
SinCitySainter wrote: Thu 05 Nov 2020 12:36pm If we are in the hunt for Treloar then we should ask for a 3rd round pick and settle for a 4th if it came to it.
Ask for an upgrade of pick 17 to pick 8 (equal to pick 35 on points)
PIck 17 and Dunstan for pick 8
You know you want to do it Carlscum
We would need to employ Derren Brown as the negotiator....hmm, there's a thought

i saw this early am yesterday
Reports around that Carlton have interest in Luke Dunstan but my mail is that is not correct
i’m just tossing it out there

(our friend has been there done that owns the tee shirt
with allegiances into both Clubs)

We have a few players on the trade table but no one is coming to kick the tyres.
Except maybe Lonie & Hind.
Dunstan, Webster, Roberton, McKenzie, Joyce, Parker, Phillips, Kent deadly silence.
We probably need to shrink our list by another 3 senior players to comply with reduced list sizes.
That means 3 more delistings, if contracted must be retaken as rookies.

It's a bad year to be trying to offload overpaid depth players. I'm guessing we've been trying to find a home for a handful of them but no one is biting due to potential list size reductions.

mad saint guy wrote: Sun 08 Nov 2020 3:07am It's a bad year to be trying to offload overpaid depth players. I'm guessing we've been trying to find a home for a handful of them but no one is biting due to potential list size reductions.
Yeah, I’m trying to work out how clubs can possibly go through trade period without knowing what the list size next season will be. How do you plan a salary cap without knowing that?

SAINT-LEE

bigcarl wrote: Mon 09 Nov 2020 6:52am
mad saint guy wrote: Sun 08 Nov 2020 3:07am It's a bad year to be trying to offload overpaid depth players. I'm guessing we've been trying to find a home for a handful of them but no one is biting due to potential list size reductions.
Yeah, I’m trying to work out how clubs can possibly go through trade period without knowing what the list size next season will be. How do you plan a salary cap without knowing that?
I've been told they have the hypothetical number that's more likely than not. Don't know the number but my mate says they are working based on this number.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 09 Nov 2020 12:59pm
I've been told they have the hypothetical number that's more likely than not. Don't know the number but my mate says they are working based on this number.
Correct. They're all working on 38 + 3 Rookies.

We must look any deal that we can do that will disadvantage Carlton, anything that will hinder the cheats improving.

Saintmatt wrote: Mon 09 Nov 2020 1:15pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 09 Nov 2020 12:59pm
Correct. They're all working on 38 + 3 Rookies.
Agree, that was what I was told by a GCS contact.

Dunstan to whoever to allow us to trade for Treloar or Narkle would be a good move.