Dan Butler

Dan Butler

have you ever seen a better 4 goals by the one player, in the one game. The degree of difficulty, and each so different!!!

What a beauty!

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Re: Dan Butler

Wasn’t impressed in the off-season or after rd1

Absolutely love him. What a gun

Best recruit we’ve had for ages

Match winner

Love him!!

George27

He makes great decisions , and does not panic. That last one, when he ran from outside 50, he had a bloke right up his clacker, but he took a bounce, calmly swerved to the left to buy himself a split second, then check-sided it through. Most blokes would have just slammed it on the boot, but he realised it was all up to him, and executed.

An absolute gun.

Best recruit since Frazer and maybe one of our best ever.

Hats off to the recruiting team

Winmore

Richmond repaid us for Ian Stewart tonight.

How the f@#$
Did we get this guy so cheap ?
Been the class on the forward line we've not had since milney retired.
Would have to be leading the B&F .

Definitely knows how to find a goal!

When on THAT run and he decided to bounce I thought he was GONE for sure.

But not only is he SUPER skilled
and SUPER confident
he is SUPER quick as well!!!!!

roskilde

Shades of Milne tonight. Love it.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.
saintkid

Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 12:14am When on THAT run and he decided to bounce I thought he was GONE for sure.

and SUPER confident

Sure is. Damn awesome is Butler. Pulled a rabbit out of the hat there...reckon Milney would have been super impressed! :D

absolute superb. no more words.

Peanut Farm

The guy is pure class. What is he on, did we get him for peanuts & how long is his contract? He is a 500k a year player easily.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 12:14am When on THAT run and he decided to bounce I thought he was GONE for sure.

and SUPER confident
My exact thoughts at the time.
You can't bounce the ball when you are about to be caught.
You must dispose of the ball because as soon as you are touched it is BALL and you have turned it over.
But he was just fast enough, and smart enough to step left to avoid being crunched as went for the kick.
Brilliant player.

Love his pace and clean finishing. Just turned 24. Coming into his prime and years of enjoyment to come.

That finishing I have not seen for many years.
He is the speed and guile of a Bartlett.
The finishing skill of a Daicos.
The predatory skills of a Milne.
We are talking rarified air what we are seeing at the moment. For Pick 56?!! Wow!!!!
Thank you Tigers this finally makes up for Stewart in 1971!!!!

Cordz2

The goal he kicked just before half time was the classiest goal I've seen by a Saint for a long, long time.

I wasn't sold on this guy when we recruited him, but boy was I embarressingly wrong,

Well done recruiting team . This guy is going to drag the saints into the finals, for the first time in 9 years.

What he does have in common with Bartlett is he is brilliant at running back towards a pack in the forward line and being able to read the most likely angle the ball will be deflected (wind, who is in the pack, what angles are they approaching it at) and then times his run to reach that hot spot at full speed.
Then if his judgement is correct he takes the ball on the full and races past stationary defenders to snap a goal, and as we know he is deadly finish.

Bartlett did this better than anyone before or since, and did it for years.

Plenty try to copy it, but the skill set required is unique and elite.
But Butler seems to be the apprentice in residence.
(Wonder if KB gave him some tips at Groperland).

Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 9:35pm What he does have in common with Bartlett is he is brilliant at running back towards a pack in the forward line and being able to read the most likely angle the ball will be deflected (wind, who is in the pack, what angles are they approaching it at) and then times his run to reach that hot spot at full speed.
Then if his judgement is correct he takes the ball on the full and races past stationary defenders to snap a goal, and as we know he is deadly finish.

Groperland. I f****** love it. Police should charge the pricks with indecent assault.

johnearljames

saynta wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:02pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 9:35pm What he does have in common with Bartlett is he is brilliant at running back towards a pack in the forward line and being able to read the most likely angle the ball will be deflected (wind, who is in the pack, what angles are they approaching it at) and then times his run to reach that hot spot at full speed.

Groperland. I f****** love it. Police should charge the pricks with indecent assault.
Blokes at all footy clubs do stupid stuff. AFL sides should know better. Cameras everywhere these days. You just can't do this stuff anymore at AFL level.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

johnearljames wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:08pm
saynta wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 10:02pm

Blokes at all footy clubs do stupid stuff. AFL sides should know better. Cameras everywhere these days. You just can't do this stuff anymore at AFL level.
if you worked in an office or say bunnings and carried on with that crap, you would get the sack and probably a smack in the mouth for your troubles

6621104 wrote: Thu 06 Aug 2020 11:32pm have you ever seen a better 4 goals by the one player, in the one game. The degree of difficulty, and each so different!!!

What a beauty!
Nope. I’ve been making a point of asking the very same q’n of all Richmond supporters on Twitter today.